A guide to research resources for European Baroque art, beginning in the late 16th century with Mannerism and ending in the 18th century with Rococo. This subject guide lists selected resources available through the UBC Library and on the web. For addtional help with your research, schedule an appointment with the Art and Architecture librarian or visit our reference desk in the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre.
UBC Departments Art + Architecture + Planning, UBC Library Art History + Visual Art + Theory School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture
For help finding articles, see the UBC Library's Finding Journal Articles guide. To find articles on a topic, begin your research in the indexes/databases listed on this page:
Art Full Text Indexes art, architecture, landscape architecture, and urban planning journals. Reproductions of works of art appearing in periodicals are also indexed. Art Retrospective A a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals. Also covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 7,000 of the world's leading science and social sciences journals. Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Covers the subjects of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) / International Bibliography of Art Coverage of contemporary art includes critical and theoretical publications. BHA covers not only the fine arts (architecture, sculpture, painting, drawing and prints), but decorative and applied arts, industrial design, popular and folk art, photography, new media and the performing arts as well as material culture of interest to art historians. Original index to art periodicals Print source located in the ASRS. Historical Abstracts Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
Electronic JournalsFor a selective list of electronic art and architecture journals, browse by subject in the Print and Electronic Journals database. Art, Architecture & Applied Arts Print JournalsFor a selective list of print art and architecture journals, search the UBC Library Catalogue by subject heading. Architecture - Periodicals Art - Periodicals To find other journals and more specifically articles, please see the Articles tab of this guide. Some of the journals that focus on Baroque Art or Architecture are:
Apollo Art bulletin Eighteenth century: theory and interpretation Gazette des beaux-arts Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians Journal of the Warburg and Courtauld Institutes Seventeenth century Studies in iconography
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias Barockthemen, eine Auswahl von Verzeichnissen zur Ikonographie des 17. und 18. Jahrhunderts Baroque art: a topical dictionary Dutch art: an encyclopedia Encyclopedia of comparative iconography: themes depicted in works of art Encyclopedia of world architecture: from the earliest to the present times Encyclopedia of world art Europe 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World (online) Grove dictionary of art (print and online) Oxford Reference Online Short Oxford history of Europe. The seventeenth century: Europe, 1598-1715 Bibliographies Art and architecture in Central Europe, 1550-1620: an annotated bibliography Art and the Reformation: an annotated bibliography Bibliografía crítica y antológica de Velázquez Die Barockbaumeister Fischer von Erlach : Bibliographie zu Leben und Werk Genre in the age of the Baroque: a resource guide Women artists: an historical, contemporary and feminist bibliography Dictionaries of Artists and Architects Allgemeines Lexikon der bildenden Kunstler von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart Catalogue raisonné of the works of the most eminent Dutch painters of the seventeenth century, based on the works of John Smith Dictionary of 16th & 17th century British painters French sculptors of the 17th and 18th centuries: the reign of Louis XIV Illustrated dictionary of 17th century Flemish painters Macmillan encyclopedia of architects Netherlandish painters of the 17th century Painting of the Golden Age: a biographical dictionary of 17th century European painters Guidebooks Guide to Baroque Rome Le finezze de' pennelli italiani ammirate e studiate...Reprint of guidebook to 17th century cities in Italy written by the painter known as Il Perugino. Provenance Collections of paintings in Madrid, 1601-1755Part of the Getty's "Documents for the history of collecting" series. Documents private collections. Collections of paintings in Naples, 1600-1780Also part of the Getty's "Documents for the history of collecting" series. Documents private collections. Collezione dei dipinti Colonna: inventari 1611-1795Documents the Colonna family's collection in 17th and 18th century Rome. Collezioni e quadrerie nella Bologna del Seicento: inventari 1640-1707Documents private collections in Bologna in the 17th century. Répertoire des catalogues de ventes publiques, intéressant l'art ou la curiositéArt sales listed by date, location, collector and artist. Important for 17th century provenance. Seventeenth-century Barberini documents and inventories of artArtist and subject index to the Barberini family's patronage of the arts in the 17th century.
