Materials EngineeringWelcome to the Information Resources for Materials Engineering subject guide. This subject guide will point you to the most relevant online databases for finding cutting edge research published in scientific and engineering journals. Additional resources include online access to UBC and international theses and ebooks including the ASM Handbooks, Knovel.com, and CRCnetBase collections. Created by Kevin Lindstrom, Liaison Librarian for Materials Engineering
Kevin Lindstrom kevin.lindstrom@ubc.ca Phone: (604) 822-0695 Science and Engineering LibraryOffice 414Irving K. Barber Learning Centre1961 East MallVancouver, BC V6T 1Z1 scieng.library.ubc.ca
Materials Engineering Online Databases Compendex Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. Scifinder Scholar Scifinder Scholar - the online version of Chemical Abstracts is one of the most comprehensive databases for chemistry and chemical engineering, biochemistry, biotechnology, electrochemistry, metallurgy and materials science and pharmacology. Web of Science Web of Science - the online version of Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences and applied sciences. It fully indexes over 6,650 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. CSA Materials Research Collection This collection of online databases includes Metadex, Corrosion Abstracts, and Aluminum Industry Abstracts. SAE Digital Library Online access to SAE technical reports. OnePetro OnePetro.org is a multi-society library that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.
Materials Engineering eBooks/Handbooks ASM Handbooks Online Springer Ebook Collection Knovel Engineering Books Online CHEMnetBASE CRCnetBase Books Online Books 24X7 Information Technology and Computer Science Collection Summon Summon is a search tool that provides fast, relevance ranked results on any topic from the UBC Library collections in a single search. Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Materials Engineering Theses cIRcle: UBC's Institutional Repository UBC theses and dissertations submitted after Fall 2007 are available in full text in cIRcle: UBC's Institutional Repository. A project is underway to digitize older UBC theses, starting with 1992. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text Searchable index of dissertations, some theses. The full text of dissertations and theses added to the database since 1997 are available to UBC users. UBC Library FAQ: Dissertations and Theses More information about locating theses and dissertations - OAI, WorldCat, Theses Canada, Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD), Electronic Theses Online Service (EThOS) Project, On-line Database of Dissertations of China (DOC)(Abstracts) and more... OAIster OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster includes more than 25 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors.
Chemical and Lab Safety CCOHS Web Information Service The CCOHS Web Information Service (Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety) provides online access to Material Safety Data Sheets, RTECS - the Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances, and other health and safety related resources. CSA Standards Online Online access is now available to standards from the Canadian Standards Association. ASTM Standards Online Online access to ASTM International's 12,000+ standards is now available to UBC faculty, students, and staff. The collection includes Active, Redline, Historical and Withdrawn standards.
Copyright and Fair Dealing UBC Copyright and Fair Dealing Learn about copyright, what it covers, and how you can get permission to use someone’s copyrighted material.
Refworks With RefWorks, users can create their own personal citation databases by importing references from online databases and catalogues. Use these references in writing papers, and automatically format in-text citations/footnotes and bibliographies in seconds. RefWorks is web-based, and is available for various platforms including Windows, and Mac. EndNote Web on Web of Science platform EndNote Web is available to UBC faculty and students from the Web of Snowledge platform.
Metal Price Information USGS Minerals Information Statistics and information on the worldwide supply of, demand for, and flow of minerals and materials essential to the U.S. economy, the national security, and protection of the environment. Also included is Historical Statistics for Mineral and Material Commodities in the United States which isan online compilation of historical U.S. statistics on mineral and material commodities. The database contains information on approximately 90 mineral commodities, including production, imports, exports, and stocks; reported and apparent consumption; and unit value (the real and nominal price in U.S. dollars of a metric ton of apparent consumption). For many of the commodities, data are reported as far back as 1900. This data can also be downloaded as a spreadsheet. London Metal Exchange Information for current metal prices and contracts with access to one year of historical data (registration required). Infomine.com Commodity Prices Online metal prices including "Chart Builder" function.
JCR Journal Citation Reports JCR Journal Citation Reports "Journal Citation Reports® is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 80 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences." Journal Citation Reports will show you the most frequently cited journals in a field, the highest impact journals in a field, and the largest journals in a field.