Métis Studies

Launched in 2020, the MNC Historical Online Database allows users to access Métis related archival information, previously only available at Library and Archives Canada (Ottawa) or on microfilm. It is intended for genealogists and Métis to construct Métis family trees using the documents in the database. Providing Métis users with access to their ancestors’ documents facilitates the process of cultural re-connection, identity reclamation, and nation building. The MNC Historical Online Database is also a powerful educational tool for teachers, students, curriculum developers, and the general public.

The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) has over 25,000 records describing electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, photos, archival resources, and maps relevant to Indigenous studies and communities.

Indexes over 10,000 journals, with many full-text articles.
Subject Terms: First Nations, Metis, Inuit, Native Americans, Aboriginal Australians, Indigenous peoples, names of specific nations.
Some articles have no Subject Terms assigned, so also try full-text searches.

Indexes books, journal articles, technical reports, dissertations from the scientific study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.

American and Canadian primary source materials. Mainly textual materials from American libraries (books, articles, pamphlets, oral histories). Indexed for place, event and individuals. Also audio, video, images.

Indexes books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, dissertations and US government articles and includes the citations from the cumulative eight volumes of the Ethnographic Bibliography of North America. Stronger in older ethnological studies than it is in current political studies.