Skip to main content
Greek and Roman Art
Search this Guide
Greek and Roman Art
Ancient View of Greek Art Criticism, History and Terminology
Study of art criticism in ancient Greece and Roman variants. Includes an index of Greek and Latin texts and a glossary of terms from ancient Greek and Latin writers, mostly from the 5th and 6th centuries B.C.
Die antiken Schriftquellen zur Geschichte der bildenden Kunste bei den Griechen
The Art of Rome, c.753 B.C. - A.D. 337; sources and documents. Includes texts, critical essays and bibliographical references.
Arte e Gusto Negli Scrittori Latini
Selections on art criticism in ancient Rome based on original sources.
Description de la Grece/ Pausanias
Description of Greece in the 2nd century A.D. Includes the arts. (v.1 and v.5-8)
The Elder Pliny’s chapters on the history of art
Detailed discussion on Greek artists based on Hellenistic sources.
Inschriften griechischer Bildhauer
Inscriptions on Greek sculpture arranged chronologically and geographically. Index of artists at end.
The Literature of Classical Art
Translations of De pictura veterum and Catalogus architectorum, mechanicorum, sed praecipue pictorum.
Recueil Milliet; Textes Grecs et Latins Relatifs a l'Histoire de la Peinture Ancienne
A collection of Latin and Greek texts on painting.
Select Passages from Ancient Writers Illustrative of the History of Greek Sculpture
Compilation of writings by Greek sculptors who worked between 600 and 323 B.C. Original texts and English translations side by side.
Tektonon Daidala; der bildende Kunstler und sein Werk im vorplatonischen Schriftum
A collection of Roman authors from lesser known sources, including manuscripts and collections of source material.
Urbs Roma: a Source Book of Classical Texts on the City and its Monuments
Ancient authors on the monuments of Rome. Includes inscriptions.
Vitruvius: the Ten Books on Architecture
The only surviving ancient treatise on the principles of architecture written by a Roman architect in the 1st century AD.
Special Materials >>
Mar 25, 2019 3:08 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem
Art History & Visual Art