IntroductionThis guide lists selected sources for dietetics and nutrition available through the UBC Library and the web. Trying to find scholarly/academic articles for your paper? Cilck on the Finding Articles tab above.
Related Guides Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) Evidence-Based Health Care (EBHC) Food Science
Need Research Help? Sally Taylor, LibrarianGraduate programssally.taylor@ubc.ca | (604) 822-6638 Katherine Miller, LibrarianUndergraduate programskatherine.miller@ubc.ca | (604) 822-0295 Visit Woodward Library (hours)
Librarians UBC Vancouver Katherine Miller (Life Sciences Libraries) UBC Vancouver Sally Taylor (Life Sciences Libraries)
Start with MEDLINE (OvidSP) Premier database containing over 20 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a focus on biomedicine. PubMed (1947 - present) Premier database containing over 20 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a focus on biomedicine. Freely available and includes MEDLINE. CAB Direct (CAB Abstracts & Global Health) Database of articles in agriculture, forestry, human health, human nutrition, animal health, natural resources management and conservation. International coverage.
Additional Indexes & Databases AGRICOLA Database of information on every major agricultural subject. North American coverage. CINAHL - Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature Key database in nursing and allied health. Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) Database of records of controlled trials identified by the contributors of the Cochrane Collaboration. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) Full-text access, regularly updated systematic reviews by the Cochrane Collaboration. Includes completed systematic reviews and review protocols in development. Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) Critical assessments of systematic reviews produced by the UK National Health Services' Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD). EBM Reviews (OvidSP) One-stop searching of 7 evidence-based medicine databases in the Cochrane Library. EMBASE (OvidSP) International (but European-focused) biomedical database with strengths in drug-related subjects and rehabilitation sciences. Food Science and Technology Abstracts - FSTA Finding international research literature on food science and technology. Health and Psychosocial Instruments - HaPI Database of evaluation and measurement tools. Includes questionnaires, checklists, index measures, rating scales, project techniques, tests, & interview schedules. PEN (Practice Based Evidence for Nutrition) Evidence-based information on nutrition and dietetics produced by the Dietitians of Canada. PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset The subset will limit PubMed search results to the dietary supplement literature including vitamin, mineral, phytochemical, ergogenic, botanical, and herbal supplements in human nutrition and animal models. Search Strategy Used to Create the Dietary Supplements Subset on PubMed SportDiscus International database that covers all aspects of sport and fitness Web of Science Classic multidisciplinary index to scholarly articles with 'times cited' feature.
Browse Online Journals by Subject Diet & Clinical Nutrition Foodborne Diseases Metabolic & Nutritional Diseases
Last Gasp 'or Toadstools mistaken for Mushrooms' by Thomas Rowlandson (1756-1827) can be found in Medical caricatures in the Woodward Library Memorial Room extension at WZ330 .R69 1971.
Librarians UBC Vancouver Katherine Miller (Life Sciences Libraries) UBC Vancouver Sally Taylor (Life Sciences Libraries)
Online sources Canadian Nutrient File (Health Canada) Database for finding values for nutrients (e.g. vitamins, minerals, protein, energy, fat) in specific foods. Dietary Reference Intakes (National Academies Press) A comprehensive set of nutrient reference values for healthy populations that can be used for assessing and planning diets. Dietary Supplements Labels Database (NLM) Provides information about label ingredients in more than 6,000 selected brands of dietary supplements. FoodNetBase Searchable collection of online books Nutritional Disorders (Merck Manual) Descriptions of nutritional disorders, including etiology, diagnosis, symptoms and treatments. Oxford Reference Online (Food & Drink reference collection) Access to five reference books: An A-Z of Food and Drink, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America, Food and Fitness: A Dictionary of Diet and Exercise, A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition and The Oxford Book of Health Foods. Wiley Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology A-to-Z coverage of all aspects of food science, including: the properties, analysis, and processing of foods; genetic engineering of new food products; and nutrition.
Food Guides Canada's Food Guide Canada's Food Guide - Resources for Educators and Communicators Food Guide Pyramids (USDA) Healthy Eating Pyramid (Harvard School of Public Health)
Last Gasp 'or Toadstools mistaken for Mushrooms' by Thomas Rowlandson (1756-1827) can be found in Medical caricatures in the Woodward Library Memorial Room extension at WZ330 .R69 1971.
