Research Help
Need help? Please don't hesitate to contact me.
Helen Brown, Librarian
Email | Book an Appointment During Office Hours
For quick research help, you can also contact Woodward Library via email and in-person, or use the AskAway chat service.
Key Resources
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowClassic multidisciplinary index to scholarly articles with 'times cited' feature.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowSearch citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Can also be used for cited reference searches, citation analysis of research and searching by affiliation.
Taxonomy Tools
- NCBI Taxonomy BrowserFor browsing the taxonomic structure or for retrieving sequence data for a particular group of organisms.
- Integrated Taxonomic Information SystemFor browsing the taxonomic structure or for retrieving sequence data for a particular group of organisms.
- International Plant Names IndexA database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and fern allies.
Online Reference Sources
- BC Species and Ecosystems ExplorerProvides information about plants, animals, and ecosystems found within British Columbia.
- E-Flora BC: Electronic Atlas of the Plants of British ColumbiaGIS-based biogeographic atlas of the vascular plants, fungi, algae, bryophytes and lichens of British Columbia, including more than 8,000 individual atlas pages.
- Encyclopedia of Life (EOL)An online encyclopedia of animals, plants, fungi, protists, and bacteria with text, images, video, maps, and data.
- Illustrated Flora of British ColumbiaThis online flora describes and illustrates the flowering and vascular non-flowering plants in British Columbia. It consists of eight volumes and includes keys for genera, species, subspecies and varieties. The print copies of the flora is also available at UBC Library: http://resolve.library.ubc.ca/cgi-bin/catsearch?bid=2188420
- Global Plants This link opens in a new windowGlobal Plants is the world's largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes Dictionary of Plant Sciences: https://www.oxfordreference.com/view/10.1093/acref/9780198833338.001.0001/acref-9780198833338?rskey=MFXxUR&result=21
- TAIR - The Arabidopsis Information Resource This link opens in a new windowThe Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) is a database of genetic, genomic, and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana. Data includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure, gene product information, gene expression and protein localization data, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, curated relevant publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community.
- UBC HerbariumDatabases to the collections of bryophytes, fungi, lichen, algae and vascular plants at the UBC Herbarium.