On This Page
We have compiled a selection of contemporary as well as historical maps of the province. The maps come from the collections of Universities, non-profit organizations, as well as public libraries, archives and museums.
This selection of cultural heritage organizations and non-profit consortiums provide an introduction to many of the key sources and collections within the province.
Contemporary Maps and Data
- British Columbia Marine Conservation DataMaps and data related to the conservation of marine life and habitats.
- Community Mapping NetworkInitiative by a coalition of organizations to map sensitive habitats and species in British Columbia and Canada.
- Heritage BC MappingSelection of interactive maps of various historical communities, landmarks, and important events in the history of the province
- This VancouverAn interactive collection of maps, photographs, and stories about the history of Vancouver. Created and compiled by the Vancouver Public Library
- University of Victoria Community Mapping CollaboratoryPlace based learning maps produced in collaboration with members of the community and the UVic department of geography
Historical Maps
- Arca BCArca is a collaborative initiative to support the development and implementation of digital repositories at BC post-secondary institutions. Foundational to the creation of the BC Digital Library, Arca is a province-wide network of institutional repositories
- British Columbia Fire Insurance MapsDigitised Maps provided by Library and Archives Canada dating from the 1840s to the 1990s
- David Rumsey Map CollectionSome holdings of British Columbia, particularly of the region bordering Alaska and the Yukon.
- Historical Map Society of British ColumbiaWhile this historical society is no longer active, their searchable catalogue remains active with catalogue information on where to find a physical copy of historical maps
- Hudson Bay Company Early BC MapsMaps held in the University of Manitoba archive made available digitally by the University of Victoria
- Northern British Columbia ArchivesArchive held at the University of Northern British Columbia with maps and digital scans for many of their holdings
- Old Maps OnlineContains a browsable map interface with links to digitised maps in online libraries and digital repositories
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map CollectionA selection of maps of Canada that include regions of British Columbia
- Points to the PastOpen collection of Gale Primary Sources available for all residents of British Columbia
- Royal BC Museum and ArchivesLocated in Victoria BC the archives hold many historical print and digitised maps
- University of Victoria Early BC MapsMaps from the National archive of England provided by the University of Victoria. Covers the time frame of European settlement to shortly after Confederation.
- Vancouver City ArchivesSearchable holdings of the Vancouver archives holdings, many of which have been digitised
- Victoria Fire Insurance PlansDigitised Fire Maps for the city of Victoria provided by the University of Victoria
