Welcome to the health care administration guide, created to assist students in health care management studies at UBC. This guide focuses on the efficiency, marketing, operations, planning and management of health care systems, hospitals, medical clinics and other health-related agencies. It is also intended to assist users who are preparing business plans on healthcare-related topics. RELATED GUIDES:Dental, Medical & Surgical Equipment | Health Care Policy and Research | Health Statistics | Global Health RELATED PROGRAMS AT UBC:EMBA in Health Care, Sauder School of Business | Master of Health Administration RELATED RESEARCH CENTRES AT UBC:The UBC Centre for Health Care Management | Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research
Contact the librarians at David Lam Library Contact the librarians at UBC Life Sciences libraries Contact the librarians at UBC Okanagan libraries
In embarking on a research project such as a business plan for a health care initiative or agency, the early critical thinking phase is crucial to save you time, focus your efforts in productive directions, and help you to avoid searching at length for data that may not exist, or may not be worth the time you spend in looking for it. Many students know what their overall broad topic is. They sometimes have difficulty breaking it down into questions that can be answered by a structured knowledge base such as a Library database or Google. We have created a critical thinking tool, which we call our JumpStart Guide. It helps you to define your topic and begin to break it down into questions you would like to answer. We've also developed a series of research tips to help you.
Search Tips Can the data I want be collected? Who would likely collect it? Does anyone collect it? Does anyone publish the data? Is there other relevant data to substitute for what I can't find? How can I break my topic into questions? What terminology is used for my topic? What are some synonyms for my topic? How can I rephrase my search to bring different items to the top of my results list? Will the drop-down boxes help me limit my search by date, etc? Do I need to separate my search terms with "and" and "or"? Am I searching for data at too granular (ie, specific) a level?
Business Article Databases ABI/Inform (Abstracted Business Information) Fulltext articles from 1000+ business journals. Search together with Canadian NewsStand and CBCA Business Source Complete Business articles, market research reports, company swot analyses Canadian Newsstand Complete Canadian newspapers CBCA Complete Canadian journals and magazines Emerald Management Plus Articles on management strategy, leadership, marketing, human resource management Factiva Global business and industry news service LexisNexis Academic News, government, finance, business information. Company directories GoogleScholar A simple way to search selected scholarly literature, with links for UBC users to fulltext
Health Care Administration Databases ALPSP Learned Journals Collection Valuable resource which contains the Journal of health services research & policy Canadian Institute for Health Information Databases Interactive tools and databases on health administration topics CINAHL Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature Clinical Evidence Monthly updated review of evidence of the effects of common clinical interventions EMBASE Biomedical and pharmacology database with European perspective Medline (OVID) MEDLINE (PubMed) PubMed is the US National Library of Medicine's free, web searchable MEDLINE database - the premier international index to biomedical research covering nearly 5000 journals OVID SP databases Gateway to selected health databases Health Reference Center Academic Multi-source database providing access to full-text of nursing and allied health journals Web of Science Multidisciplinary index
Search Tips Single words or short phrases work best Try different words and word combinations Use "AND" and "OR" between search terms Use dropdown boxes to focus your search Use Subject Terms if the database provides them
You can search more than one database at a time. For cross-disciplinary research in management and healthcare, a good combination of databases from Ebsco includes: Academic Search Complete AgeLine Biomedical Reference Collection Business Source Complete Cinahl Family and Society Studies Medline To select databases from Ebsco click here.
Searching the UBC Library Catalogue Search:within Keyword (relevance ranked)Keyword (use AND, OR, NOT, or "a phrase")Title KeywordTitle (begins with)Journal Title (begins with)Author KeywordSubject KeywordCall Number Browse Filter by Location/Item Type/Language: All ItemsLocation: Asian LibraryLocation: Biomedical Branch LibraryLocation: David Lam LibraryLocation: Education LibraryLocation: Extension LibraryLocation: Hamber LibraryLocation: I.K. Barber Learning CentreLocation: Koerner LibraryLocation: Law LibraryLocation: Music LibraryLocation: Okanagan LibraryLocation: OnlineLocation: Rare Books & Special CollectionsLocation: Robson Square LibraryLocation: St. Paul's Hospital LibraryLocation: Woodward LibraryLocation: Xwi7xwa LibraryFormat: Sound RecordingFormat: VideorecordingLanguage: ChineseLanguage: FrenchLanguage: GermanLanguage: JapaneseLanguage: KoreanLanguage: Spanish Records per page: 10 records per page20 records per page25 records per page50 records per page
Searching the UBC Library Catalogue: Search the UBC Library Catalogue for books on various aspects of health care administration. Because it is a broad topic, many library subject headings could apply, depending on your research interest. Subject headings for searching the UBC Library Catalogue: Here are some basic subject headings: DELIVERY OF HEALTH CARE | HEALTH EXPENDITURES - CANADA | HEALTH FACILITIES - ORGANIZATION & ADMINISTRATION | HEALTH SERVICES | HEALTH SERVICES ADMINISTRATION | HOSPITAL ADMINISTRATION | HOSPITALS | HOSPITALS - ADMINISTRATION | MEDICAL CARE | MEDICAL CARE - MARKETING Finding books on library shelves: Click here to learn about library call numbers and how to read them. Borrowing books: Many online books about health care topics can be accessed, and sometimes downloaded, through the Catalogue. Most print books on these topics will be located at the Woodward Library and other life sciences libraries, or the David Lam Library, or UBC Okanagan Library. Borrowers can borrow most books from, and return books to, any branch of the UBC Library. To request a book from another UBC library branch, click here.
