DRAM is a not-for-profit resource providing educational communities with on-demand streaming access to CD-quality audio, complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives.
Music Online is a portal which provides access to all of UBC library's Alexander Street Press music databases. The gateway allows for cross-searching across the databases as well as entry to individual products.
The Cité de la Musique is a group of institutions dedicated to music and situated in the La Villette quarter, 19th arrondissement, Paris, France. This freely available audio/visual website captures their concerts, interviews, and documentaries.
A cross-cultural database that provide anthropological descriptions of the cultural and social life of people around the world as well as relevant full-text documents (books, articles and dissertations).
Streaming ethnographic video database. Features the work of many influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
From Library of Congress, the National Jukebox makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.
An invaluable resource for World music researchers, this database includes the complete Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, the non-profit record label of the Smithsonian Institution, as well as holdings from Sony, Arc and Naxos World. Smithsonian Folkways is dedicated to supporting cultural diversity and increased understanding among peoples through the documentation, preservation, and dissemination of sound. First-class performances, over 9,350 albums available, and new albums added weekly.
From Library and Archives Canada. A multimedia website devoted to the early days of Canadian recorded sound, providing an overview of the 78-rpm era in Canada. The Virtual Gramophone database contains information and images for more than 15,000 78-rpm and cylinder recordings released in Canada, as well as foreign recordings featuring Canadian artists and/or compositions.
Online access to the Wesleyan World Instrument Museum, one of the largest and most diverse collection of world musical instruments. Gives information about each instrument's history, tuning, technique, notation, and context plus audio and video clips.
The following are links to online Ethnomusicology audio/video collections: