This guide highlights some resources that can be used for researching legal international resources. Instructions for accessing library databases from off-campus are available here. Also check out the Chinese Studies Guide from the Asian Library.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________ CONTACT A LIBRARIAN FOR HELP: UBC Law Library Reference Staff
Asian Law Centre Links - China (University of Melbourne) A bibliography of websites arranged by subject. Asian Law Centre Bibliography - China (University of Melbourne) An extensive list of English language materials on Chinese laws and includes books, chapters in books, journal articles and theses. It does not include newspapers, magazines, conference papers or unpublished articles.
Research Guides: Guides to help research, find, and update law (primary and secondary sources) using both print and electronic resources.
A Complete Research Guide to the Laws of the People's Republic of China (PRC) (LLRX.com) Provides a general description of the legal system and legal information for the PRC. Includes a detailed list of resources for China legal research. Chinese Legal Research (University of Washington) A thorough guide to finding print and electronic resources on Chinese law. How To Find Laws of the People's Republic of China: A Research Guide with Selective Annotated Bibliographies (Updated Fall 2004) Overview of primary and secondary sources of Chinese law and updating them. China Legal Sources Research Guide (Georgetown Law Library) Extensive list of print, journals, databases and websites.
Background Information: General overview including statistics, facts, and its legislative, political, and judicial systems.
China Internet Information Center - About China Includes useful facts about China and its legislative, political, and judicial systems. Chinese Central Government Factfile Gives an extensive overview of China and its industries. National People’s Congress Provides an overview of the legislative and judicial systems of China.
CHINACOURT (Supreme Court of PRC) | English Contains court news and substantial legal information, including information on the Grand Justices, and the judicial system. The "Laws & Regulations" section is a warehouse of current laws, regulations, rules, and other documents. Keyword searchable. Westlaw Canada A bilingual database with comprehensive laws, regulations, cases and model contracts and legal journals, as well as up-to-date legal news and development in China. LawInfoChina Predominately a paid subscription website. Some information is available free, i.e.: selected English translations of Chinese laws & regulations, full-text of the Chinese government's white papers, the table of contents of the Gazettes of the NPC, the State Council, the Supreme Court, and the Ministry of Foreign Trade and Economic Cooperation, plus an index to four major Chinese legal periodicals. National People's Congress Law and Regulation Database An online database of laws and regulations enacted by the NPC and its Standing Committee and the State Council. Chinese Central Government An official publications of the State council Gazettes, white papers, and work reports. WorldLII - China (World Legal Information Institute) The "Courts & Case-Law" section contains a large number of judgments. Coverage varies with the court. Keyword searchable.
China.org.cn Offers access to current news about China, current legislation and policy updates, government white papers and work reports, plus information about Chinese history, politics, economics, and culture. National Bureau of Statistics of China Offers information and data in English. Also provides a list with links to the other government agencies. Chinese Central Government Provides links to state and municipal government sites.
China Law Digest A free website, requiring registration. Its purpose "is to offer the latest news on legal developments and judicial reform to domestic and foreign subscribers interested in Chinese legal issues...." The site focuses on: social justice; constitutional reform and the advancement of the rule of law; legal and social development; and Sino-foreign exchanges on judicial and legal reform. China View (Xinhua News Agency) The official news agency in China. Some information is free, but the Chinese law database is fee-based. Chinese News Net (China News Agency) The only other news agency in China. It is supervised by the Oversea Chinese Affairs Office of the State Council. (Chinese only) China Internet Information Center An up-to-date news website published by the State Council Information Office and the China International Publishing Group in Beijing. World News Connection (WCN) Contains an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources. Areas covered include Central Eurasia, China, East Asia, Near East & South Asia. WCN covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical and environmental issues and events. Numerous English translations of Chinese new laws and regulations are included. New information is generally available within two to three days of original publication or broadcast. WCN continues FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service) electronic index. China Daily One of the Chinese official daily English newspapers. It includes a full-text search engine. Beijing Review Published by the Chinese central government, contains news and reviews. The site provides access to brief versions of current issue and its Archive provides access to previous issues (2003 No. 52 - 2006 No. 50 and 2006 No. 51 - present). People's Daily Online The English version of the People's Daily, the official paper of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China. EastDay.com Co-sponsored by Shanghai's major newspapers, television stations and radio stations and focuses on Shanghai local news. Congressional-Executive Commission on China Has a legislative mandate to monitor human rights and the development of the rule of law in China, and to submit an annual report to the President & the Congress. It is a great resource for tracking current legal issues in China. Ministry of Justice of PRC Provides news, legislative developments, descriptions of "state organs" and the legal system. Unfortunately, its Chinese Law Search feature is not in English.
