In a recent survey, 82% of business executives said they expect new graduates to be able to: understand the changing business landscape know how industries in sector are responding to social, political, cultural and environmental trends integrate trends into decision-makingSource: Developing Business Skills for the 21st Century, BizEd, Oct 2009 This guide provides resources to help business students conduct career research for business employment and to showcase their skill at integrating these concepts into their employment search. Related Guides: Companies | Company Profiles A-L | Company Profiles M-Z | Consulting Industry
Contact the librarians at David Lam Library, UBC VancouverContact Barbara Sobol at the UBC Okanagan Library
Canada Best Companies to Work for in BC BC Business Online BC Top 100 Companies BC Business Online Canada's 50 Best Managed Companies Deloitte & Touche Canadian Key Business Directory-Dun & Bradstreet Canada HF3223.C25 K49 DAVID LAM LIBRARY Top 1000 Publicly Traded Companies in Canada Globe and Mail. Report on Business Major Firms in Metro Vancouver 2010 Biggest private and public companies in Metro Vancouver, compiled yearly Alberta Rankings AlbertaVenture.com lists of best workplaces, fastest growing companies, etc. Company Research Guide For more directories, please see the "Directories" tab in the Company Research guide. T-Net Directory of the BC Technology Industry
Tip: Another way to access lists of companies can be through industry associations. For example, if you want to contact securities firms in Canada, visit the Investment Regulatory Association of Canada.
International Business Week-Company Lists and Rankings Forbes Lists Variety of ranked lists including global high performers, best private companies, etc. 100 Best Places to Work in IT ComputerWorld.com
Company Rankings Company Research Guide For links to company rankings lists, see the "rankings" tab in the Company Research guide.
Books Latest Books on Cover Letters Knock 'em dead cover letters : great letter techniques and samples for every step of your job search LAM LIBRARY HF5383 .Y378 2008 Résumés, cover letters, networking, and interviewing LAM LIBRARY HF5383 .E424 2007 Cover Letter Magic: Trade Secrets of Professional Resume Writers LAM LIBRARY Reference HF5383 .E4787 2007 202 Great Cover Letters LAM LIBRARY HF5383 .B4354 2008 Gallery of Best Cover Letters LAM LIBRARY and ROBSON SQUARE LIBRARY Reference HF5383 .N618 2007 Dynamite cover letters and other great job search letters ROBSON SQUARE LIBRARY REFERENCE HF5382.7 .K693 1999 175 High Impact Cover Letters LAM LIBRARY REFERENCE HF5383 .B323 2002
Books Latest Books on Resumes How to Write Better Resumes and Cover Letters LAM LIBRARY HF5383.C742 2008 Best Canadian Resumes LAM LIBRARY HF5383 .G722 2007 Gallery of Best Resumes HF5383 .N62 2007 Get the Interview Every Time LAM LIBRARY HF5383 .G7235 2008 Resumes, Cover Letters, Networking & Interviewing HF5383 .E424 2007 Effective High Tech Resumes & Cover Letters LAM LIBRARY HF 5383 P65 1999 No-nonsense resumes : the essential guide to creating attention-grabbing resumes that get interviews & job offers LAM LIBRARY HF5383 .E47895 2006 Resume Kit ROBSON SQUARE LIBRARY HF5383 .B33 2000 What Color is Your Parachute? LAM & ROBSON SQUARE LIBRARIES HF 5383 B56
Books Heard on the Street : quantitative questions from Wall Street job interviews HF5549.5.I6 C73 2009 LAM LIBRARY Top Notch Executive Interviews : how to strategically deal with recruiters, search firms, boards of directors, panels, presentations, pre-interviews, and other high-stress situations HF5549.5.I6 H345 2010 LAM LIBRARY Beat the street II : I-banking interview practice guide HG4534 .B43 2008 LAM LIBRARY Brilliant interview : what employers want to hear and how to say it HF5549.5.I6 J39 2008 LAM LIBRARY You should hire me! : interview secrets to get the job you love HF5549.5.I6 K7185 2008 LAM LIBRARY Next-day job interview : prepare tonight and get the job tomorrow HF5549.5.I6 F368 2005 LAM LIBRARY The complete Q & A job interview book E-Book Ace your case® : consulting interviews HD69.C6 A264 2008 LAM LIBRARY Case in point : complete case interview preparation HD69.C6 C645 2007 LAM LIBRARY Competency-based interviews HF 5549.5 I6 K47 2006 LAM LIBRARY How to get into the top consulting firms : a surefire case interview method HD 69 C6 D375 2009 More Books on Interviewing
Websites Guide To Job Interviewing Resources QuintCareers.com Interviewing Monster.ca McKinsey & Company Practice cases
Image: Wikimedia Commons: http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Handshake_(Workshop_Cologne_%2706).jpeg
AIESEC. International internships for business students CampusAccess.com. Internships Canada. Foreign Affairs. International education and experience grants Canadian Federation of Students. The SWAP Blog. Exchange program for work Canadian International Development Agency. Youth Zone Canadian journalism internships. Includes business publications and paid/unpaid internships Careerjet.ca. Internships for business students Creativejobscentral.ca. Internships
Job Search Engines - General CareerJet.ca Search engine for new Canadian and International jobs Eluta.ca Search engine for new jobs in Canada Indeed.ca "One search. all jobs". Canadian job postings retrieved from newspapers, company sites, associations, etc. Indeed.com "One search. all jobs". U.S. job postings retrieved from newspapers, company sites, associations, etc. Jooble
Canadian Jobs - General BCJobs.ca General BC job postings site with list of recruitment agencies BC Government Job Postings BC Public Service Careers Alberta Job Search Government of Alberta Jobs Vancouver Job Postings Canadian-Universities.net, useful links to company job postings Craigslist Vancouver- Jobs CharityVillage.com search for jobs in the non-profit sector GoodWork Canada Jobs in the areas of peace, sustainability, ecology Ontario Government Jobs Working Canada.com Postings from Canadian newspapers Monster.ca Career Management Portals Workopolis Job opportunities in Canada Job Bank Job listings by employers across Canada from HRDC Federal Government Jobs Monster Hot Jobs.ca SimplyHired.ca University of Toronto Job Boards Jooble.ca Vertical job search engine for jobs across Canada. Searchable by location and/or job.
