Research Guides: Education Research Guide: Tests & Measures

Database Sources

Mental Measurements Yearbook (now includes Tests in Print) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments - personality, aptitude, neuropsychology, achievement, intelligence, etc. The full text of the tests is not included.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Database of evaluation and measurement tools used in health and psychosocial studies.
User limit: 5 maximum

ETS Test Link
Information about more than 25,000 "tests and other measurement devices". ETS has permission to distribute over 1,200 tests in the collection via download, for a fee. Follow the instructions on the Advanced Search screen to Search for a Downloadable Test.
Measurement Instrument Database for the Social Sciences
Includes the full text of more than 500 instruments from across the social sciences, uploaded by researchers themselves.
NIH Toolbox
Set of brief measures - many freely available in full text - for assessing cognitive, emotional, motor and sensory function from ages 3 to 85.
PRTC Test Library
Collection of standardized tests, assessments, and reference materials maintained by the UBC Faculty of Education's Psychoeducational Research & Training Centre (PRTC), located in Scarfe 1121. The catalogue is open for searching, but use of materials is restricted to qualified UBC faculty and students.

PsycInfo (includes full text from PsycArticles) This link opens in a new window
Covers psychology and the psychological aspects of various other disciplines. Indexes journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports and dissertations. Scroll down this page to see how to limit your search to find tests and measures appended - in full text - to articles.
ERIC (EBSCO interface) This link opens in a new window
This education index includes some tests and measures. See the bottom of this guide for helpful instructions on limiting your searching to the appropriate publication type.

Theses & Dissertations
Sometimes tests and measures are reprinted in theses and dissertations. The Theses and Dissertations Guide lists resources for finding theses from around the world. For example, you can search for your test of interest in UBC theses and dissertations or Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global.

Books about psychological tests typically include descriptions of tests, but often do not contain the tests themselves. For a breakdown of tests that are available in books, please consult Tests and measures in the social sciences: Tests available in compilation volumes.

To find additional books: In the Catalogue, use a Subject search for "Psychological Tests" or "Educational Tests and Measurements"

Psychological testing: An introduction
Online | Cambridge University Press, c2006

An "appended" test is available in full text.

To find an appended test in PsycINFO -

- In the first search box, enter keywords or the name of the test/instrument

- In the second search box, enter the word "appended" and select TM (Test & Measures) from the drop-down menu

- In the first box, enter keywords or the name of the test/instrument.

- Scroll down the page to Publication Type and select Tests/Questionnaires

Despite the title, "the first section of the handbook covers psychometric aspects of testing", applied in all applications of testing.

Vol. 2: Testing and assessment in clinical and counseling psychology.

Sage Research Methods contains 175,000 pages from Sage books and journal articles, including information about testing and measurement.