Skip to main content

COMM 525 - Introduction to Behavioural Research For Business

About RefWorks

Refworks is the citation management tool officially supported by UBC Library and is free to use for UBC students, faculty, and alumni.

Refworks has an online interface that can be used to collect and organize your citations, and a plugin, Write-N-Cite, for Microsoft Word that helps you format your citations and easily integrate them into your work.

Importing Citations

  • Importing from a particular database:

    • Search for specific database under the “Indexes and Databases” tab on the library website.

    • Each database page contains instructions on how to import citations into RefWorks.

  • If an import is not going through, make sure you don’t have pop-ups blocked on the RefWorks website.

  • You can search and import from other databases within RefWorks (Search > Online Catalog or Database)

Navigating the RefWorks Website

  • Use View > All References to return to the main screen.
    Upload and save PDFs of articles or other resources to the RefWorks website so they’re available to you from any computer.
  • Click on the “Edit” icon next to a particular reference and scroll down to the “Attachments” section of the editing window.
  • Organize your citations into folders.
    Use Bibliography > Output style manager to select your favorite citation styles so you don’t have to scroll through the full list every time you create a bibliography.

Using Write-N-Cite

Write-N-Cite is the RefWorks plugin that enables you to insert citations from RefWorks into MS Word as you write your paper. On Word for Mac, it's a small, floating toolbar. On Word for Windows, it's a ribbon.

Some other changes include:
• No more curly bracket placeholders! Your paper will be formatted as you work, but you can still change the citation style at any point in your writing process.
• You can easily edit citations as you insert them to hide or add information as you need.

 When you select Insert or Edit a citation, a window will appear with many more options:
• View reference by folder, or sorted by author, date, or article title
• Insert several citations at a time by simply double clicking each reference
• References that have already been included will be greyed out
• Search all references from the top right-hand bar

 Write-N-Cite will automatically insert the appropriate fields for your chosen style, but you can override these settings by editing a reference:
• Hide the year or author if you've already mentioned them in-text
• Suppress the page numbers, or alter them from the original citation
• Include a citation as a footnote, or keep it out of the text all together but include it in your bibliography
• Add additional information:
• Fields will be greyed out when not applicable to your chosen style.
• All changes will appear right away in the Preview Citation window.

If your chosen style has a rule about which order citations should appear in, they will be placed in that order. If you need to change the order, tick "Override default ordering" at the bottom. You can then use the arrows to re-order your citations.