This guide lists selected resources available to you through the UBC Library and on the web. Need more help? Come to meet a Science & Engineering librarian or sign up for a Science and Engineering Library Workshop. Please choose one of the above tabs to find the information you are interested in. For research help in the Life Sciences please contact Lee Anne Bryant. See also the Research Guides: Electrical Engineering Mechanical Engineering Computer Science
Compendex Engineering Village 2 Premier engineering database, covering the core literature of the engineering field, including related specialties and technologies. Web of Science Online access to the Science Citation Index Expanded, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Use for: citation analysis of research journals. IEEE Xplore Digital Library Primary full text database for Electrical and Electronics Engineering, containing journal articles, conference proceedings and standards. SPIE Digital Library Provides access to research on all topics of optics and photonics research published in SPIE journals and conference proceedings. ACM Digital Library Technology-related journals, magazines, newsletters and conference proceedings Use for: Technology topics such as e-commerce, supply chain management, human computer interfaces, RFID, etc. CogNet An online location for the brain and cognitive science community's scientific research and interchange. Covers such fields as artificial intelligence, linguistics, neuroscience, psychology, philosophy and education. PsycINFO (includes full text from PsycARTICLES) Covers psychology and the psychological aspects of various other disciplines. Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations. PubMed (1947 - present) The U.S. National Library of Medicine's free MEDLINE database - the premier index to biomedicine covering 4800+ journals and indexing 19 million citations from 1947 - present. Academic Search Complete A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. COS Funding Opportunities A compiled database of available opportunities for grants, fellowships, prizes and other type of funding. It is an extensive database with opportunities for recipients anywhere in the world, working in any discipline. Opportunity sponsors come from the public and private sector, including local, state and national governments, foundations and societies, and corporations. RefWorks and RefShare - Citation Management Software RefWorks allows users to create personal citation databases by importing references and links from online databases and catalogues.
Look in the UBC Catalogue for books in print and ebooks. Also see the list below for some eBook collections.
ENGnetBASE: Engineering Handbooks Online CRC Handbooks in Civil Engineering; Chemical and Biological Engineering; Mechanical Engineering; Electrical and Computer Engineering; Metals and Materials Engineering. SpringerLink Full-text online access to books and journals published by Springer. Knovel Basic Academic Online handbooks in science and engineering, particularly good for chemistry and related disciplines ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library Includes a digital edition of nearly every ASTM International book and paper spanning 140+ industries and 100+ years including books, journals, Special Technical Publications (STPs) and standards. Books 24x7 - IT and Technical Topics Books24x7 - IT and Technical Topics is a collection of online computer science books dealing with all aspects of information technology including programming languages such as C++ or C#, operating systems such as Linux and Windows XP, applications such as ASP.NET, software such as Excel and Powerpoint, web design, and computer gaming. MATERIALSnetBASE Includes handbooks, dictionaries and encyclopedias that explain the theory, data, and processes shaping diverse materials applications. Covers from ceramics and textiles, to bioscience and pharmacology. ASM Handbooks Online Provides online access to the complete ASM Handbook series including the multi-volume ASM Engineering Materials Handbook and ASM Metals Handbook. Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interaction Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science Short lectures on such topics as Biomedical Engineering, Computer Architecture, Digital Circuits and Systems, Engineers, Technology and Society, Mobile and Pervasive Computing, Solid State Materials and Devices, and more.
cIRcle: UBC's Institutional Repository UBC theses and dissertations submitted after Fall 2007 are available in full text in cIRcle: UBC's Institutional Repository. A project is underway to digitize older UBC theses, starting with 1992. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text Searchable index of dissertations, some theses. The full text of dissertations and theses added to the database since 1997 are available to UBC users. UBC Library FAQ: Dissertations and Theses More information about locating theses and dissertations - OAI, WorldCat, Theses Canada, Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD), Electronic Theses Online Service (EThOS) Project, On-line Database of Dissertations of China (DOC)(Abstracts) and more...