Welcome to the UBC Law Library! This guide provides library information for UBC Law Faculty and Instructors. Library Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________ CONTACT A LIBRARIAN FOR HELP: UBC Law Library Reference Staff
Course Reserve Materials • Request that an item be placed on Course Reserve • Search for Course Reserve materials • Law Library Reserves Contact: Greg Elliott Copyright• UBC’s Access Copyright Agreement and more Plagiarism Resources• TurnItIn at UBC Create Persistent Links on Webpages• to UBC Library catalogue records
Library Cards The new UBCcard now serves as a library card for faculty and staff who hold an active appointment with and are paid by UBC. It is available at the UBC Bookstore. Please see http://www.ubccard.ubc.ca/ for further information. Faculty and staff should continue to apply at the Library for the following:• for research assistants, associates and secretarial staff for whom you wish to obtain an Authorization Card• for faculty and researchers who are visiting UBC from other institutions and who are not eligible for UBCcards• for emeritus, retired staff, and certain units on campus who are currently ineligible for UBCcards• for UBC faculty and staff planning to visit libraries at other universities (Reciprocal borrowing arrangements) If you have any Library card inquires, please call 604-822-3869.
Borrower Services Set up email reminder to return your books Renew books online Change PIN Pay fines Loan regulations Document Delivery (from one UBC Library to another) Interlibrary Loan (request an item not in the UBC Library collection) If you have any Library card inquiries, please call 604.822.3869.
• UBC Library Catalogue • UBC Law Library Homepage • Connect from home Current Awareness Services (click for more information) • Canada Law Book eREPORTS: electronic version of the "paper part," including the Indexing & Case Digests as well as a links to the full-text of judgments • Canadian Abridgment eDIGESTS: current awareness service for keeping abreast of the latest developments in case law for a particular topic with Westlaw Canada links to full-text • Legal Scholarship Network (LSN): e-mailed issues contains abstracts of recent papers in particular areas of legal scholarship; with links to full-text • SmartCILP: customized current awareness service based on research interests, along with links to the full-text of the articles via Lexis or Westlaw • Economics Research Network (ERN): e-mailed issues contains abstracts of recent papers in particular areas of economics; with links to full-text Journals • Search for print and electronic journal titles in the UBC Library collection • Journal/Ejournal list | Law Journal/Ejournal list • Ejournal citation linker Indexes and Databases • Legal Periodicals Indexes • Full list • Commercial Databases • Ebooks
• Law Reference Staff • Law Library Blog • Law Library Research Guides Book/Document Delivery (from one UBC Library to another) Interlibrary Loan (request an item not in the UBC Library collection)