This guide lists selected resources available to you through the UBC Library and on the web. Need more help? Come to meet a Science & Engineering librarian or sign up for a Science and Engineering Library Workshop. Choose one of the above tabs to find the information you are interested in. Please contact us if you need further assistance.
Eugene Barsky eugene.barsky@ubc.ca Phone: (604) 822-9606 Science and Engineering LibraryOffice 414Irving K. Barber Learning Centre1961 East MallVancouver, BC V6T 1Z1
ACM Digital Library - Association for Computing Machinery journals, magazines, newsletters and conference proceedings. IEEE Xplore Digital Library The primary full text database for Electrical and Electronics Engineering, containing journal articles, conference proceedings and standards. Compendex - Premier engineering database, covering the core literature of the engineering field, including related specialties and technologies. arXiv.org e-Print archive - Open access repository that includes thousands of computer science and math articles. Web of Science - Multidisciplinary database, includes Physical Sciences, Medical Sciences, Life Sciences, Applied Sciences, Agriculture, Humanities and Social Sciences, Law and Business.
Look in the UBC Catalogue for books in print and ebooks. Also see the list below for some eBook collections.
Try the following links (subject headings that will show you all books we have about the respective issues: Information technology --Social aspects. (almost 300 books) Computers and civilization. (almost 300 books). Information society. (almost 300 books) Open source software. (almost 100 books) Technology --Social aspects. (more than 500 books) Computer crimes. (almost 100 books) Technological innovations --Social aspects. (more than 100 books) Internet--Social aspects. (more than 100 books)
ENGnetBASE: Engineering Handbooks Online CRC Handbooks in Civil Engineering; Chemical and Biological Engineering; Mechanical Engineering; Electrical and Computer Engineering; Metals and Materials Engineering. SpringerLink Full-text online access to books and journals published by Springer. Lecture Notes in Computer Science - Springer series of computer science publications SIAM ebooks and journals The Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) journals, conferences and books Books 24x7 - IT and Technical Topics Books24x7 - IT and Technical Topics is a collection of online computer science books dealing with all aspects of information technology including programming languages such as C++ or C#, operating systems such as Linux and Windows XP, applications such as ASP.NET, software such as Excel and Powerpoint, web design, and computer gaming. Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science These books are excellent for undergraduates, as they are 50 to 100 page syntheses ("lectures") on a research topic, written by experts in the field. Knovel Basic Academic Online handbooks in science and engineering, particularly good for chemistry and related disciplines MIT CogNet - MIT CogNet is an online location for the brain and cognitive science community's scientific research and interchange. More UBC Library eBooks
How to Cite Sources - UBC Library RefWorks and RefShare - Citation Management Software RefWorks allows users to create personal citation databases by importing references and links from online databases and catalogues. Copyright at UBC Evaluating Print Sources - UBC Library Evaluating Internet Sources - UBC Library