American Boat and Yacht Council
The Standards and Technical Information Reports for Small Craft covers all the major boat systems. ABYC collaborates with safety organizations worldwide such as Transport Canada and the International Organization for Standardization (ISO).
The most recent and complete volume can be found in print at Woodward Library. ABYC Standards and Technical Information Reports.
CSA Standards
- CSA OnDemandThrough UBC Library, you have access to Complete CSA Collection (No IT). In this package you will find, with the exception of IT and Telecommunication standards, a collection of all CSA's standards and standards-related documents such as handbooks, guidelines and commentaries. Includes all current and historical standards in English and French with the exception of IT and Telecommunication standards.Standards updated immediately as they are published.
Note: CSA standards can be downloaded as PDFs on-campus or on the VPN using Adobe Acrobat Reader
Finding Standards in Techstreet
UBC Library provides access to a custom collection standards through Techstreet, a standards aggregator. ISO standards are accessed here as well as a selection of other standards from AASHTO, IEC, ASME, and BSI.
Accessing TechStreet:
You will know you are connected to Techstreet as the UBC logo appears on the page.
Make sure you have FileOpen installed in order to read the PDFs. You can download and install FileOpen from the Dashboard page in the Subscription column (left hand side), under Tools at the bottom of the page (see image below).
Looking for more CSA standards?
Many CSA standards are available in the CCOHS database (Legislation section): http://resources.library.ubc.ca/page.php?id=144
Some additional standards are available through the CSA Community Group (registration required): https://community.csagroup.org/welcome
The Library has also purchased individual print copies of some CSA standards that can be found under the Canadian Standards Association in the library catalogue.
If you are unable to find what you're looking for, please contact one of the librarians under Research Help in this guide.
Additional Standards
- ASTM Compass This link opens in a new windowIncludes a digital edition of nearly every ASTM International book and paper spanning 140+ industries and 100+ years including books, journals, Special Technical Publications (STPs) and standards.
- IEEE Xplore Digital LibraryIEEE Standards: The IEL IEEE Electronic Library provides access to over 3800 current, revised and superseded standards in the field of electrical and computer engineering.
- IBR Standards PortalSelected standards which have been adopted by the US Federal Government are available to view here. Includes standards from ISO, IEC, API, ASHRAE, UL and more.
- SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new windowFull-text SAE standards, both current and historical. Covers research about air, land, sea and space mobility as well as injury biomechanics, accident reconstruction and occupant protection and safety.
Freely Available Standards - COVID 19
Many standard development organizations (SDOs) have made medical device supply and personal protective equipment standards freely available in response to the global health crisis. The following list will be updated weekly.
AAMI - Includes standards for masks, gowns, gloves, ventilators and sterilization. https://www.aami.org/news-resources/aami-coronavirus-updates/coronavirus-resources-for-the-field,
ANSI - Expanding their standard portal, ANSI has opened up relevant IEC standards in a read-only format for the duration of the crisis. To access the portal, users must accept the license agreement and register. Once registered, users can return to the portal via https://asc.ansi.org.
CSA - To access CSA freely available standards, create an account at CSA Communities and select the "View Standards." option. https://www.csagroup.org/news/covid-19-response-standards-handbooks/
ISO - Is providing free access in a read-only format for standards related to protective gloves, lung ventilators, medical devices, protective clothing, medical electrical equipment, respiratory protective devices and more: https://www.iso.org/covid19
For other standards please refer to the pages in this guide. UBC Library maintains a standards collection on the Techstreet platform and can add additional standards to this collection. If you do not find what you are looking for here, contact one of the librarians under the Getting Started page.