Law - Lawyer Referral & Self-Help Resources

Provides free legal services for people who cannot afford a lawyer and who do not qualify for legal aid.

Formerly Redbook Online. Provides links to community, legal, social and government services, in select areas of B.C. Select ‘Legal & Advocacy’.

Legal advice and assistance are provided to disadvantaged individuals and groups in the areas of: poverty, disability, workers’ compensation, employment insurance, mental health, human rights and equality law.

UBC law students provide free legal advice and representation to clients unable to afford legal assistance. Clinics are located throughout the Lower Mainland.

Lawyers participating in the program offer an initial consultation of up to 30 minutes at a fee of $25 plus taxes.

Provides legal advice, legal information and representation to low income individuals in British Columbia.

A pro bono community legal clinic and teaching facility serving women and gender diverse people in BC. Provides unbundled legal services (primarily in family law) for clients otherwise unable to access legal help, including people who are economically disadvantaged, members of marginalized groups, and people seeking protection from family violence.

Offers information and services to help resolve civil and family law problems; financial eligibility and other limitations may apply.

Provides information for self-represented litigants on how to conduct and respond to a civil, family or criminal appeal.

Provides information for self-represented litigants relating to court procedures and preparing for hearings on civil, family and criminal matters.

Has (1) Areas of Law Pathfinders, (2) The Guide to Civil Procedure at the Supreme Court of British Columbia, and (3) Annotations of the BC Supreme Court Civil Rules and Court of Appeal Rules. For a wide range audience, including the public.

Offers legal information on a full range of topics, including: court procedures, debt, family law, housing & tenancy and pensions, benefits & welfare.

Quick reference resource for non-legal professionals whose clients have legal problems; written by B.C. lawyers in conjunction with Courthouse Libraries BC. The guide outlines steps to address a problem and suggests options for further information and assistance.

Features free information on the law in British Columbia in over 130 topic areas, available online, as audio recordings, and by phone.

Written by UBC law students with the assistance of legal professionals, the LSLAP manual provides a good starting point for understanding the legal issues relating to various topics.

Resources designed specifically for Canadians who go to court without counsel, as well as research reports that examine the implications for the justice system

Provides public legal education and information (PLEI) on laws in British Columbia & Canada.