Core Databases
- MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) This link opens in a new windowThe most important index covering literature, languages, linguistics, folklore and film. Contains over 3 million records and annually indexes over 70,000 journal articles, books, websites, dissertations and other formats. Coverage from 1926 to the present.
- Gale Literary SourcesIndexes over 1 million full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines, critical essays, topic overviews, biographies and more.
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) This link opens in a new windowGood source for coverage of Canadian authors and literature.
Need Help Finding Journal Articles?
See the UBC Library Guide to Finding Articles. The guide shows you how to search for a known article from a list or in course reserve, find articles on a topic, and what to do when UBC Library doesn't have the article you're looking for.
More Databases
- ESTC : English Short Title Catalog This link opens in a new windowBibliographic records for works published between 1473 and 1800, principally in Britain and North America. Predominantly English language. Contains almost 460,000 records representing material held in the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowA bibliography comprised of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books and journal material are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowPremier resource to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues.
- Nineteenth Century IndexA comprehensive source for discovering nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. Provides access to the twelve most important finding aids for 19th century studies, including the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue and Palmer's Index to the Times of London.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new windowCovers history and culture of Native North Americans; over 80,000 records. Stronger in older ethnological studies than it is in current political studies.
- International Medieval Bibliography Online This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, proceedings, festschriften and other essay collections covering all aspects of the European Middle Ages (c450-1500).
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text article database covering communication and language. Useful for articles on language and communication technologies such as texting, MSN, etc.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals Archive Online (PAO) offers access to international scholarly literature in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 1995 in thirty-seven subject areas.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest academic search engine providing free access to a full range of scholarly literature (ie. peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, technical reports). Google Scholar sorts results by presenting "most relevant" citations first by using its PageRank algorithm (a measure of article popularity/value). The cited-by feature leads to other scholarly articles.
Core Journals
