Skip to main content

Images - Finding & Using: Other

Websites...

For subject specific websites, please see these pages.

Other Websites

Please note: Image and copyright permissions will vary across these resources, so it is important to read the image use guidelines or copyright policies on each site.


Canadian

  • Images Canada
    A searchable gateway to images on the web depicting people, places and events from Canadian culture and histort. The website is administered by Library and Archives Canada; however the images are from participating cultural institutions across Canada..
  • Brand Canada Library
    A database of images from the Canadian Tourism Commission, which describes itself as a one-stop shop for 5,000+ rights-ready and free-to-use photos and videos. Free registration is required.
  • Library and Archives Canada
    A searchable database of historic materials from Library and Archives Canada. To search for available digitized materials, choose "Yes" from the drop down menu next to "Online". You can also select the type of material for which you want to search (maps, art, architectural drawings, photographs, etc.).
  • Canadian History Photos and Pictures of Canada
    An about.com page with links to a number of different resources for Canadian images (mostly historical).



Engineering

  • National Information Service for Earthquake Engineering, Visual Resources
    A collection of images and flash presentations relating to structural and earthquake engineering, hosted by the National Information Service for Earthquake Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley.
  • Structurae [en]
    A database with images of bridges, buildings, portraits, and products relating to structural and civil engineering, developed and maintained by Nicolas Janberg, a structural and bridge engineer.