UBC Library CatalogueTo locate books, search the UBC Library catalogue by subject headings such as: General Aesthetics, Modern - 17th century Architecture, Baroque Art, Baroque Art, Modern -- 17th-18th centuries Arts and society Civilization, Baroque Counter-reformation Despotism Reformation Science - History - 17th century Seventeenth century Type of Artwork Decoration and ornament Painting, Baroque Painting, Modern - 17-18th centuries Portrait painting - 17th century Name of artist Bernini, Gian Lorenzo, 1598-1680 Rubens, Peter Paul, Sir, 1577-1640 Other important names Louis XIV, King of France, 1638-1715 Philip IV, King of Spain, 1605-1655 Place or Country Names Europe -- History -- 17th century France -- History -- 17th century Great Britain -- History -- Stuarts, 1603-1714 Great Britain -- Intellectual life -- 17th century Netherlands -- Civilization -- 17th century Netherlands -- Social life and customs Rome (Italy) in Art Versailles (France) Earlier sources Architecture -- Early works to 1800 Art -- Early works to 1800 Europe -- Desciption and travel -- Early works to 1800 Painting -- Early works to 1800
Exhibition catalogues received at UBC after 1985 are listed in the UBC Library Catalogue. Exhibition catalogues received at UBC before 1985 can be located using the Exhibition Card Catalogue.Search the Catalogue using keywords such as: baroque and art and exhibitions baroque and architecture and exhibitions baroque and painting and exhibitions Or search for names of art museums/galleries such as: National Portrait Gallery (Great Britain).Or names of artists, such as: Velázquez, Diego.Also consider looking for online exhibitions that have taken place at museums and galleries, such as:Captured Emotions: Baroque Painting in Bologna, 1575-1725December 16, 2008 - May 3, 2009 at the Getty Centre.
Le vite de' pittori, scultori et architetti : dal pontificato di Gregorio XIII del 1572 in fino a' tempi di Papa Urbano Ottavo nel 1642.1995 reprint of the 1642 edition. Reprint of a major source for artists in Rome between 1572-1642, including foreign artists such as Rubens. Arrangement is chronological. Le vite de pittori, scultori et architetti moderni.1931 facsimile reprint of the1672 edition. Source of information on 12 artists including Poussin, Rubens, and Caravaggio. Extensive critical notes and bibliography. Reflexions critiques sur la poésie et sur la peinture. 1751.Treatise written at the end of the 17th century. Values sentiment over reason. Principes de l'architecture. 1676.Written by the royal historiographer of Louis XIV. The first comprehensive reference book on the arts. Contains information on equipment and material for architecture and a dictionary of art terms. Italy and Spain, 1600-1750: sources and documents. 1966. English translations of some important texts. Includes critical essays and references. Cours de peinture par principes. 1708.Written by a liberal academician. Contains his famous classification of artists by composition, design, colour and expression. Méthode pour apprendre à dessiner les passions...1982 reprint of 1702 edition. Instructions written by the director of the French Academie on the expressive importance of the human face. Categorizes human emotions in art. Conférences de l'Académie Royale de Peinture et de Sculpture pendant l'année 1667. 1669. Report on activities of the French Academie. The Academie was founded in 1648 to further Louis XIV's political ambitions by imposing control, emphasizing rules, training and history painting above all. The art of painting. 1716.Translation of influential didactic poem "De arte graphica liber." The mirrour of architecture (English translation of Idea dell'architettura universale). 1669. A two part treatise first published in 1615. Includes practical hints for architects about building materials and dealing with patrons. Documentary history of art. 1957. v.2: Michelangelo and the Mannerists, the Baroque, and the 18th century. Excerpts translated into English. The sentiments of the most excellent painters concerning the practice of painting. 1688.Based on notes made at the Academie. Good insight into the four year curriculum: line, colours, composition and expressions of emotion. Pompa introitus honori serenissimi principis Ferdinandi Austriaci... 1641. A commemorative publication to recoup the expenses of the entry into Antwerp on April 17, 1635 of Cardinal-Infante Ferdinand, brother of Philip IV of Spain, to assume his role as Governor of the Spanish Netherlands. Contains the designs for 11triumphal arches designed by Rubens, as well as his frontispiece.
Archivision Digital Research Library Archivision is a database of over 53,000 high quality, professionally photographed images of architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, archaeology, and design searchable within LUNA Commons. ARTstor ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images licensed for educational use at UBC, covering the areas of art, architecture, the humanities and the social sciences. ALA Portrait Index A print index located in the AArP reference collection. Baroque and Rococo pictorial imagery: the 1758-60 Hertel edition of Ripa's 'Iconologia' A print reference source located in the AArP reference collection. Index to two-dimensional art works Print index located in the AArP reference collection. Print index: a guide to reproductions Print index located in the AArP reference collection. Sculpture Index Print index located in the AArP reference collection. World architecture index : a guide to illustrations Print index located in the AArP reference collection. World Painting Index Print index located in the AArP reference collection.
Visit the online Baroque exhibition at the Vicotria & Albert Museum, or find additional resources by visiting Web Resources in Art.