Anatomy Images and Multimedia Resources
Credits, Copyright and Disclaimer
With special thanks to the librarians at McGoogan Library of Medicine, University of Nebraska Medical Center for sharing their annotated bibliography, Medical Images on the Web and to Teresa Lee, UBC Librarian for compiling the beginnings of these resources.
Please review and respect copyright conditions for individual resources. Some resources included in this guide use Creative Commons Copyright licenses and are indicated with a hyperlinked Creative Commons logo 
. In some cases, copyright information has also been included in the more information section, please click on the blue beside the links.
For copyright and image information, please visit the Copyright at UBC and Image Sources websites.
These resources are compiled for supplemental information purposes only and should not be considered as endorsed by the UBC Medical Doctor Undergraduate Program.
UBC licensed resources with multimedia
- Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination, 5th edition (Streaming Videos) This link opens in a new windowBates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination is an updated collection of online videos of the classic textbook on physical examination and history taking.
- Concept Media Streaming Video Collection This link opens in a new windowA streaming collection of health videos. Covers topics such as 3-lead EKG, respiratory disorders, cardiac disorders, dementia, diabetes, elder issues, infection control, respiratory disorders, & urine elimination.
- Journals@OVID - LWW This link opens in a new windowE-journal collection covering medicine, nursing, rehabilitation sciences and dentistry.
General Image Resources
- Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)A searchable and browsable database of "over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education"
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)Photographs, Illustrations, Multimedia Files from the Center for Disease Control and Prevention.
- Mind the Gap: A handbook of clinical signs in Black and Brown skinMukwende, M., Tamony, P., & Turner, M. (n.d.) St. George’s, University London.
Thyroid Gland Examination
Abdominal examination
Anatomy multimedia - with quizzes
- The Digital Anatomist ProjectInteractive anatomy atlases produced by the Structural Informatics Group at the University of Washington, Seattle. Access to atlases of brain, neuroanatomy, thoracic viscera, and knee. Features include labels and outlines, quizzes and movies.
Anatomy multimedia - case studies
- MRI Teaching File - body, cardiac, MSK, and breast casesAmerican College of Radiologists, Resident and Fellow Section.
- University of Michigan: Gross Anatomy Learning ResourcesUniversity of Michigan Medical School. Interactive anatomy images with quiz type questions. Scroll down and choose List of Dissections or More Resources. Click on the blue "i" (More Information) link to view copyright information.
Anatomy videos
- Gross anatomy videosFrom the Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology at Dalhousie University. First-year medical and dental students can watch their way through complex concepts of Head & neck anatomy tailored to their by transforming their computers into virtual microscopes.
Anatomy Images
- Anatomy of the Human Body by Henry GrayFree online book featuring 1,247 vibrant engravings--many in color--from the classic 1918 publication of Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body. Also includes a subject index of ~13,000 entries.
- Anatomia: Anatomical Plates from the Thomas Fisher Rare Book LibraryThis collection features approximately 4500 full page plates and other significant illustrations of human anatomy selected from the Jason A. Hannah and Academy of Medicine collections in the history of medicine, University of Toronto.
- AnatQuest: Anatomic Images OnlineFrom the U.S. National Library of Medicine's Visible Human Project, AnatQuest is a web-based interface for viewing high resolution Visible Human anatomical images.
- The John Martin Rare Book RoomCreated by the Rare Book division of the Hardin Library for the Health Sciences at the University of Iowa. Access to various digital albums of images in the history of medicine, including anatomical plates by Pietro da Cortona (1596-1669) and Paolo Mascagni (1752-1815) and the anatomical "flap book" of Johan Remmelin (1583-1632).
- The Visible Human ProjectA project of the National Library of Medicine. Provides access to MRI, CT and anatomical images of the human female and male.
The Anatomist
The Anatomist' by Thomas Rowlandson (1756-1827) can be found in Medical caricatures in Rare Books & Special Collections at WZ330 .R69 1971.