Canada demographics Statistics Canada. Community profiles 2006 provides interactive profiles presenting community-level information from the 2006 Census of Population. Statistics Canada. CANSIM contains time series database of Statistics Canada time series, excluding the Census. Statistics Canada. Census of Canada 2006: Profiles provides detailed profile tables provide a statistical overview of all places in Canada by level of census geography. Statistics Canada. Census of Canada 2006: Topic-based Tabulations enables interaction with complex, multi-dimensional tables to find information by related subjects for varying levels of census geography Statistics Canada. E-STAT is the easiest-to-use interface to Statistics Canada time series and census data. Statistics Canada. Market research handbook Statistics Canada. Electronic publications access Stats Can journals which provide detailed statistical information and analysis on a variety of topics Editor & Publisher Market Guide: the directory of newspaper markets and demographics access Canadian & US newspaper market surveys and demographics by Census Metropolitan area. Information on chain stores & restaurants in specific cities
Country Demographic Data Passport GMID (formerly Global Market Information Database) Business intelligence on economies and demographics, consumers, lifestyles, companies and industries OECD.stat Quarterly, monthly and annual time series measuring economic and social conditions in member countries Proquest Statistical Insight Government statistics, including US government and international intergovernmental organizations World Bank Data Statistical data for over 550 development indicators for 200 countries
British Columbia BC. Ministry of Finance. Summary Financial Statements for taxpayer-funded agencies including hospitals and health authorities BC. Ministry of Health Services. MSC Financial Statements. Payments to practitioners by the Medical Services Plan BC. Ministry of Health Services. Physician Compensation Branch Canada Canada. Industry Canada. SME Benchmarking Tool. Typical operating costs for small to medium businesses, including nursing care facilities, community care facilities for the elderly, medical laboratories, home health care services, outpatient care centres, physicians' offices, general medical and surgical hospitals, and specialty hospitals Canada. Statistics Canada. Employment, Earnings and Hours. Average weekly earnings for employees of ambulatory healthcare services, hospitals, nursing care facilities, by province Canadian advertising rates & data (CARD). Advertising costs Canadian Institute for Health Information. Fee-for-service payments, utilization, alternative payment programs United States RMA. Annual Statement Studies. Financial ratio benchmarks for industries Business Plans Handbook. Sample online business plans including: Health Advocacy Business, Counseling Center, Medical Billing Company, Holistic Health Center, Physio Therapy Practice
Recent books on financial planning for healthcare organizations Financial management of health care organizations : an introduction to fundamental tools, concepts, and applications, E-BOOK Effective nonprofit management : context and environment, HD62.6 .P96 2011, David Lam LibraryChapter Five: Financial Management Fundamentals of health care financial management : a practical guide to fiscal issues and activities, WX27.AA1 B474 2008, David Lam Library Managerial economics of non-profit organizations, HD62.6 .J44 2008, David Lam LibraryChapters on accounting and financial management Managing with plans and budgets in health and social care, HV40 .F455 2007, Woodward More books on financial management of health care organizations
Google is an excellent way to find market research data. Governments, NGO's and other organizations publish data and statistics on their websites. Use Google to find this kind of data. Use the Advanced Google search interface. Limit your search by domain. For example, if you want to find data provided by the US government, search the domain .gov. Limit by geography. For example, the domain for Canada is .ca. For China, it is .cn. Enclose phrases in quotation marks, or enter them in the correct box in the Advanced Google search screen. Limit by date to get the most recent materials.
In June 2011, Statistics Canada published Health Profile, June 2011, featuring health region data from a number of sources including Statistics Canada's health surveys, administrative data, and the census of population. The application gives quick access to the latest health-related data available for a selected health region, providing the corresponding provincial data by default, but users can easily select any region of choice for comparison.
