How to Cite

Citation management tools can be used in your research to collect, organize, store, share, and format citations.

There are many different citation management tools and each has different features. A few of the most popular tools include Mendeley, Zotero, Endnote, and Papers. 

• If you're unsure which citation management tool to use, or need help navigating a tool's features, the UBC Research Commons offers workshops and one-on-one consultations that can help.

NOTE: Citation management tools and databases that allow you to copy and paste formatted citations into your work sometimes produce errors. Regardless of what tool you decide to use it is still your responsibility to check and make sure that the citation has all the required information and is properly formatted.

For more information and guidance on selecting and using different citation management tools, see the Citation Management LibGuide.

Zotero

Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free open-source tool that aims to help you "collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Zotero includes both desktop and browser-based interfaces along with plugins for Microsoft Word and OpenOffice.

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free tool with both web-based and desktop components that includes PDF markup and social networking functionalities. Mendeley also includes plugins for Microsoft Word and OpenOffice.

EndNote

EndNote is a popular paid citation management tool. The full version of EndNote costs money, but there is a free, web-based version within the Web of Science database, called My EndNote Web. My EndNote Web has fewer features than EndNote.

BibCitation

BibCitation is a free citation generator that creates bibliographies, references and works cited. Automatically generate MLA, APA, Chicago and other citations and create an accurate bibliography in one click.

EasyBib

EasyBib allows you to create bibliographies in a variety of different citation styles, including MLA and APA. Visitors can just type in the item they need to cite, and EasyBib will provide the correct citation for each entry.

Citation Builder

Citation Builder allows you to build citations for a variety of information sources in MLA or APA. A free tool from NCSU Libraries.

LaTeX

LaTeX is a document preparation system often used by mathematicians, scientists, and engineers to automatically format documents that comply with thesis and journal formatting requirements. LaTeX has a steep learning curve. A few resources on LaTeX include:

• Learning LaTeX by David F. Griffiths, Desmond J. Higham
• UBC Dissertation Template for LaTeX by Brian de Alwis
• LaTeX Class by Michael McNeil Forbes

source: http://wiki.ubc.ca/Library:How_to_Cite/Citation_Management_Tools