Academic Search Complete, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.
The most current, comprehensive, and reliable online literature resource. Its materials support interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills. Researchers will find information on authors and their works in all genres and disciplines.
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in over 1700 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals. as well as selected items from over 6,000 scientific and social sciences journals—from 1975 to present.
CBCA Reference provides in depth access to a wide diversity of Canadian periodicals, ranging from academic titles to special interest publications to general magazines. The academic titles include the most prominent journals from the humanities, social sciences, sciences and the professions.
The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore and includes coverage from 1926 to the present. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research from 4,400 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
The collection consists of a three vol. set of Shakespeare's Works (J. Payne Collier, Lupton Pub. New York, n.d.) which Malcolm Lowry has used as notebooks, as well as for annotations on the texts themselves.
Brittain was a Canadian documentary filmmaker through the National Film Board of Canada. He directed, co-wrote, co-produced and narrated the award winning documentary film, Volcano: An Inquiry into the Life and Death of Malcolm Lowry.
This collection includes early and variant editions of Malcolm Lowry's published works and translations of Under the Volcano. As well, there are books and periodicals containing contributions by Lowry; books by his wife and books and periodicals mentioning him or containing reviews and criticism. There is correspondence between the Canadian poet Earle Birney and Thomas J. Jackson concerning the preparation of a bibliography (unpublished) of Lowry's work (1966-1970).
Janine Lowry Singer (1911-2001), whose pen name was Jan Gabrial, was the first wife of British author Malcolm Lowry (1909-1957). An aspiring writer herself, her papers include correspondence, journals, manuscripts, photographic negatives, and typescripts of Malcolm Lowry's unpublished novel, "In Ballast to the White Sea."
2017 marks the seventieth anniversary of the publication of Malcolm Lowry’s great modernist novel Under the Volcano, and the sixtieth anniversary of Lowry’s death. This two-day international conference, scheduled to be held on July 28-29, 2017, will explore the legacy of Lowry’s work, his literary status today and his ongoing role as source of inspiration to creative writers and artists across various disciplines.