Skip to main content

Chinese Canadians: Home

Introduction

Information resources on Chinese Canadians are scattered at UBC Libraries and beyond. This subject guide includes some most important sources.

For general research resources regarding Chinese studies, please refer to Chinese Studies Resources.

Related Links

  • Historical Chinese Language Materials in British Columbia: An Electronic Inventory / 加华文献聚珍
    Developed through collaboration of Asian Library, Centre for Chinese Research, UBC and David Lam Centre, SFU, this site offers a comprehensive inventory of historical Chinese language materials in British Columbia, including records of archival materials, virtual exhibition of photo collections, images, and links to related materials.
  • Chinese Canadian Stories: Uncommon Histories from a Common Past / 加华纪事
    CCS is a collaborative multi-disciplinary project between UBC, SFU and community partners and students, which aims at reshaping the way we understand Canada, and reclaiming the forgotten histories of peoples long ignored in Canadian history.
  • Chung Collection, UBC
    The Chung Collection in UBC contains rare and unique items related to immigration and settlement in Canada (especially Chinese immigration), B.C.'s history dated back to the earliest European explorers, and the development of the Canadian Pacific Railway Company and its train, ferry, steamship and tourism operations.
  • Rare Books and Special Collections (RBSC), UBC
    RBSC houses significant collections of rare books, archival materials, historic maps, photographs, broadsides and pamphlets, focusing largely on the history, exploration, settlement, business, politics, ethnicity, and labour in British Columbia.
  • The Chinese in California, 1850-1925
    The Library of Congress presents this collection illustrating nineteenth and early twentieth century Chinese immigration to California through about 8,000 images and pages of primary source materials. Included are photographs, original art, cartoons and other illustrations; letters, excerpts from diaries, business records, and legal documents; as well as pamphlets, broadsides, speeches, sheet music, and other printed matter.

Chinese Canadians