Key Resources
If you have a specific article you're searching for, Summon is a good place to start. Summon lets you simultaneously search the Library's book collection and many full text journal articles.
If you're searching for articles on a topic, you'll probably want to search a database which is more focused on engineering than Summon. Here are some starting points for finding engineering journal articles or conference proceedings. Look for the UBC eLink icons to check for full text articles.
- Compendex Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowPremier engineering database, covering the core literature of the engineering field, including related specialties and technologies.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowSearch citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Can also be used for cited reference searches, citation analysis of research and searching by affiliation.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFrom off-campus, use this link to Google Scholar to activate UBC eLinks to full text.
More Databases
You may also want to search the following databases. Please note that not all of the articles you find in these databases will be available full text. You can check in Summon or the UBC Library Catalogue - or ask a librarian - to see if older articles are available in print at the Library. If UBC does not have an article, you can usually request it through Interlibrary Loan at no charge.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (AESD) This link opens in a new windowThe Agricultural & Environmental Science database (AESD) facilitates in-depth research and comprehensive literature reviews across the earth, atmospheric & aquatic sciences. Includes Agricola.
- ASCE Research Library This link opens in a new windowMost of the articles here can be found in Compendex, but going directly to the ASCE Digital Library lets you browse ASCE journals and conference proceedings.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of international research literature on geology and the geosciences.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowAccess to Chemical Abstracts 1907-present. Use For: chemistry and chemical engineering, biochemistry, biotechnology, electrochemistry, metallurgy and materials science and pharmacology.
- TRID This link opens in a new windowThe TRID database provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide. It includes references to books, technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles and on-going research in the field of transportation.
- Earthquake Engineering Online ArchiveYou can sign up for a $25 personal subscription, or contact sarah.parker@ubc.ca if you need occasional papers from here.
- National Transportation LibraryThe U.S. based NTL's collection can be found in the Repository & Open Science Access Portal that contains full text publications, datasets and other resources.
- The Lens combines both global patent and scholarly knowledge into a public resource. It serves over 200 million scholarly records and links to ORCID. All Lens data is fully open, shareable, and reusable. Lens.org offers robust discovery, analytics and management tools, including APIs for scholarly works, patents, and patent sequence data, Create/save queries, create collections, customize data analysis and visualizations, create interactive reports and download up to 50,000 records at a time.