Key Resources
- CSA OnDemand StandardsFull text access to Canadian Standards Association (CSA) Standards. NOTE: CSA standards can be downloaded as PDFs on-campus only or on the VPN using Adobe Acrobat Reader.
- Techstreet This link opens in a new windowOnline access to selected ISO Standards and a selection of other standards from AASHTO, IEC, ASME, and BSI.
- ASTM Compass This link opens in a new windowIncludes a digital edition of nearly every ASTM International book and paper spanning 140+ industries and 100+ years including books, journals, Special Technical Publications (STPs) and standards.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThe IEL database provides fulltext access to more than 140 technical journals, over 1000 standards, and approximately 900 annual conference proceedings published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.
- IBR Standards PortalSelected ISO and other standards are available in the ANSI IBR Standards Portal. Click the "IBR Standards" tab to see what's available. Includes standards from ISO, IEC, API, ASHRAE and more.
Looking for more CSA standards?
CSA's OnDemand database is the first place you should look for CSA standards. However, there are additional sources for CSA standards as well.
- Superseded CSA Standards (195? - 1995) are in the ASRS storage in the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre. Request these through the Library's CSA Standards Collection online record. Note: When selecting the appropriate box, scroll through the entire list of holdings to find the superseded standards.
- The CCOHS database has many CSA standards in their Legislation section
- The CSA Community Group (free registration required) provides some view access to a selection of standards.
If you are unable to find what you're looking for, contact a librarian under the Getting Started page in this guide.
Energy Codes
2012 International Energy Conservation Code with ASHRAE 90.1 by ISBN: 9781609830915Publication Date: 2011-08-04
The National Energy Code of Canada for Buildings (NECB 2015)
The NECB outlines the minimum energy efficiency levels for all new buildings and offers more flexibility for achieving code compliance. It was last updated in December 2018.
Freely Available Standards - COVID 19
Many standard development organizations (SDOs) have made medical device supply and personal protective equipment standards freely available in response to the global health crisis. The following list will be updated weekly.
AAMI - Includes standards for masks, gowns, gloves, ventilators and sterilization. https://www.aami.org/news-resources/aami-coronavirus-updates/coronavirus-resources-for-the-field,
ANSI - Expanding their standard portal, ANSI has opened up relevant IEC standards in a read-only format for the duration of the crisis. To access the portal, users must accept the license agreement and register. Once registered, users can return to the portal via https://asc.ansi.org.
CSA - To access CSA freely available standards, create an account at CSA Communities and select the "View Standards." option. https://www.csagroup.org/news/covid-19-response-standards-handbooks/
ISO - Is providing free access in a read-only format for standards related to protective gloves, lung ventilators, medical devices, protective clothing, medical electrical equipment, respiratory protective devices and more: https://www.iso.org/covid19
For other standards please refer to the pages in this guide. UBC Library maintains a standards collection on the Techstreet platform and can add additional standards to this collection. If you do not find what you are looking for here, contact one of the librarians under the Getting Started page.