This subject guide lists selected resources on Japanese art (in English) available through the UBC Library and on the web. For addtional help with your research, schedule an appointment with the Art librarian or visit our reference desk in the I. K. Barber Learning Centre.
UBC Departments Art + Architecture + Planning, UBC Library Art History, Visual Art and Theory Asian Studies
Related Guides Anthropology Architecture Art Asian Studies Buddhism and Tibetan Studies Japanese Studies Philosophy Religious Studies Religious Iconography
For help finding articles, see the UBC Library's Finding Journal Articles guide. To find articles on a topic, begin your research in the indexes/databases listed on this page:
General ARTbibliographies Modern Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art, installation works, video arts, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, crafts, jewellery,design, illustration, photography, painting, printmaking, sculpture and drawing, as well as art history and theory. Art Full Text Indexes art, architecture, landscape architecture, and urban planning journals. Reproductions of works of art appearing in periodicals are also indexed. Art Retrospective A bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984.
Japanese Art Databases Asia-Studies Humanities Asia-Studies Humanities includes English-language literature on the arts, culture, history, language, literature, philosophy, and religion in the 53 countries covered by Asia-Studies Full-text Online. Bibliography of Asian Studies More than 700,000 records for western-language materials on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide since 1971.
To find journals, search the UBC Library Catalogue by the subject Art--Japan--Periodicals or Art, Asian--Periodicals for a list of Japanese art journals. Current issues of art journals are located across from the reference desk on level 3 of the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre. Recommended Japanese Art journals (available in print and/or online via UBC eLink): Artibus asiae Arts asiatique Arts of Asia Asian art & Culture (former title: Asian Art) Bijutsushi (other title: Journal of the Japanese Art Historical Society) Bijutsu kenkyu, the journal of art studies Kobijutsu (other title: Quarterly review of the Fine Arts) Kokka Oriental art Orientations To find other journals and more specific articles, please see the Articles tab on this guide.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias Biographical dictionary of Japanese art Dictionary of Chinese and Japanese art A dictionary of Japanese artists : painting, sculpture, ceramics, prints, lacquer Digital Dictionary of Buddhism (online) Images from the floating world : the Japanese print : including an illustrated dictionary of ukiyo-e JAANUS Japanese Architecture and Art Net Users System (online) Nihon bijutsu yōgo jiten : Wa-Ei taishō = A dictionary of Japanese art terms : bilingual (Japanese & English) A pictorial encyclopedia of the Oriental arts: Japan Handbooks, Histories & Surveys The art and architecture of Japan The arts of Japan The Cambridge history of Japan Guide to Japanese Art (online) Handbook for the Appreciation of Japanese Traditional Crafts (online) Handbook of Japanese art The Heibonsha survey of Japanese art History of Japanese art Introduction to Japanese art Japanese History Pointers and clues to the subjects of Chinese and Japanese art Understanding Far Eastern art : a complete guide to the arts of China, Japan and Korea - ceramics, sculpture, painting, prints, lacquer, textiles and metalwork Iconography, Myths & Religion Buddhism Funk & Wagnalls standard dictionary of folklore, mythology, and legend Illustrated dictionary of symbols in Eastern and Western art Japanese mythology Living images : Japanese Buddhist icons in context Religions of Japan in practice Shinto and Japanese Religions (online) Zen and the fine arts