Chinese Law Prof Blog Edited by Professor Don Clarke of George Washington University Law School and covers a broad range of topics such as privacy, anti-competition, human rights, and labour. The China Blog By TIME publication and contains entries written by writers/journalists, most of who report for TIME Asia.
Law Courses & Schools: Law courses and study programs on Chinese law offered in North America and Overseas.
Chinese Law Courses Offered by North American Law Schools (Internet Chinese Legal Research Center, Washington University School of Law, Library) A list of Chinese Law courses with brief descriptions. Summer Study Programs of Chinese Law in China or Hong Kong (Internet Chinese Legal Research Center, Washington University School of Law, Library) List of summer programs hosted in Mainland China and Hong Kong.
Internet Resources: Law (University of Hong Kong Libraries) Click on Law, then select one of the subcategories which appears. NOTE: The lists intermix free internet resources with licensed electronic resources restricted to the HKU community. For the UBC community, search under UBC Law Library's "Indexes & Databases" to check whether UBC subscribes to these resources. Asian Law Centre Links - Hong Kong (University of Melbourne) A bibliography of websites arranged by subject. Currently updated. Asian Law Centre Bibliography - Hong Kong (University of Melbourne) An extensive list of English language materials on Hong Kong law and includes books, chapters in books, journal articles and theses. It does not include newspapers, magazines, conference papers or unpublished articles. Search - GovHK (Government of Hong Kong Special Administrative Region) This search engine allows you to search all or part of the HKSAR government website.
Research Guides: Guides to help research, find, and update law (primary and secondary sources) using both print and electronic resources.
Hong Kong Legal Sources Research Guide (Georgetown Law Library) Extensive list of print, journals, databases and websites.
Background Information: General overview including statistics, facts, and its legislative, political, and judicial systems.
Hong Kong - Constitution, Government & Legislation (Jurist, University of Pittsburgh) Provides a good overview of the government and the legal system of Hong Kong. GovHK (HKSAR Government) Summarizes the government in Hong Kong and provides a directory of links to government agencies and departments.
BLIS - Bilingual Laws information System: the database of the laws of Hong Kong (Department of Justice of Hong Kong) Includes the statutory Laws of Hong Kong and selected constitutional documents. Provides strong searching and browsing capabilities. Currently updated. The Basic Law of HKSAR (HKSAR Government) Provides the full-text, history and other related information on the Basic Law of the Hong Kong SAR (Constitutional document). Historical Laws of Hong Kong Online ( University of Hong Kong) A full-text image database providing access to past revised editions of Hong Kong Laws. Advanced browsing and searching capabilities are provided. Hong Kong Special Administration Region Legislative Council Official website of the Legislative Council of HKSAR. Legislative documents (proposals, bills, procedures, etc.) are available.
HKLII Databases (Hong Kong Legal Information Institute) The "Court & Tribunal judgments" section contains a large number of judgments. Coverage varies with the court. Keyword searchable. Hong Kong Judiciary Judgments (HKSAR Government) A database containing selected judgments delivered since 1982 by the six major courts in Hong Kong. Browse by topic or search by citation and/or keywords.
Asian Law Centre Links - Taiwan (University of Melbourne) A bibliography of websites arranged by subject. Currently updated. Asian Law Centre Bibliography - Taiwan ( University of Melbourne) An extensive list of English language materials on Chinese law in Taiwan and includes books, chapters in books, journal articles and theses. It does not include newspapers, magazines, conference papers or unpublished articles.
Research Guides: Guides to help research, find, and update law (primary and secondary sources) using both print and electronic resources.
Taiwan Legal Research at the University of Washington (Marian Gould Gallagher Law Library, University of Washington School of Law) A thorough research guide for Chinese law in Taiwan. Includes guidelines on research strategy and a bibliography.
Background Information: General overview including statistics, facts, and its legislative, political, and judicial systems.
Taiwan (Republic of China) (Jurist, University of Pittsburgh) Outlines the Constitution, government and legislation of Taiwan.
Constitution of the Republic of China (Taiwan) Gives a brief history of the Constitution of Taiwan, and the full-text of the Constitution and additional articles. Laws & Regulations Database of The Republic of China (Ministry of Justice) Search laws: search using keyword(s) in English or Chinese. Browse laws: organized by government department, the laws are listed in reverse chronological order. Legislative Yuan The supreme legislative organization of the State, equivalent to a parliament in other democracies. It consists of members elected by the people. Executive Yuan The highest administrative organization of the State. Full text access of the Gazette is available (Chinese only). WorldLII - Taiwan (World Legal Information Institute) The "Court & Case-Law" section contains a large number of judgments. Coverage varies with the court. Keyword searchable.