The aim of this guide is to act as a finding aid to English language information, publications, and research from Indonesia. For finding aids to materials in Asian languages follow the links under Collections on the Asian Library page. For finding aids to materials published by the United Nations and other intergovernmental organizations see the UBC Library Survivor's Guide to the United Nations and the UBC Library Guide to Intergovernmental Organizations. If you are interested in publications from other countries in the region you can check the Library catalogue to see if we have the item(s) you need, contact the InterLibrary Loans department for items that the Library does not have and/or check the official websites for the governments in question. ASEAN, the Association of Southeast Asian Nations is also a very good source of English language information, publications and statistics for countries in the region.
Republic of Indonesia. This site provides news features; basic statistics for balance of trade, tourism and investment approvals; information about Indonesian government structure and function; and speeches. Many English language links lead to Indonesian language content. Majelis Permusyawaratan Rakyat. Official website of the Indonesian parliament. There is a link for the English version of the site, but as of May 2011, only the "1945 Constitution" and the "A Glance History" links lead to English language content. UBC Library also has a print copy of the 1945 Constitution available at KT3831.I532 2000 and a copy of the Second Amendment to the Constitution (2000): Decrees of the People's Consultative Assembly of The Republic of Indonesia at KT3831.I53 2000.
Ministries You can navigate to a list of Indonesian Ministry websites from the Republic of Indonesia site by first hovering over the word "ministries" and then "ministers." The two ministries highlighted below currently have the most content available in English. Most other ministry sites provide English labels for links/headings/buttons, but the articles, publications, research and statistics have generally not been translated. Department of Foreign Affairs. Provides news features, calendar of events, a wide array of foreign policy information, speeches, and a list of international treaties that Indonesia has signed. Note, many English language links lead to Indonesian language content. Ministry of Industry. Provides extensive information on the organization and function of the ministry, as well as the full-text of relevant regulations, press releases and articles from Indonesia Reviews. Also provides full-text access to the latest edition of Industry Fast Facts, as well as the day's exchange rates, inflation rate and figures for non-oil and gas exports.
Statistics - Internal Statistics Indonesia. Provides free PDF downloads of some of its key English language publications, including Key Indicators of Indonesia and Trends of the Selected Socio-Economic Indicators of Indonesia . Also provides English press releases, a statistical glossary and statistical tables on a wide array of topics, including consumer prices indices; consumption and expenditure; demography; education; employment; energy; foreign trade, gdp, labour; health; housing; wages and much more. Bank Indonesia. This is the English language website for the national bank of Indonesia. The site provides free downloads of Bank economic and financial reports; its economic journal; working papers & seminar materials; and a wide array of banking, financial and monetary statistics. Statistik Indonesia = Statistical Yearbook of Indonesia. Available at call number HA1811 .B57 for 1986 - 2003; 2005 - present and at call number HA1811.A34 for 1980 - 1984. This annual, bilingual publication presents "various data from BPS-Statistics Indonesia and other agencies....and provides a general picture of geographic and climate conditions as well as key socio-demographic and economic characteristics of Indonesia." Gross Regional Domestic Product of Provinces in Indonesia by Industrial Origin. Available at call number HC450.I5 P47 for 1986 to present. This bilingual publication is produced every five years. Welfare Statistics. Available at call number HA4607.Y63 S7 for 2003 - 2007. This publication is chiefly in Indonesian, but some English content is available. From the National Socio-Economic Survey, this publication focuses on social indicators and social welfare statistics. Financial Statistics of Regency/Municipality Government. Available at call number HJ9575.I54 for 1998 - present. This publication is chiefly in Indonesian but there is some English language content and provides financial statistics, income and expenditure figures, and budget information for the various regencies and municipalities throughout Indonesia. Indonesia's Population Census. Available from UBC Library at various call numbers. To see available census publications type "Indonesia census" into the Catalogue's keyword search box. Statistics - External While the government of Indonesia does produce and disseminate a comprehensive array of statistics in English, you should be aware that you can also find high-quality statistics from regional organizations, such as the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) and intergovernmental organizations (IGOs) such as: the World Bank UNICEF the World Health Organization (WHO) and the Asian Development Bank You can also find excellent quality statistics for the entire Southeast Asian Region on the Asian Development Bank's general statistics portal page and from the United Nations Statistics Division