Skip to main content

Korean Studies Resources: Home

Introduction
 

UBC Asian Library's Korean Studies research guide provides information on Korean materials and resources that are primarily in Korean and English. It is intended for students and faculty in Korean Studies and for others who are interested in learning about Korean culture, history, language, literature, religion, and more. 

Locations of Korean materials:

Search Tips: When searching for materials in Korean, you should search not only in Hangul, but also in Romanized Korean for the best results. Visit the Romanization section of this guide for more information.

 
About the Korean Collection
 

The University of British Columbia established its Korean collection fund in 1992. Since then, the Asian Library's Korean collection has grown to be the largest Korean research collection among Western Canadian universities. It has continuously expanded in the Humanities and Social Sciences, with substantial holdings in language, literature, history, folklore, arts, religions, and North Korean studies. As the collection continues to grow, the library has recently increased materials specifically on Korean history from 1392 to 1864, traditional medicine, textiles and costumes, religions besides Buddhism and Christianity, legislature, and Kyonggi-do with a grant from the Korea Foundation. UBC has been a member of the Korean Collections Consortium of North America (KCCNA) since 2006. Collecting Korea related publications from Western Canada is also a focus of UBC's Korean Collection.

Korean Language Librarian

Lucia Park
Contact:
(604) 822-0840
Contact Us
 

      Official Twitter button

Contact us for any questions or comments!