Jobs outside Canada and including Canada America's Job Bank Search U.S. Job postings CareerBuilder.com Easy to use site with some salary details FutureWorks Staffing solutions, wage funding, training programs in the sciences, engineering, biotechnology, IT, telecom industries Hire Ground Careers Job Opportunities in Western Canada Job Shark International job postings including Canada Online Job Boards A comprehensive list of 100+ online job boards from Canadian HR Reporter TrueCareers Technical and Professional Jobs USAJobs Jobs with the U.S. federal government WetFeet.com U.S. job board founded by Stanford MBAs Working In Australian company that hires workers worldwide WorkopolisCampus.com Job board for students
International jobs Indeed Hong Kong Search engine for Hong Kong jobs 51job.com Jobs in China ChinaHR.com zhaopin.com Japanesejobs.com JobSeekJapan JobsDB.com Jobs in Australia and Asia jobs.ping.sg Jobs in Singapore Google Directory's Asia - Employment webpage Visit for more job postings in Asia
Biotechnology Life Sciences British Columbia Biotechnology jobs BioTalent Canada VIATeC Vancouver Island Advanced Technology Centre job board
Finance Investment Industry Association of Canada Job Board FinancialAdvisory.com Canadian and International Job postings
General Business Caldwell Partners Executive search firm CareerOwl.ca Canadian job search tool for university graduates Odgers Berndtson Executive search firm
IT BrainHunter Inc. Provider of IT and Engineering professional staffing services and solutions in Canada Dice.com Dice, a Dice Holdings, Inc. service, is a leading career site for technology and engineering professionals
Career Centre American Marketing Association Biospace Career Center Jobs in biotech and pharmaceutical industries CareerNET.com Job postings, resumes database, career information, etc. Green Dream Jobs Business jobs with environmentally responsible employers Open Directory Project Business jobs eFinancialCareers.com Jobs in the Money - Finance, accounting, tax, banking, etc. MBA Jungle Open Directory Project Business Jobs Vault.com 30,000 US business, law jobs, and internships by industry and occupation
Technology T-Net British Columbia Hi Tech and IT career listings in British Columbia T-Net Top 100 Tech Companies in BC
Books The top 100 : the fastest-growing careers for the 21st century. HF5382 .T59 2009 LAM LIBRARY 150 best recession-proof jobs HF5382.5.U5 A594 2009 LAM LIBRARY A foot in the door : networking your way into the hidden job market HF5382.7 .H354 2008 LAM LIBRARY Plugged in : the Generation Y guide to thriving at work HF5381 .E585 2008 LAM LIBRARY Successful networking : how to build new networks for career and company progression HF5381 .K39 2010 KOERNER LIBRARY WetFeet insider guide : careers in accounting. HF5616.U5 W47 2008 LAM LIBRARY Make your contacts count: networking know-how for business and career success HF 5381 B143 2007 LAM LIBRARY Managing your placement : a skills-based approach LA LC1072.I58 H473 2005 LAM LIBRARY The WetFeet insider guide to getting your ideal internship LC1072.I58 W48 2003 LAM LIBRARY & E-BOOK
Websites Careers Wall Street Journal eFinancial Careers Canada Job Search and Advice Career Guide to Industries U.S. Bureau of Labour Statistics Working in Canada Government of Canada info on jobs, qualifications, wages, etc. Work Futures BC BC Government guide to careers and required education and training Occupational Outlook Handbook US Bureau of Labor Statistics Riley Guide Free career and employment information Vault.com Company and industry profiles, message boards, job listings, career advice Job Boom Top 100 Websites for Learning and Employment
Self Assessment Career Development E-Manual University of Waterloo CanadianCareers.com Know Yourself Career Planning Resources JobBoom The Top 100 Sites for Learning and Employment
Guides and Search Tools Working in Canada Search job titles to retrieve government info about wages for that occupation BC Work Futures BC Government guide to careers, education and wages Canada Salary Search Allows job seekers and career planners to research salary information from over 5 million job postings in Canada. Wages & Salaries - Labour Market Information Human Resources and Skills Development Canada searchable database of occupations and wages in Canada
Salary Surveys - General CEO Compensation Index by Company AFL-CIO Executive Paywatch Database Job Star Central Links to over 300 online salary surveys Job Star Central Profession Specific Salary Surveys Salary.com Good source for salary profiles; breaks down by industry, position and level; searchable by metropolitan U.S. location.
