This guide groups resources relating to the history of the book available through the UBC Library and on the web. Please contact Ralph Stanton if you require further assistance or have a suggestion for this guide.
How to find articles: Articles are found in journals, and journals are indexed in databases. Below, you will find a list of databases to search when looking for articles on a particular topic.
American Book Prices Current ABPC indexes auction sales of books, manuscripts and autographs reported by American Book Prices Current Book History Online Early Canadiana Online Early English Books Online
Selected print resources available in the UBC Library: ABC for book collectors Bibliographic history of the book : an annotated guide to the literature Dictionnaire encyclopédique du livre Form and meaning in the history of the book: selected essays History of the book in Canada History of books and printing : a guide to information sources Five hundred years of printing Glaister's glossary of the book : terms used in Papermaking, Printing, Bookbinding and Publishing with notes on Illuminated Manuscripts and Private Presses New introduction to bibliography Ocean, paper, stone : the catalogue of an exhibition of printed objects which chronicle more than a century of literary publishing in British Columbia
American Literary History (1989-) Book History (1998- ) Book Research Quarterly (1990- ) Libraries & Culture (2001- )
Following is a list of links to catalogues of other libraries that specialize in collecting resources relevant to the study of the history of the book: Bibliothèque municipale de Lyon Bibliothèque nationale de France COPAC (OPAC providing unified access to university research libraries, UK and Ireland) CORSAIR : Online research resource of the Pierpont Morgan Library Gabriel (information server for Europe's National Libraries) Grolier Club Library Library of Congress' Z39.50 Gateway Portico (The British Library) University of Toronto Libraries - Catalogue Other websites that you may find useful: Canada History of the Book in Canada/Histoire du livre et de l'imprimé au Canada Library and Archives Canada United States Book Information Website Latin Dictionary Latin Place Names Paleography and Codicology: Introductory Bibliography Resources for the history of the book International Bibliopolis: History of the printed book in the Netherlands
British Columbia Alcuin Society Canada Association québécoise pour l'étude de l'imprimé Bibliographical Society of Canada/La Société bibliographique du Canada United States Bibliographical Society of America Rare Books and Manuscripts Section (RBMS) of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Society for the history of authorship, reading & publishing