Skip to main content

Music

Encyclopedias

BIbliographies

Library of Congress Classification Headings

ML21 C

Directories to music resources in Canada

ML120 C2

Bibliographies - Canada

ML205

Music - Canada - History and criticism

ML3484

Popular music - Canada - History and criticism

ML3509 C

Jazz - Canada - History and criticism

ML3563

National music - Canada

MT3 C

Music education in Canada

Databases

Canadian music is covered in many journals of interest to the general reader. The indexes below will provide relevant citations and sometimes full text of articles not found in the music-specific databases above.

Other Libraries

Canadian Music Centre / Centre de musique canadienne

Canadian Music Centre - British Columbia Region
837 Davie Street
Vancouver, BC
V6Z 1B7

Tel: 604.734.4622
Email: bcregion@musiccentre.ca
BC Region Archives: archive.bccreativehub.com
Digital Magazine: cmcmagazine.com

Office Hours

Monday to Friday, 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM.

 

Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada: http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/

The LAC has created several excellent sites dedicated to Canada’s music and musicians based on its collections. The Music and Performing Arts site (in French or English) guides the visitor through these resources. http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/Pages/home.aspx

 

Richard Johnston Canadian Music Archives Collection: http://asc.ucalgary.ca/collections/archival/music

This collection houses the archives of a number of Canadian composers, musicians, music educators and music societies.