UBC Library CatalogueBooks can be found in the UBC Library catalogue using subject headings: GeneralArt, JapaneseArt--Japan--HistoryJapanese artists Artists--Japan--BiographyArtists, JapaneseHistorical Periods Art, Japanese--To 794Art, Japanese--Heian period, 794-1185Art, Japanese--Kamakura-Momoyama periods, 1185-1600Art, Japanese--Edo period--1600-1868Art, Japanese--Meiji period, 1868-1912Art, Japanese--20th centuryAesthetics and Religious ArtAesthetics, JapaneseArt, Buddhist--JapanArt, Zen--JapanBuddhist art and symbolism--JapanShinto artVisual ArtsArt metal-work--JapanCalligraphy, JapaneseColor prints, JapaneseColor prints, Japanese--Edo period, 1600-1868Erotic art--JapanFolk art--JapanHandicraft--JapanPainting, JapanesePottery, JapanesePrints, JapaneseLacquer and lacquering--JapanSculpture, Buddhist--JapanSculpture, JapaneseZen calligraphy--JapanPerforming ArtsFlower arrangement, JapaneseJapanese tea ceremonyKabukiPerforming arts--JapanPerforming arts--Japan--HistoryContext and InfluenceArt and literature--JapanArt and state--JapanArt and society--JapansArt, Japanese--InfluenceArt, Japanese--European influencesArt, Japanese--Western influencesArt, Modern--Japanese influencesCatalogues, Museums, & PatronageArt, Japanese--CatalogsArt museums--Japan--DirectoriesArt museums--JapanArt patronage--Japan
Exhibition catalogues received before 1985 are listed in the Exhibition Card Catalogue in Art + Architecture + Planning, level 3 of the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre. Check this catalogue by name of museum, artist or art form. Catalogues received since 1985 are listed online. Exhibition catalogues can be found in the UBC Library catalogue using subject headings such as: Art, Buddhist--Japan--Exhibitions Art, Japanese--Exhibitions Art, Japanese--20th century--Exhibitions Art, Japanese--21st century--Exhibitions Art, Japanese--Edo period, 1600-1868--Exhibitions Art, Japanese--Kamakura-Momoyama periods, 1185-1600--Exhibitions Art, Japanese--To 1868--Exhibitions Art, Modern--20th century--Japan--Exhibitions
Artcyclopedia Database of art viewable on the internet. Search by artist, medium, subject, art movement, geography, and museum/gallery name. Provides translation for non-English websites, as well as an interactive map, external fine art links, and a high-definition image gallery. ARTstor ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images licensed for educational use at UBC, covering the areas of art, architecture, the humanities and the social sciences. Database of Japanese Art in Overseas Collections Images and textual information on Japanese art in foreign collections, including paintings, prints, ceramics, lacquerware, etc. Over 5,883 items. The Floating World of Ukiyo-e Library of Congress exhibition which showcases the Library's holdings of Japanese prints, books, and drawings from the 17th to the 19th centuries. These works are complemented by related works from the Library's collections created by Japanese and Westerns artists into the 20th century. Grove Art Online Provides web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with annual additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links and all the sophisticated search advantages possible with an online reference source. Kyoto National Museum Searchable collections of the Kyoto National Museum. Contains over 10,000 images of over 5,000 objects or sets of objects from the museum collection, making it one of the most comprehensive collections of East Asian Art images on the Internet. LUNA Commons LUNA Commons is a digital library of over 300,000 images licensed for educational use at UBC covering the areas of art, architecture, and material culture. Images span ancient history through the present, and cover a number of cultures and geographic areas. MIT Visualizing Cultures Collaborative collection of images and essays, with topical units focusing on Japan in the modern world, with themes like cultures of modernization, war and peace, consumerism, and images of "Self" and "Others". UCSF Japanese Woodblock Collection Searchable collection of over 400 Japanese woodblock prints on health-related themes such as contagious disease, drug advertisements, foreigners and disease, religion and health, and women's health. Ukiyo-e Techniques Intended to help students, collectors and researchers better understand the Ukiyo-e technique. Focuses on techniques utilized in prints, and is not meant to be a survey of Japanese prints or a history of Ukiyo-e. Photographs and video clips show demonstrations of the techniques by master printmaker Keiji Shinohara. These demonstrations are accompanied by traditional and contemporary prints. Viewing Japanese Prints Provides an overview of the Ukiyo-e, Shin Hanga, and Sôsaku Hanga traditions, with profiles and works by representative artists. Examples from the 17th through 20th centuries are shown. World Painting Index A print index available in the AArP reference collection.