IntroductionThis guide lists resources for researching nonprofit organizations and the nonprofit sector for academic or for career-related research. It has been created for business students, and has a management focus, but it may also be valuable to students in other disciplines.
Related Guides Arts, Media and Entertainment Industries (includes sources of funding for arts-related organizations) Social Entrepreneurship Business Career Research Industry Research
Librarians UBC Okanagan Barbara Sobol (Okanagan Library) UBC Vancouver Lindsay Ure (David Lam Library)
Search TipsWhen you are searching in databases the words you use have a direct impact on the results you retrieve. Try searching for "nonprofit organizations" and combine with other keywords such as employment, careers, management, "strategic planning", "organizational behaviour", "corporate culture", etc Scan your search results to get ideas for additional search words.
Business Article Databases ABI/Inform (Abstracted Business Information) Fulltext articles from 1000+ business journals. Search together with Canadian NewsStand and CBCA Business Source Complete Business articles, market research reports, company swot analyses Canadian Newsstand Complete Canadian newspapers CBCA Complete Canadian journals and magazines Emerald Management Plus Articles on management strategy, leadership, marketing, human resource management Factiva Global business and industry news service LexisNexis Academic News, government, finance, business information. Company directories GoogleScholar A simple way to search selected scholarly literature, with links for UBC users to fulltext
JournalsJournals available through UBC Library Browse recent issues of journals to keep up to date on recent news, trends or issues relating to nonprofit management: International journal of nonprofit and voluntary sector marketing Nonprofit management and leadership Nonprofit and voluntary sector quarterly The Philanthropist - a quarterly journal focused on the Canadian philanthropic sector
Librarians UBC Okanagan Barbara Sobol (Okanagan Library) UBC Vancouver Lindsay Ure (David Lam Library)
Associations and government websites are a good starting point for researching nonprofits. Browse association or government websites for overviews of the nonprofit sector, legislation, policies, registering a charity or nonprofit association, case studies, recent news, reports and more
BC Centre for Non-Profit Development based at the University of the Fraser Valley, provides education and training, information, resources and assistance for the non-profit sector BC Centre for Non Profit Management and Sustainability includes a Voluntary Sector Knowledge Network to assist nonprofit managers and hosts workshops for nonprofit leaders BC Government Non Profit Initiative focused on strengthening the relationship between government and the non-profit sector in BC BC Registry: Corporate Registry information on registering a society or cooperative association in British Columbia Canada Revenue Agency: Charities information on registering and operating a registered charity, guides and checklists for operating a registered charit. Also includes a searchable listing of registered charities and access to charity information returns Enterprising Non Profits collaborative program, supporting BC non profit organizations with business development. Includes a social enterprise guide, policy resources, case studies, papers and reports HR Council for the Nonprofit Sector information related to human resources in the nonprofit sector in Canada Imagine Canada a registered charity that supports nonprofits in Canada. Includes recent news, public policy information, as well as research on the nonprofit sector in Canada. Search their library for guides on project management, evaluation, marketing, fundraising etc Industry Canada. Not-for-Profit Organizations information for consumers and voluntary organizations on policies, guidelines and procedures. Institute On Governance includes publications relating to the nonprofit sector. Use the search box to identify relevant resources on the website Foundation Center a U.S. national nonprofit service organization which includes database on U.S. grantmakers and their grants; print, electronic, and online information resources; and conducts and publishes research on trends in foundation growth, giving, and practice
Librarians UBC Okanagan Barbara Sobol (Okanagan Library) UBC Vancouver Lindsay Ure (David Lam Library)
For books on non-profit management topics, click on one of the subjects below to see books available in print or online. Alternatively, click here to search the library catalogue. Charities -- management Fund raising Nonprofit organizations Nonprofit organizations -- Canada -- Auditing Nonprofit organizations -- Canada -- Finance Nonprofit organizations -- Finance Nonprofit organizations -- Handbooks, manuals, etc Nonprofit organizations -- Management Nonprofit organizations -- Canada -- Management Nonprofit organizations -- Marketing Proposal writing for grants Public administration Research grants Social entrepreneurship Social marketing
Librarians UBC Okanagan Barbara Sobol (Okanagan Library) UBC Vancouver Lindsay Ure (David Lam Library)
Charity Village: Career Centre job postings in Canada by region, job category or type of organization. Also provides a background on the nonprofit sector & career assessment tools Idealist.org search for jobs, volunteer opportunities or organizations, by country and region Institute for Nonprofit Studies. Careers in the Nonprofit Sector 2008 report from the institute (based at Mount Royal College), includes summaries of different sectors as job profiles UBC Library: Books on Nonprofit organizations and vocational guidance Vault guide to fundraising and philanthropy vocational guide from the Vault Career Library, available in print at the David Lam Library WorkInNonProfits.ca connects non-profit organizations in Canada with job seekers
Librarians UBC Okanagan Barbara Sobol (Okanagan Library) UBC Vancouver Lindsay Ure (David Lam Library)
Associations Canada: an encyclopedia directory - available in print in several UBC Library branches. Also available online through Vancouver Public Library BC211 - also known as the Red book online, a online directory of organizations and resources (including social, community and government programs) in the BC Lower Mainland & Squamish-Lillooet regions. Canada Revenue Agency: Charities Listings - searchable list of Canadian charities to access charity information returns to find out more about their finances and activities Canadian directory to foundations and grants - available in print, latest edition at Koerner and Okanagan libraries (to view in library only) Canadian donor's guide to fund raising organizations in Canada - available in print at Koerner Library Foundation directory - available in print at Koerner and Okanagan Libraries (to view in library only) Canadian fund raising directory - available in print at Koerner Library (to view in library only) Volunteer Canada: Find a volunteer centre - search for volunteer centres by province or territory
Librarians UBC Okanagan Barbara Sobol (Okanagan Library) UBC Vancouver Lindsay Ure (David Lam Library)
Please see the resources listed under the "Associations", "Books" and "Directories" tabs above for resources relating to fund raising and grant writing. See also the Arts, Media & Entertainment Industries research guide for a comprehensive list of funding resources in that sector
Librarians UBC Okanagan Barbara Sobol (Okanagan Library) UBC Vancouver Lindsay Ure (David Lam Library)
Canada Council for the Arts: Research grant statistics, external research, fact sheets HR Council for the Nonprofit Sector. Labour Force Statistics Imagine Canada. Canada Survey of Giving and Volunteering results from this 2007 survey conducted by Statistics Canada Statistics Canada / E-Stat Easy-to-use interface to Statistics Canada's CANSIM and Census datasets. Search CANSIM using the phrase "charitable donors." Statistics Canada. Highlights from the National Survey of Nonprofit and Voluntary Organizations - an overview of nonprofit organizations in Canada (latest data is from 2005). See also the Imagine Canada website for more information and results from this survey Statistics Canada. Perspectives on Labour and Income: Labour inputs to non-profit organizations Statistics Canada. Satellite account of nonprofit institutions and volunteering economic information on the nonprofit sector in Canada Statistics Canada. Society and community: Volunteering and donating National Center for Charitable Statistics: U.S. Nonprofit Sector includes quick facts & figures, a profile of the U.S. nonprofit sector and data analysis tools for creating custom data tables
Librarians UBC Okanagan Barbara Sobol (Okanagan Library) UBC Vancouver Lindsay Ure (David Lam Library)