A guide to library information resources on the art and architecture of India, from ancient art to modern forms. Resources listed are available through the UBC Library and on the web. For addtional help with your research, schedule an appointment with the Art and Architecture librarian or visit our reference desk in the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre.
UBC Departments School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture Art History, Visual Art and Theory Art + Architecture + Planning, UBC Library Department of Anthropology Department of Asian Studies Museum of Anthropology
Related Guides Art Architecture Asian studies Buddhism and Tibetan Studies Islamic Art & Architecture
For help finding articles, see the UBC Library's Finding Journal Articles guide. To find articles on a topic, begin your research in the indexes/databases listed on this page:
Anthropology Plus Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, review essays, obituaries, and articles in monographic series in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Architectural Publications Index Covers 400 periodicals on architecture published in 45 countries Also includes books and exhibition catalogues. All items indexed are owned by the British Architectural Library in London, one of world's greatest collections of architectural information. ARTbibliographies Modern Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art, installation works, video arts, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, crafts, jewellery,design, illustration, photography, painting, printmaking, sculpture and drawing, as well as art history and theory. Art Full Text Indexes art, architecture, landscape architecture, and urban planning journals. Reproductions of works of art appearing in periodicals are also indexed. Art Retrospective Art Retrospective, produced by The H.W. Wilson Company, is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Covers the subjects of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) Coverage of contemporary art includes critical and theoretical publications. BHA covers not only the fine arts (architecture, sculpture, painting, drawing and prints), but decorative and applied arts, industrial design, popular and folk art, photography, new media and the performing arts as well as material culture of interest to art historians. Index India [Print] A quarterly documentation list of selected articles, editorials, notes and letters etc. from periodicals and newspapers published in English language all over the world. Index Islamicus Access to literature about the Middle East, areas of Asia and Africa & Muslim minorities elsewhere. Use for: Human and natural resources management, including forestry & water.
Electronic JournalsFor a selective list of electronic art and architecture journals, browse by subject in the Print and Electronic Journals database. Art, Architecture & Applied Arts Print Journals For a selective list of print journals, search the UBC Library Catalogue by subject headings such as: Art India Periodicals Art, Indic Periodical Art, Asian Periodicals To find other journals and more specifically articles, please see the Articles tab of this guide. The following journals specialize in Indian art or architecture: Art and letters (Royal India, Pakistan and Ceylon Society) Art India Artibus Asiae ITPI journal (Institute of Town Planners, India) Journal of arts & ideas Journal of the Indian Institute of Architects Lalit Kala Lalit Kala contemporary Marg = Pathway Roopa-Lekha Rupam: an illustrated quarterly journal of Oriental art, chiefly Indian
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias General Encyclopedia of India Encyclopaedia of Indian culture India 2001: reference encyclopedia Art Dictionary of Buddhist and Hindu iconography, illustrated: objects, devices, concepts, rites and related terms Encyclopaedia of art, archaeology, and literature in Central India Encyclopaedia of Buddhist deities, demigods, godlings, saints and demons with special focus on iconographic attributes Encyclopaedia of Hindu deities, demi-gods, godlings, demons and heroes with special focus on iconographic attributes Encyclopedia of Indian art, references, symbols, evolution of Devanagari script Encyclopaedia of Indian iconography : Hinduism - Buddhism - Jainism Encyclopedia of world art Grove Art Iconographic dictionary of the Indian religions: Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism Kalatattvakosa: a lexicon of fundamental concepts of the Indian arts Semiotica Indica: encyclopaedic dictionary of body-language in Indian art & culture Architecture Dictionary of Hindu architecture Encyclopaedia of Indian temple architecture Encyclopedia of the vernacular architecture of the world Handbooks and Directories All India directory of art, culture & allied centres Art of India: prehistory to the present Buddhism - A Flammarion Icongraphic Guide Directory of museums in India, 2003 5000 Indian designs and motifs The Penguin guide to the monuments of India Bibliographies ABIA South and Southeast Asian art and archaeology index. Annual Bibliography of Indian Archaeology Archaeology of the Indian subcontinent and Sri Lanka : a selected bibliography Aspects of Indian culture: select bibliographies Bibliography of Asian Studies Bibliography of Indian art, history & archaeology Bibliography of modern Indian art Bibliography of the architecture, arts and crafts of Islam to Jan.1, 1960 (Supplement 1960-1980) Contribution to a bibliography of Indian art and aesthetics India - World bibliographical series Indra-Dhanusa: an annotated bibliography of Indian painting through the ages National bibliography of Indian literature (Searchable online at The Digital South Asia Library) Painting in South Asia: A bibliography South Asian civilizations: a bibliographic synthesis
UBC Library CatalogueBooks on this subject can be found in the UBC Library catalogue using subject headings such as:Art Art, Indic Art, Indic - Themes, Motives Art - India Arts, Indic Aesthetics, Indic Artists India - Biography India - Antiquities Symbolism in Art - India Architecture Architecture India Architecture, Islamic - India Architecture, Mogul - India Architecture, Modern 20th century - India Architecture, Domestic - India Symbolism in architecture - India Decoration and ornament, Architectural - India Housing - India Mosques - India Temples - India Also try narrower subject headings, such as:Art Form Decoration and ornament - India Folk art - India Painting, Indic Sculpture India Sculpture, Indic Sculpture, Buddhist - India Religion Art and religion - India Art, Buddhist - India Art, Hindu - India Buddhist art and symbolism Hindu symbolism Siva (Hindu Deity) - Art Historical Period, Region or Cultural Group Gupta dynasty Kushans Maratha (Indic people) Mogul Empire Tamil (Indic people)
South Asian Collection Museum of Anthropology Reading Room Exhibition Catalogues For exhibition catalogues received at UBC before 1985 consult the Exhibition Card Catalogue, located above the vertical file cabinets on level 3 of the Irving K. Barber Centre. Access is by artist or subject. For exhibitions catalogues received at UBC after 1985 consult the UBC Library Catalogue.
To find electronic copies of theses and dissertations completed at UBC, search cIRcle: UBC'S Information Repository - Theses and Dissertations. To find theses and dissertations completed at other institutions, search in these databases: ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full text Doctoral dissertations: 1861-present; masters theses: 1988-present (selective coverage, since many institutions do not submit masters theses for inclusion). Online abstracts for dissertations available since July 1980, full text since 1997. Theses Canada Portal Indexes Canadian theses and dissertations from 1965 to present. Also provides free access to electronic theses and dissertations harvested monthly from Canadian universities. For general help in finding theses visit the Library's FAQ: Dissertations and Theses.
Archivision Digital Research Library Archivision is a database of over 53,000 high quality, professionally photographed images of architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, archaeology, and design searchable within LUNA Commons. ARTstor ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images licensed for educational use at UBC, covering the areas of art, architecture, the humanities and the social sciences. Sculpture Index Print index found in the AArP reference collection. World architecture index : a guide to illustrations Print index found in the AArP reference collection. Illustrated dictionary of historic architecture Print index found in the AArP reference collection.
To search for books containing images and illustrations, add the keyword phrase "pictorial works" to your catalogue search.
Asian Art Asian Historical Architecture Digital South Asia Library Great Buildings Online Museum Collections: Cleveland Museum of Art Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Los Angeles County Museum of Art Oriental Museum, University of Durham Victoria & Albert Museum SPIRO, Architectural Visual Resources Library Unesco World Heritage Centre World Images Also see: Web Resources in Art Web Resources in Architecture