Key Resources
If you have a specific article you're searching for, Summon is a good place to start. Summon lets you simultaneously search UBC Library's book collection and many full text journal articles.
If you're searching for articles on a topic, you'll probably want to search a database which is more focused on engineering than Summon. Here are some starting points for finding engineering journal articles or conference proceedings. Look for the UBC eLink icons to check for full text articles.
Can't find an article? Contact me (sarah.parker@ubc.ca).
- Compendex Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowPremier engineering database, covering the core literature of the engineering field, including related specialties and technologies.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowSearch citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Can also be used for cited reference searches, citation analysis of research and searching by affiliation.
- SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new windowCovers research about air, land, sea and space mobility as well as injury biomechanics, accident reconstruction and occupant protection and safety.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFrom off-campus, use this link to Google Scholar to activate UBC eLinks to full text.
- The Lens combines both global patent and scholarly knowledge into a public resource. It serves over 200 million scholarly records and links to ORCID. All Lens data is fully open, shareable, and reusable. Lens.org offers robust discovery, analytics and management tools, including APIs for scholarly works, patents, and patent sequence data, Create/save queries, create collections, customize data analysis and visualizations, create interactive reports and download up to 50,000 records at a time.
Technical Reports
- David Taylor Model Basin ReportsThe David Taylor Model Basin is one of the largest ship model basins - test facilities for the development of ship design - in the world.
- TRAIL Technical Report Archive & Image GallerySearch U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1976 and digitized by TRAIL.
SAE Mobilus listed above also includes full text technical papers from 1906 to the present.
Journals
Key journals in Marine Engineering are listed here.
- Marine StructuresPresents and discusses latest developments in research design, fabrication and in-service experience relating to marine structures. (Ulrichsweb, 2018)
- Ocean EngineeringCovers the design and building of ocean structures; submarine soil mechanics; coastal engineering; ocean energy; underwater instrumentation, marine resources and other related issues. (Ulrichsweb 2018)
- Ships and Offshore StructuresCovers the entire range of issues and technologies related to both ships and offshore structures, with a strong emphasis on practical design, construction and operation. (Ulrichsweb 2018)
A more complete list of journals for marine engineering can be found by searching the category in Journal Citation Reports.
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR) This link opens in a new windowDetermine impact factor, immediacy index, and Eigenfactor metrics for over 11,000 scholarly journals in all areas of science, technology, and social sciences.