Skip to main content

Special Collections: Canadian Literature

About this Collection

UBC library has a significant collection of little magazines (small press literary magazines), most of which are held in Rare Books and Special Collections. Little magazines, or small magazines, published experimental and non-mainstream writings produced by relatively unknown authors. These magazines were usually not published with the intention of making a profit and were published irregularly. This collection includes not only magazines produced in British Columbia, but also includes most of the important Canadian titles.

Featured Material

Colocating this Collection

Want to explore this collection but don't know where to start? We've created some links that can help you discover the material in this collection.

 

Indexes, Catalogues, and Bibliographies in Print

McNight, David. An Annotated Bibliography of English-Canadian Little Magazines: 1940-1980. MA Thesis; Montreal: Concordia University, 1992.

Meister, Marilyn and Rothstein, Samuel. The Little Magazines of British Columbia: A Narrative Bibliography. Vancouver: University of British Columbia, 1967.

Leverette, Clarke E. Index to Little Magazines of Ontario. London ON: Killaly Press, 1973.

Norris, Ken. The Little Magazine in Canada. Toronto: ECW Press, 1984.


Subject Search

Canadian Literature--Periodicals

Canadian Poetry--Periodicals

Canadian literature--19th century--Periodicals

Canadian literature--20th century--Periodicals

Canadian literature--British Columbia--Periodicals


Special Pamphlets

SPAM Periodical Collection 

  • some of the literary magazines are featured in this ephemera collection

Related Works

Francis, Wynne. "The Little Presses," Canadian Literature 33

Digitized Collections