Skip to main content

Children's Literature

A guide to locating information and research resources about literature for children and youth.

Kids E-Books

ABRACADABRA
ABRACADABRA (A Balanced Reading Approach for Children Always Designed to Achieve Best Results for All) is an online, highly interactive, evidence-based literacy tool designed for students, teachers, educators, and parents. 

Accessible Books
A collection of teacher and student-made accessible books and extension activities.

Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature
Digitized versions of children's books published in Great Britain and the United States from the early 1700s through the current year (scanned images).

Big Universe
Hundreds of fiction and non-fiction books for children in grades K-8. Many of the informational texts could be useful for countent area reading and the books are written like graphic novels. Picture books for older readers did not seem to be available.

BookPals - performing artists for literacy in schools
191 stories read by members of the screen actors guild (and others). Stories are read and displayed through streaming video. Additional story resources are also available including stories by phone and guest story readers for schools.

CBeebies Story Circle
Over 80 stories and activity books for preschool childrenChildren’s Books Forever

Children's Books Forever
Collection of 12 picture books (pdf format) - available in multiple languages.

Children's Books Online
Largest collection of illustrated antique books ont he internet

Children's Digital Library
A digital library of children's books from around the world.

Classic Books: Read.gov (Library of Congress)
Bygone eras, time-honored tales and historical narratives.

Global-ASP Translator--Global African Storybook Project
Easy-to-use and accessible translation system to help automate the process of translating African Storybook Project stories into other languages for Global-ASP

International Children's Digital Library (ICDL)
Collection of outstanding historical and contemporary book from around the world.

Lit2Go
Audiobooks for young adult readers.

Project Gutenberg
Large collection of free e-books for all ages.  Books are free because their copyright has expired and they are part of the public domain.

Scholastic's Listen & Read
Short, high-interest, nonfiction stories from Scholastic News boost early reading skills and support differentiated reading and ELL students.

Storia by Scholastic
Storia is an app for iPhone, iPod or iPad.  Large collection of picture books for young children and chapter books or novels for older students. 

Story Nory Audio Stories for Kids
Free audio stories for kids.

Storybooks Canada
Designed specifically for educators and makes 40 stories from the African Storybook available in English and French, as well as the major immigrant and refugee languages of Canada​.

Tab.Vue e-Books
A curated collection of e-books for kids.

Tumble Books
A collection of picture books for kids.

Unite For Literacy
Free digital access to picture books, narrated in many languages

Novels

  • Faster than wind. (2009). Toronto [Ont.]: Dundurn Press.
  • Ghost messages. (2011). Regina: Coteau Books for Kids.
  • Journey to Atlantis. (2009). Vancouver [B.C.]: Ronsdale Press.
  • Mud City http://site.ebrary.com/lib/ubc/docDetail.action?docID=10376531&p00=juvenile%20fiction
  • My Name is Seepeetza. http://site.ebrary.com/lib/ubc/docDetail.action?docID=10376376&p00=juvenile%20fiction
  • Run, Marco, Run. (2011). Vancouver [B.C.]: Ronsdale Press.
  • Warbird.  (2010). Toronto: Napolean Pub.