Law - Chinese Law

Collection of English language materials on Asian laws available throughout the world and includes books, chapters in books, journal articles and theses.

Provides a general description of the legal system and legal information for the PRC. Includes a detailed list of resources for China legal research.

A thorough guide to finding print and electronic resources on Chinese law.

Listing of research guides on finding Chinese law. Also includes a link to citation guidelines for Chinese language materials.

Includes useful facts about China and its legislative, political, and judicial systems.

Provides an overview of the legislative and judicial systems of China.

For English site, click English. Contains court news and substantial legal information, including information on the Grand Justices, and the judicial system. The "Laws & Regulations" section is a warehouse of current laws, regulations, rules, and other documents. Keyword searchable.

Predominantly a paid subscription website but some information is available for free, i.e.: selected English translations of Chinese laws & regulations, full-text of the Chinese government's white papers, the table of contents of the Gazettes of the NPC, the State Council, the Supreme Court, and the Ministry of Foreign Trade and Economic Cooperation, plus an index to four major Chinese legal periodicals.

An official publication of the State Council Gazettes, white papers, and work reports.

The "Courts & Case-Law" section contains a large number of judgments. Coverage varies with the court. Keyword searchable.

Offers access to current news about China, current legislation and policy updates, government white papers and work reports, plus information about Chinese history, politics, economics, and culture.

Offers information and data in English. Also provides a list with links to the other government agencies.

Provides links to state and municipal government sites.

The official news agency in China. Some information is free, but the Chinese law database is fee-based.

The only other news agency in China. It is supervised by the Oversea Chinese Affairs Office of the State Council. (Chinese only).

An up-to-date news website published by the State Council Information Office and the China International Publishing Group in Beijing.

Contains an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources. Areas covered include Central Eurasia, China, East Asia, Near East & South Asia. WCN covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical and environmental issues and events. Numerous English translations of Chinese new laws and regulations are included. New information is generally available within two to three days of original publication or broadcast. WCN continues FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service) electronic index.

One of the Chinese official daily English newspapers. It includes a full-text search engine.

Published by the Chinese central government, contains news and reviews. The site provides access to brief versions of the current issue and its Archive provides access to previous issues (2003 No. 52 - 2006 No. 50 and 2006 No. 51 - present).

The English version of the People's Daily, the official paper of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China.

Co-sponsored by Shanghai's major newspapers, television stations and radio stations and focuses on Shanghai local news.

Has a legislative mandate to monitor human rights and the development of the rule of law in China, and to submit an annual report to the President & the Congress. It is a great resource for tracking current legal issues in China.

Provides news and resources to introduce China's laws to English speakers, under the guidance of the Ministry of Justice.

Edited by Professor Donald Clarke of George Washington University Law School and covers a broad range of topics such as privacy, anti-competition, human rights, and labour. Previously Chinese Law Prof Blog.

Contains entries written by writers/journalists who report for TIME.