The following guide was developed to support students, faculty and researchers in the Institute for Gender, Race, Sexuality and Social Justice access and utilize relevant resources available through UBC Library.
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 548,220 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
An international abstracting service which focusses on education, employment, women in the family and community, medicine/health, role socialisation, social policy, female culture, media treatment of women, biography, literary criticism and historical studies. Both theoretical and empirical materials are abstracted.
A bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Born of the New Left, the API was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change.
Independent Voices is an innovative series of digital collections of the alternative press that are complete runs of newspapers, magazines, and journals drawn from these widely scattered special collections of leading academic libraries.
Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press(Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.
Includes high-quality greyscale images of many thousands of original manuscripts held by libraries and archives on both sides of the Atlantic. Topics covered include the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, social justice issues and the continued existence of slavery today.
Access open only to UBC students, faculty, staff and on-site Library users (other restrictions may apply)Permitted Uses Research or Private Study? Yes Linking? Yes Learning Management System? Yes Printed Course Packs? Yes.
A landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major black leaders in North America. Works by teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures form the corpus. Unlike their white counterparts, black leaders have had to wrestle with the issues of their race alongside the issues of leadership in their chosen professions. They have been forced to defend positions, justify actions, correct perceptions, protest injustice, celebrate cultural achievement, and confront the agenda of a white-dominated society.
Structured into five sections, each containing a substantial body of original source material, together with thematic essays by leading scholars in the field. The collection features 110 documents (books and periodicals) from the early modern period to the nineteenth century. Supporting material includes introductory essays, biographies, and chronologies. Key topics covered are: Conduct & Politeness, Domesticity & the Family, Consumption & Leisure, Education & Sensibility, and The Body.
Brings together more than 100,000 pages of personal stories, many of which are previously unpublished, rare, or hard to find. Fifty-four volumes, representing 15,000 pages, are from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries alone. Additional materials bring coverage through the present day. Virtually all North American regions are represented.
This peer-reviewed journal is devoted to research and criticism on race in the social sciences. It provides a forum for discussion and increased understanding of race and society from a range of disciplines, including but not limited to economics, political science, sociology, anthropology, law, communications, public policy, psychology, and history. Each issue contains an editorial overview, invited lead essays, original research papers, and review essays covering current books, controversies, and research threads.
Feminist Review is a peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journal setting new agendas for feminism. Produced by a Collective, the journal is committed to exploring gender in its relationship to other axes of power including race, class and sexuality.
Providing a much-needed forum for interdisciplinary discussion, GLQ publishes scholarship, criticism, and commentary in areas as diverse as law, science studies, religion, political science, and literary studies. Its aim is to offer queer perspectives on all issues touching on sex and sexuality.
A quarterly Canadian feminist magazine that delivers the inside scoop on the Canadian women's movement: health, activism, the environment and legal cases affecting women. Herizons serves up feminist satire and plenty of news at a glance. Canada’s largest feminist magazine is a unique hybrid of non-profit business, feminist publishing and advocacy journalism. Herizons aims to reflect a philosophy that is diverse, and one that is relevant to women’s daily lives.
A peer-reviewed, ISI-ranked publication, the foremost English language journal on racism and imperialism in the world today. For three decades it has established a reputation for the breadth of its analysis, its global outlook and its multidisciplinary approach.