UBC Library has extensive primary sources on the author Malcolm Lowry as well as access to background information and criticism through the Library Catalogue and journals.
UBC Library has many editions of Lowry's works available for consultation. Search for Lowry as author:
UBC Library has also catalogued books from the personal library of Malcolm Lowry. To find, search as a phrase for:
See How to find articles for tips on searching, and on finding journals in the Library. To find articles on Malcolm Lowry, begin your research in the indexes/databases listed below:
ABES Online (Annotated Bibliography for English Studies) Academic Search Complete Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) Canadian Periodical Index CBCA Complete Contemporary Literary Criticism - Select Humanities Index Humanities International Index MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)
UBC Library has been collecting archives by and about Malcolm Lowry since the 1970's. Below is a list of archival collections available for consultation at Rare Books and Special Collections. For more information on using archival collections, please our research guide for Archival Material.
Muriel Bradbrook fonds Bradbrook's correspondence with other Lowry scholars as well as notes from conversations with Wilfred and Russel Lowry. Victor Doyen fonds Correspondence and photocopied material regarding Lowry. Lowry Family fonds Includes documents from Lowry's early life as well as correspondence between brother Russell and various Lowry scholars. Malcolm Lowry collection The most extensive collection at UBC containing Lowry manuscripts, correspondence, and photographs. David Markson fonds Includes correspondence between Markson and the Lowry's. William McConnell fonds Includes correspondence between McConnell and the Lowry's. Einar Neilson papers See page 98 of the Malcolm Lowry collection finding aid. Includes correspondence and material regarding "Under the Volcano." Brian O'Kill fonds O'Kill's research notes regarding Lowry. William Templeton Collection Correspondence, manuscripts, clippings and other material regarding Lowry. J. Howard Woolmer fonds Correspondence, drafts and research material arising from the publication of his two publications, "A Malcolm Lowry Catalogue" and "Malcolm Lowry: A Bibliography".
Other collections in Canada: David Brittain fonds Library and Archives Canada. Malcolm Lowry Collection McGill University Library. Rare Books and Special Collections Division Malcolm Lowry fonds University of Victoria Library. Rare Books and Special Collections.
Other collections in United States: Jan Gabrial papers New York Public Library. Manuscripts and Archives Division.
What is a fonds?The word "fonds" is used to describe most archival collections in Canada and also in many European and Latin American countries. Fonds simply means the documents in any media or format created or received by a person or an organization in the course of their personal or professional activities. For example, the "John Smith fonds" would refer to the records created and received by John Smith.Read the wikipedia article for the term "fonds."
ABC BookWorld entry for Malcolm Lowry A Hypertextual & Illustrated Companion to Malcolm Lowry's Under the Volcano Malcolm Lowry's Under the Volcano Malcolm Lowry at the 19th Hole (blog) Volcano: An Inquiry into the Life and Death of Malcolm Lowry Film produced by the National Film Board of Canada, freely available streaming online.
Volcano: An Inquiry into the Life and Death of Malcolm Lowry This feature-length OscarĀ®-nominated documentary focuses on Malcolm Lowry, author of one of the major novels of the 20th century, Under the Volcano. But while Lowry fought a winning battle with words, he lost his battle with alcohol. Shot on location in four countries, the film combines photographs, readings by Richard Burton from the novel and interviews with the people who loved and hated Lowry, to create a vivid portrait of the man. Donald Brittain & John Kramer, 1976, 99 min 20 s