Skip to main content

RefWorks

Using Write-N-Cite to Format Your Paper

Write-N-Cite is a plug-in that allows access to your  RefWorks account from within Microsoft Word.

With Write-N-Cite, you can cite references in your paper with just a click and your paper will instantly format in-text citations, footnotes and your bibliography.  The plug-in installs a RefWorks tab in the MS Word ribbon or you can access it from the References tab in Microsoft Word.

Working online or offline is seamless – no need to be connected to the internet – and you can share documents between the Windows and Mac versions of Write-N-Cite seamlessly.

Download Write-N-Cite from the Tools menu in RefWorks. You will also need to ensure that your computer has the latest version of Microsoft Word, Java, and Visual Studios Tools for Windows.

Please note that Write-N-Cite is not currently compatible with Word 2016 for Mac. Mac users with Word 2016 should consult this guide for a workaround.

Legacy RefWorks Write-N-Cite

New RefWorks Write-N-Cite

or system requirements and compatibility information, please visit: http://proquest.libguides.com/newrefworks/format​

Step 1. Download and launch Write-N-Cite

1. Download Write-N-Cite from your New RefWorks account here, under the heading Cite in Microsoft Wordhttps://refworks.proquest.com/tools/ffw/


Note:  The first time you launch Write-N-Cite, you must be connected to the internet in order to log in to your RefWorks library and sync it with Write-N-Cite.

2. Click RefWorks from the Microsoft Word ribbon.

3. Click Login

 4. Use the login window to log into either New RefWorks (email address and password) or Legacy RefWorks (username and password):

Note:  Earlier versions of Word may refer to New RefWorks as Flow. If this is the case, login to Flow.

The first time you log in to Write-N-Cite, it will automatically “sync” with your RefWorks library.  This may take a few seconds. It is downloading your references and collections.  Any time you make changes to your RefWorks items you can click Sync my Database your new and edited items will be added to Write-N-Cite. During this period, you can still access all of Word’s functionality, but the Write-N-Cite functions will not become active until syncing has finished.

Step 2.  Selecting Your Output Style

The first thing you will want to do is select an output style for your document.  Any in-text citations or footnotes and your bibliography will be displayed in your document while you write your paper – in the output style you have selected.  You can always change the style later if you need to.

1. Click the Style drop down. You will see a list of RefWorks' recent styles.

2. Click on the style name.

3. You can change your output style and the formatting of your paper at any time by clicking on another Style in the list and selecting a new output style. Access to other Styles can be gained by using Select Other Style at the bottom of the list.

Step 3.  Write Your Paper, Inserting Citations or Footnotes and Creating Your Bibliography

Note:  You may want to sync your RefWorks library with Write-N-Cite if you have recently added items you want to use in your paper.  Click the Sync my database icon to download new or updated items.

When you are ready to insert an in-text citation or footnote into your paper:

1.  Click the Insert Citation and Insert New option to launch the insert/edit citation box.   You can select citations displayed from this list or access all your references from the Insert New option. 


2. Once the Insert/Edit Citation box displays, you can access your items by Collection or by searching.  The Search box will search every field. You can use “AND” and “OR” when using the search box.  

Tip: Use the horizontal scroll bar to see the full title.  Right-click on the item and select Show Full Reference Detail to display all fields of information (file attachments are not displayed).

3.  Click on the item you wish to insert into your paper.  You will see a preview of the formatted citation in your current Output Style.

Tip:  Add more references to the citation using the plus icon, remove them by using the minus icon, or reorder the references with the up and down arrows in the Compose Citation area.

4. Click OK to insert your formatted citation into your paper.

5. To insert a footnote instead of an in-text citation, click the Make Footnote checkbox in the Edit References area.  Once you make a footnote and finish editing the citation, you will not be able to undo this action.  However, you can always add a new in-text citation.


6. You can insert your bibliography anywhere in your paper while you are writing.  Click Bibliography Options, Insert Bibliography.  Note: the bibliography will be inserted wherever the cursor is in your paper. 

Step 4. Save your formatted paper (you should really save it periodically while you are writing!). 

Above information adapted from: http://proquest.libguides.com/newrefworks/format