This research guide was created for Economics 367 students, and provides a selected listing of resources available for researching cases. For purposes of the assignment, ensure that you use economic concepts to resolve the legal conflicts presented in the case that you select. UBC Law Library homepage has numerous links to Case Law websites and to Research Resources including legal abbreviation decoders, e.g. Abbreviations - Selected Law Reports. Canadian law report series are kept on the top floor along the sides. DLR: Dominion Law Reports are available electronically. To access databases outside the library, see Connect from Home (EZproxy & myVPN).
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________ CONTACT A LIBRARIAN FOR HELP: UBC Law Library Reference Staff
The following texts are recommended reading. Cooter & Ulen, Law and Economics, 5th ed. LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): K487.E3 C665 2008 (LC) Harrison, Law and Economics in a Nutshell, 4th ed. LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): K487.E3 H37 2007 (LC) Posner, Economic Analysis of Law, 7th ed. LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): K487.E3 P67 2007 (LC) Hirsch, Law and Economics: An Introductory Analysis, 2d ed. LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KF385 .H55 1988 (LC) Posner, The Collected Economic Essays of Richard A. Posner LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): K487.E3 P673 2000 (LC)
The Canadian Abridgment is Canada's most comprehensive case digest. It provides summaries of every reported case in Canada, and selective coverage of unreported decisions. Use the General Index for the Canadian Abridgment, 3rd edition at LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE173 .C3632 (LC) to look up case summaries, using headings such as: defamation, expropriation, intellectual property, nuisance, environmental law (which includes pollution), or wrongful appropriation of personality. Then see the relevant case digests in the Canadian Abridgment (3rd) edition, as indicated in the General Index. They are kept in the Law Library Reference room (level 2) at KE173 .C364 2003 (LC).
UBC Law Library has numerous useful links to Case Law online, including: CanLII: Canadian Legal Information Institute Provides access to all Canadian appellate courts, including the British Columbia Court of Appeal, and the Supreme Court of Canada. Use its Help to design the best search queries for your topic. LexisNexis Academic provides access to case law from Canada and the United States. BestCase provides full-text Canadian cases from across Canada, including BC & SCC cases. Click drop-down arrow beside "Select Search Form" in top right corner and choose either a "Catchlines" or "Advanced" search. To find cases, use relevant terms and follow the instructions on the Search screens.
MacEllven Legal Research Handbook, 5th ed LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KF250. M33 2003 (LC) Chapter 1 has an excellent, brief overview of legal research concepts, including: how to find relevant primary law; mandatory & persuasive authority; and how to frame a legal issue. Two useful electronic legal research guides are: Best Guide to Canadian Legal Research (http://www.legalresearch.org) by Best Doing Legal Research in Canada (http://www.llrx.com/features/ca.htm) by Tjaden
British Columbia Court of Appeal Rules see sections 21-23 re: Factums; Form and content of factums; and Factums on cross appeal. BC Civil Liberties Association - Factums Iosipescu and Whitehead, Legal Writing and Research Manual, 6th ed. LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE265.Y64 2004 (LC) Chapter 7 (Factums) includes explanatory notes and a sample factum. Cromwell, Preparation of Factums LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE265.P73 1996 (LC) Contains sample factums with annotations and commentary, as well as practical advice and tips. Tjaden, Legal Research and Writing 3d ed. LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE250 .T53 2010 (LC) or Online See Chapter 12 - Legal Writing - F. Factums (pp. 347-349). Kwaw, The Guide to Legal Analysis, Legal Methodology and Legal Writing LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE250. K828 1992 (LC) See Chapter 10 - Appellate Advocacy, particularly: Written Advocacy: The Factum pp. 180-186; Respondent's Factum (pp. 192-193). Also see Appendix 4 - Sample Factums: Appellants (p. 215); Respondents (p. 217).
Case comments and journal articles can provide useful information regarding some Canadian cases. Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL) (or in print at LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE1 .I532 2001 (LC)) Provides thorough coverage of Canadian law journal articles. In addition to articles, case comments and annotations for more than 200 Canadian legal and law-related periodicals, ICLL indexes books, individual essays from edited collections, federal and provincial government publications, and the publications of law faculties and legal research institutes and associations, including theses. Search using keywords from the case name. If using the print version [LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE1 .I532 2001 (LC)] use the Table of Cases in the Cases/Statutes volume. Index to Canadian Legal Periodical Literature (Scott Index) (1998-) covers over 20 000 texts including legal articles published in more than a hundred Canadian legal journals, legal articles published in journals from related fields, texts from legal conferences, and case comments. Many periodicals are accessible via electronically - use the "Journals" search on the menu bar of UBC Library pages to locate journal holdings.
Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation, 7th ed. LAW LIBRARY learning commons (level 2) & reference room (level 2): KE259.C35 2010 (LC) Citing Sources and Avoiding Plagiarism