Skip to main content

RefWorks

Legacy RefWorks - Sharing

New RefWorks - Sharing

1. Click the Share & Export icon or the Sharing menu item to start. 

Share & Export

 

2. Select the collection to be shared and the groups with who you will share it.

Remember, when you share a collection any sub-collections are also shared. 

Sharing Settings - Choose a Collection

 

3. Type the email address of the person (add one at a time) and select the level of access for the person you're inviting

Level of access for sharing

 

4. Optionally, add a personal note.

5. Click Share Collection

If the person you are sharing the collection with does not have a RefWorks account, they will be asked to create one. 

Viewing a collection's sharing status

To view what collections you have shared, look for the sharing icon next to the collection name.

By selecting Sharing Settings from the menu, you can access the settings for your shared collection to modify them.

 Sharing Settings

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In the Sharing Settings you can also:

  • change the sharing from "private" to "institution" (which gives everyone in your institution access to your collection)
  • change individual access levels at any time after inviting someone
  • remove individuals from your collection by clicking the "x" to the right of each address in the list. 

Credit for above information: http://proquest.libguides.com/newrefworks/sharing​

Sharing and Collaborating using Google Docs

Google makes it easy to collaborate with others on your paper.  Now you can take that a step further, by collaborating with other RefWorks users!

Share your Google Doc with anyone who has a RefWorks account and in addition to adding and editing text to your document, they can also add in-text citations and footnotes from their RefWorks account.   You can even collaborate using the same set of references by sharing your RefWorks collection with your collaborators.

Note:  Anyone you share with can also delete in-text citations you’ve included in your document, however, they cannot delete references from your RefWorks account.