Skip to main content

Maps & Atlases: Spreadsheets

Information and resources about the UBC map collection.

Introduction to the Map Spreadsheets

Many of the maps in the UBC Library collection are part of a series, such as the Canadian National Topographic System (NTS) series. A map series is generally made up of multiple numbered sheets. However, since a map series is generally listed as a single entry in the UBC Library Online Catalogue, it can be difficult to locate a particular sheet of a map series. An index map can help you identify the number of the sheet you're looking for. Additionally, the following searchable spreadsheets list all the sheets of some of the major maps series that UBC Library has in the print collection.

Canada National Topographic System (NTS) Maps

The National Topographic Series (NTS) is produced by Natural Resources Canada. The standard scales are 1:50,000 and 1:250,000, but they have also been produced in various other scales.


The PDFs below are easily searchable documents, which will open in a new tab in your browser. You can also download the Excel files to browse and sort the information.


Canada 1:25,000


Canada 1:50,000


Canada 1:100,000


Canada 1:125,000 and 1:126,720


Canada 1:250,000


Canada 1:500,000

British Columbia Composite Town Plans

This collection of detailed maps of BC townships is available in a variety of scales.

The below PDF is an easily searchable document, which will open in a new tab in your browser. You can also download the Excel file to browse and sort the information.

Canada Aeronautical and Air Navigation Charts 1:500,000

These Canadian aeronautical charts and air navigation charts were produced by various branches of the federal government of Canada.

The below PDF is an easily searchable document, which will open in a new tab in your browser. You can also download the Excel file to browse and sort the information.

Canada Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) Maps and Papers

The maps in this collection are associated with papers of the Geological Survey of Canada (GSC). The GSC Paper/Map Number is listed in the below spreadsheet. The call number of the accompanying papers is QE185.A11

The below PDF is an easily searchable document, which will open in a new tab in your browser. You can also download the Excel file to browse and sort the information.

Canada Joint Operations Graphics Series 1:250,000

The Joint Operations Graphic (JOG) Series is a topographic world map series produced by the US National Imagery and Mapping Agency. This part of the series displays Canada.

The below PDF is an easily searchable document, which will open in a new tab in your browser. You can also download the Excel file to browse and sort the information.

UK Ordnance Surveys

UBC has an extensive collection of UK Ordnance Survey maps, which cover Great Britain, England and Wales, Scotland, Ireland, and Northern Ireland. There are various scales of this series, including 1:25,000, 1:50,000, 1:250,000, and 1:500,000, as well as older scales including 1:63,360 and 1:253,440.

This series has not been fully inventoried yet at the sheet level. If you would like more information about this collection, please ask at the Research Desk on Level 2 of Koerner or email.

The PDFs below are easily searchable documents, which will open in a new tab in your browser. You can also download the Excel files to browse and sort the information.


England & Wales 1:253,440


Great Britain 1:25,000


Great Britain 1:50,000


Great Britain 1:63,000


Great Britain 1:250,000


Great Britain 1:500,000


 

World Aeronautical Charts 1:1,000,000

This collection of aeronautical charts showing locations around the world has been produced by a variety of publishers from Australia, Belgium, Canada, China, Denmark, France, Great Britain, India, Norway, Spain, South Africa, and the USA.

The below PDF is an easily searchable document, which will open in a new tab in your browser. You can also download the Excel file to browse and sort the information.

World Maps 1:1,000,000

The maps in this spreadsheets are topographic maps of the world at a scale of 1:1,000,000, and include maps of locations in North America, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, and Oceania. They are organized in this list by continent, and span the years 1914 to 1979.

They are produced by a variety of map publishers, including the USA Army Map Service, the American Geographical Society the Geographical Section of Great Britain's War Office, Natural Resources Canada, and the governments of India, Germany, South Africa, Brazil, and Australia.