Librarians UBC Vancouver Katherine Miller (Life Sciences Libraries) UBC Vancouver Sally Taylor (Life Sciences Libraries)
Search UBC Library Catalogue Search:within Keyword (relevance ranked)Keyword (use AND, OR, NOT, or "a phrase")Title KeywordTitle (begins with)Journal Title (begins with)Author KeywordSubject KeywordCall Number Browse Filter by Location/Item Type/Language: All ItemsLocation: Asian LibraryLocation: Biomedical Branch LibraryLocation: David Lam LibraryLocation: Education LibraryLocation: Extension LibraryLocation: Hamber LibraryLocation: I.K. Barber Learning CentreLocation: Koerner LibraryLocation: Law LibraryLocation: Music LibraryLocation: Okanagan LibraryLocation: OnlineLocation: Rare Books & Special CollectionsLocation: Robson Square LibraryLocation: St. Paul's Hospital LibraryLocation: Woodward LibraryLocation: Xwi7xwa LibraryFormat: Sound RecordingFormat: VideorecordingLanguage: ChineseLanguage: FrenchLanguage: GermanLanguage: JapaneseLanguage: KoreanLanguage: Spanish Records per page: 10 records per page20 records per page25 records per page50 records per page
Books on Dietetics and Nutrition can be found in the UBC Library Catalogue using subject headings such as: diet dietetics food habits nutrition vitamins Browsing the shelves To browse for books on the shelves, use the call numbers below: QU145 - QU220: Vitamins TX341 - TX641: Nutrition - Foods and food supply WA695 - WA722: Food and food safety WB400 - WB449: Diet therapy. Nutrition therapy WD100 - WD175: Nutrition disorders WS 115 - WS130: Pediatric nutritional requirements. Nutrition disorders WT 115: Geriatric nutritional requirements. Nutrition disorders
Last Gasp 'or Toadstools mistaken for Mushrooms' by Thomas Rowlandson (1756-1827) can be found in Medical caricatures in the Woodward Library Memorial Room extension at WZ330 .R69 1971.
Librarians UBC Vancouver Katherine Miller (Life Sciences Libraries) UBC Vancouver Sally Taylor (Life Sciences Libraries)
British Columbia BC Cancer Agency: Care and Research BC Dairy Foundation BC's Dial-A-Dietitian BC Health Guide BC Nutrition Survey College of Dietitians of B.C. HealthLinkBC HealthLinkBC - Dietitian Services at HealthLinkBC
Canada Abbott Laboratories Limited Alberta Government Health and Wellness Website Canadian Council of Food and Nutrition Canadian Food Inspection Agency Canadian Health Network Canada's National Eating Disorder Info Centre Canada's Physical Activity Guide to Healthy Active Living Dietetics @ Work A professional support service provided by Dietitians of Canada Health Canada - Office of Nutrition Policy and Promotion Health Canada Nutrition Labelling Regulations Mead Johnson Nutritionals Nestle Novartis Medical Nutrition (Canada) Public Health Agency of Canada
Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion, USDA Food and Nutrition Information Center - USDA Health food, Nutritional supplements - Energy drinks, Sport nutrition - Vitamins Nutrition.gov (National Agriculture Library, USDA) Office of Dietary Supplements, US National Institutes of Health MEDLINEplus - Nutrition
Last Gasp 'or Toadstools mistaken for Mushrooms' by Thomas Rowlandson (1756-1827) can be found in Medical caricatures in the Woodward Library Memorial Room extension at WZ330 .R69 1971.
Lists & Newsgroups Dietetics and Nutrition Listservs - Canada, Worldwide Food and Nutrition Information Center Listservs
Librarians UBC Vancouver Katherine Miller (Life Sciences Libraries) UBC Vancouver Sally Taylor (Life Sciences Libraries)
Citation Styles APA Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry Uniform Citation Style also referred to as the Vancouver Style University of Queensland Library Vancouver Style 'How To' Guide another guide to Vancouver/Uniform Citation style
Refworks is a web-based citation management program that enables you to: download, gather, and store references from databases and library resources automatically format citations and bibliographies in seconds connect to your RefWorks account anywhere there's web access share your citations with other RefWorks users CLICK HERE to access RefWorks
Last Gasp 'or Toadstools mistaken for Mushrooms' by Thomas Rowlandson (1756-1827) can be found in Medical caricatures in the Woodward Library Memorial Room extension at WZ330 .R69 1971.
Librarians UBC Vancouver Katherine Miller (Life Sciences Libraries) UBC Vancouver Sally Taylor (Life Sciences Libraries)
FNH 325 Food Science Laboratory I Library Course Page includes specific resources to support your class assignment FNH 398 - Research Methods in Human Nutrition
Last Gasp 'or Toadstools mistaken for Mushrooms' by Thomas Rowlandson (1756-1827) can be found in Medical caricatures in the Woodward Library Memorial Room extension at WZ330 .R69 1971.
Librarians UBC Vancouver Katherine Miller (Life Sciences Libraries) UBC Vancouver Sally Taylor (Life Sciences Libraries)