This guide lists selected resources available to you through the UBC Library and on the web. Need more help? Come to meet a Science & Engineering librarian or sign up for a Science and Engineering Library Workshop. Choose one of the above tabs to find the information you are interested in. Please contact us if you need further assistance.
Compendex Engineering Village 2 Premier engineering database, covering the core literature of the engineering field, including related specialties and technologies. SAE Digital Library Full-text Society of Automotive Engineers Technical Papers only from 1906 to the present. Also included are citations from IRCOBI, AAAM, STAPP, ANSI, ASTM, and many more - full text may be available at the Library. Web of Science Online access to the Science Citation Index Expanded, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Use for: citation analysis of research journals. GREENR GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) is a new, authoritative online resource that focuses on the academic study of sustainability and the environment. GreenFILE Around 300,000 articles on green issues, including green building, global warming, etc. Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management Includes article citations and web resources. The twelve subfiles cover: Engineering, Technology, Life & Physical Sciences, and may be searched independently. Geobase Research literature with abstracts on human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics and development studies. Focus on human factors related to alternative energy research. Can be searched simultaneously with Compendex and GeoRef. COS Funding Opportunities A compiled database of available opportunities for grants, fellowships, prizes and other type of funding. It is an extensive database with opportunities for recipients anywhere in the world, working in any discipline. Opportunity sponsors come from the public and private sector, including local, state and national governments, foundations and societies, and corporations. RefWorks and RefShare - Citation Management Software RefWorks allows users to create personal citation databases by importing references and links from online databases and catalogues.
ENGnetBASE: Engineering Handbooks Online CRC Handbooks in Civil Engineering; Chemical and Biological Engineering; Mechanical Engineering; Electrical and Computer Engineering; Metals and Materials Engineering. ENVIROnetBASE: Environmental Sciences Electronic Library Handbooks on the environmental sciences including engineering. MATERIALSnetBASE Includes handbooks, dictionaries and encyclopedias that explain the theory, data, and processes shaping diverse materials applications. Covers from ceramics and textiles, to bioscience and pharmacology. SpringerLink Full-text online access to books and journals published by Springer. Knovel Basic Academic Online handbooks in science and engineering, particularly good for chemistry and related disciplines ASM Handbooks Online Provides online access to the complete ASM Handbook series including the multi-volume ASM Engineering Materials Handbook and ASM Metals Handbook. Wiley Online Library Includes several books on renewable and sustainable energy. More UBC Library eBooks
Building Codes British Columbia Building Code 2006. We have full text online access to the BC Building Code. National Building Code of Canada 2010. Available in print at 4th floor IK Barber in Vancouver, and at UBC Okanagan Library. Vancouver Building Code. Also known as Vancouver Building By-law (VBBL). Available in print at the Reference Desk, 3rd floor IK Barber. International Building Code. Available in print at 4th floor IK Barber in Vancouver. Bridge and Road Design Codes Canadian Highway Bridge Design Code is available full text in the CSA Standards database, and in print (2006 edition) at the 3rd floor Reference Desk in IK Barber. Bridge Standards and Procedures Manual from the BC Ministry of Transportation is available online. BC Supplement to Transportation Association of Canada Geometric Design Guide is available online. Master Municipal Construction Documents are available in print on reserve at the Circulation Desk, 2nd floor of IK Barber. The City of Vancouver also uses a supplementary document, the Street Restoration Manual; the PDF for this and more details are available on the City's Engineering Services website. Standard Specifications for Highway Construction from the BC Ministry of Transportation is available online.
cIRcle: UBC's Institutional Repository UBC theses and dissertations submitted after Fall 2007 are available in full text in cIRcle: UBC's Institutional Repository. A project is underway to digitize older UBC theses, starting with 1992. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text Searchable index of dissertations, some theses. The full text of dissertations and theses added to the database since 1997 are available to UBC users. UBC Library FAQ: Dissertations and Theses More information about locating theses and dissertations - OAI, WorldCat, Theses Canada, Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD), Electronic Theses Online Service (EThOS) Project, On-line Database of Dissertations of China (DOC)(Abstracts) and more...
Green Buildings | UBC Sustainability Green Commercial Real Estate: Corporate Social Responsibility - UBC Sauder School of Business City of Vancouver: Green Buildings Metro Vancouver BuildSmart - Sustainable Buildings Solutions Canada Green Building Council BCIT Centre for Architectural Ecology - Collaborations in Green Roofs and Living Walls Greenroofs.com: The Greenroof and Greenwall Projects Database Green Building Encyclopedia - Glossary of Green Building Terms