Salary Surveys - Specific HomeFair.com Salary calculator to compare the cost of living in US cities ARL Salary Survey Association of Research Libraries compiles data covering 12,000 professional positions in ARL libraries. Monster Salary Centre Search by job and province or metropolitan centre. Portico- Salaries Web Resources for advanced professionals The Riley Guide Salary Guides and Guidance Salary.com Weekly Earnings Data US Bureau of Labour Statistics, earnings data by detailed occupation and sex
Canadian Canadian Social Research Salary links Variety of links to information about Canadian earnings, includes links to minimum wage Wages, Salaries & other earnings Statistics Canada
These resources supplement the general career resources listed in this guide. They are for students who are considering careers or searching for internships or employment in supply chain or logistics management.
General Career InfoBooks:• Careers in Supply Chain ManagementDavid Lam Library HD 38.5 C37 2005• Vault Career Guide to Supply Chain ManagementDavid Lam Library HD 38.5 K526 2005aWebsites:• WorkinginCanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada free and authoritative occupational and career informationSuggested job title searches in Working in Canada: Purchasing Agent, Facility Operation & Maintenance Managers, Utilities Managers, Manufacturing Managers, Senior Managers - Goods Production, Utilities, Transportation and Construction• Logistics/Supply Chain Management Industry Overview and Statistical Profile - Industry Canada • Careers in Transportation - Transport Canada • Career Centre. | Video: What in the World is the Global Supply Chain? - Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals.• Careers in Purchasing and Supply Management - Institute for Supply Management
Job BoardsSupply Chain/Logistics Job BoardsThese job boards list jobs in supply chain/logisitics. For some sites, registration or membership is required to view the listings. Canadian• Transportation jobs, Employment and Careers in Canada. - Canadian-Universities.net. Useful links to career pages of Canadian transportation companies• AIPMAC - current job listings. Alberta Institute Purchasing Management Association of Canada• BC Institute PMAC (Purchasing Management Association of Canada) - job postings available to members only• APICS, The Association for Operations Management. Free registration required to view listings• ProLog. The Canadian Professional Logistics Institute. Membership required to view jobs• Logixsource Consulting. Canadian job postings• Career Centre - Supply Chain & Logistics Canada.• TSI Group. Canadian search firm with sample job postings online United States• Dice.com Enter search words such as supply chain to search for US jobs• Institute for Supply Management. Online job postings, but membership required• Institute of Business Forecasting & Planning. Mostly US listings• JobsinLogistics.com. Searchable database by province and state International• Logistics News. UK website listing jobs• Supply Chain Council. Membership required to view job listings• IATA. Careers
Company ListsThis is only a small list of company directories, for a more complete listing, see the "Directories" tab in this guide or the Company Research Guide. • Inbound Logistics. Top 100 3PL providers• Material Handling Industry of America - Membership List. Includes Canadian and US consulting companies• Railserve.com. Railroad consulting, logistics and legal services for the rail industry• Canadian Company Capabilities. Industry Canada. Tip: Choose the "Detailed Search" option to search by keyword, area, size, NAICs code, etc.
Interviewing & Resumes• Ace your case V : business operations questions. HD69.C6 A266 2008 LAM LIBRARY• Real Resumes for Supply and Logistics Jobs HF 5383 R3966 2006 LAM LIBRARY• Vault career guide to supply chain management. HD38.5 .K526 2005a LAM LIBRARY
Executive Recruiting FirmsThese are recruiting firms that specialize in the supply chain/logistics sector. For a general list of search firms in Vancouver, see Business in Vancouver's Book of Lists. • ARZA Employment Services. Local firm specializing in logistics• Atlantic Research Technologies, LLC. Global executive search firm for supply chain industry• BJD Group. UK-based firm• Bristol Associates. Los Angeles firm• Callan Associates, Ltd. Illinois search firm specializing in recruitment of senior supply chain management professionals• F10 Logistics. UK Firm• Robert Walters. Hong Kong based agency• Logixsource.com. Toronto-area recruitment and consulting firm• SearchLogix Group. Atlanta firm specializing in recruitment and placement of logistics professionals• Spencer Stuart. Global executive search firm• Titan Recruitment Solutions. Vancouver agency specializing in management professionals• Trans-Logic. Canadian search firm specializing in management professionals• TSI Group. Toronto area search firm with sample job postings online• UK Agencies. Directory of UK based search firms for supply chain and logistics• Wise Executive Resources. Colorado firm