About This Collection
The early textbook collection spans the period from the eighteenth century to about 1930, and is probably the largest of its kind in Canada. The bulk of the collection is Canadian, in English and French, but includes American and British texts, which were probably used in Canadian schools. Many of the books contain statements by the British Columbia and/or other provincial governments authorising the textbooks for use in schools. There are also a number of textbooks classified elsewhere in the rare book collection.
Photo credit: UBC Library, Rare Books and Special Collections, PZ6 1810 U534.
Colocating This Collection
Want to explore this collection but don't know where to start? We've created some links that can help you discover the material in this collection.
Browsing the UBC Library Catalogue
The books in this collection are labelled with LT305 in the UBC catalogue. This label precedes either the year the book was published or the call number of the book. Browse these books in the UBC Library catalogue.
Subject Headings
Beyond our Collections
- British Columbia Historical TextbooksThe Curriculum Library at the University of Victoria has a unique collection of textbooks used in British Columbia’s public schools since the province joined confederation in 1871. This historical textbooks collection includes books on a variety of school subjects including science, math, health, English and language arts, foreign languages, history, and social studies. With their large readership these textbooks have touched the lives of many citizens for nearly a century and a half. School textbooks provide us with insight into the thinking, priorities, values, and assumptions of those who wrote, taught, and read these books.