Refworks is the citation management tool officially supported by UBC Library and is free to use for UBC students, faculty, and alumni.
Refworks has an online interface that can be used to collect and organize your citations, and a plugin, Write-N-Cite, for Microsoft Word that helps you format your citations and easily integrate them into your work.
To learn more about Refworks at UBC, please click here.
Importing from a particular database:
Search for specific database under the “Indexes and Databases” tab on the library website.
Each database page contains instructions on how to import citations into RefWorks.
If an import is not going through, make sure you don’t have pop-ups blocked on the RefWorks website.
You can search and import from other databases within RefWorks (Search > Online Catalog or Database)
Write-N-Cite is the RefWorks plugin that enables you to insert citations from RefWorks into MS Word as you write your paper. On Word for Mac, it's a small, floating toolbar. On Word for Windows, it's a ribbon.
Some other changes include:
When you select Insert or Edit a citation, a window will appear with many more options:
Write-N-Cite will automatically insert the appropriate fields for your chosen style, but you can override these settings by editing a reference:
If your chosen style has a rule about which order citations should appear in, they will be placed in that order. If you need to change the order, tick "Override default ordering" at the bottom. You can then use the arrows to re-order your citations.