Market Research Databases Business Source Complete Includes "telecoms and technology" reports for a variety of countries, including Canada (note: full text available only for reports older than 6 months) eMarketer Market research and trend analysis on digital media, marketing and commerce. Topics covered include B2B and B2C eBusiness, online marketing, consumer behaviour online, social media, mobile devices Forrester Research Information geared towards IT and technology industry professionals. Emerging trends and issues in e-Business, IT products and services. Freedonia Focus Majority of reports on U.S. industries, with an expanding selection of reports for other countries, including Canada, China, Brazil, India, Mexico and Russia, as well as global reports. IBISWorld Industry Reports Reports on over 700 US industries as well as some global industries. MarketResearch.com Academic Reports on the US market and specific consumer groups. Passport GMID (formerly Global Market Information Database) Global and country specific reports on consumer goods and services. Print Measurement Bureau Survey data on Canadians' usage of over 3500 products and services. Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage US Industry Surveys and Stock Reports. Thomson ONE Includes analyst reports on industries and companies. For analyst reports on industries, click on "Screening & Analysis" in the menu bar on the left, then click on "Research" and "Research Search." Search for reports by keyword or NAICs industry code, and limit by geography
Please refer to our Business Communications guide for resources for citing references, preparing your bibliography, writing articulately and presenting effectively.
RefWorksUBC provides a citation management program called RefWorks. It enables you to: download, gather, and store references from databases and library catalogues automatically format citations and bibliographies in seconds connect to your RefWorks account anywhere there's web access share your citations with other RefWorks users Click here to use the UBC Library's Refworks guide.
The BC Health Authority Shared Services Organization (SSO) is an agency supported by the Government of British Columbia and all six public health authorities in BC. The mandate of SSO is to improve cost effectiveness and enhance service quality by collaboration in non-clinical areas such as purchasing. Terminology used to describe this topic includes: hospital alliances, consortia, consortial purchasing, collaborative procurement, collaborative purchasing, collective procurement, collective purchasing, group purchasing organization, and (in England) purchasing hubs and procurement hubs. GoogleScholar is a useful place to start your research, as it indexes selected scholarly articles, many of which are accessible through the UBC Library. When you are connected to UBC's VPN, you can click on the UBC eLink icon beside citations in GoogleScholar to access the fulltext article. Here are some articles indexed by GoogleScholar from the search: "collaborative procurement" OR "group purchasing" AND hospitals Article indexes: Several UBC Library article databases are useful for this research, including: Emerald Management Ford, E. and Hughes, J. A collaborative product commerce approach to value-based health plan purchasing, Supply Chain Management, 2007, 12:1, p32-41 Jarrett, P.G. An analysis of international health care logistics: The benefits and implications of implementing just-in-time systems in the health care industry, Leadership in Health Services, 2006, 19:1, p1-10 Nollet, J. and Beaulieu, M. Should an organisation join a purchasing group?, Supply Chain Management, 2005, 10:1, p11-17 Young, S. Outsourcing in the Australian health sector: The interplay of economics and politics, International Journal of Public Sector Management, 18:1, p25-36 ABI/Inform articles in ABI/Inform ... Elsevier Science Direct Young, S. Outsourcing: Uncovering the Complexity of the Decision, International Public Management Journal, 10:3 July 2007, p307-325 Kim, D. An Integrated Supply Chain Management System: A Case Study in Healthcare Sector, Lecture Notes in Computer Science, Vol 3590, 2005 Harland, C. Supply network strategies the case of health supplies, European Journal of Purchasing & Supply Management, 2: December 1996, p183-192 More articles ... (Search terms= hospitals + consortia + purchasing) OVID SP Burns, L. Hospital purchasing alliances: Utilization, services, and performance, Health Care Management Review, 33(3), July/September 2008 PubMed Try searching on phrases such as hospital alliances. Narrow your search by adding additional search terms.
Books Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook Chapter 19: group purchasing organizations eBusiness in healthcare : from eProcurement to supply chain management Health care operations management : a quantitative approach to business and logistics Pt. III: Logistics and supply chain management Strategic management of the health care supply chain The Toyota way to healthcare excellence : increase efficiency and improve quality with Lean Procurement as an innovation instrument More books ...
Cases Capital Equipment Procurement and Planning in Ontario's Hospitals: A Collaborative Approach Supply chain modernization in Ontario health care (online) HealthTrust Europe eBusiness in healthcare : from eProcurement to supply chain management Ch. 8. Integrated Strategy for eProcurement: The Case for Leeds Teaching Hospitals More case studies
United States Medscape. Physician Compensation Report. (2012) Presents current salary data by medical specialty from more than 24,000 US physicians and reveals information on personal income, patient load, time spent per patient, and much more.