Information Resources for Atmospheric SciencesWelcome to the Information Resources for the Atmospheric Sciences subject guide. This subject guide will point you to the most relevant online databases for finding cutting edge research published in climatological and meteorological journals, conferences and books. Additional resources include online access to Canadian and international PhD and MSc theses and data collections. Created by Kevin Lindstrom, Liaison Librarian for Earth and Ocean Sciences
Kevin Lindstrom kevin.lindstrom@ubc.ca Phone: (604) 822-0695 Science and Engineering LibraryOffice 414Irving K. Barber Learning Centre1961 East MallVancouver, BC V6T 1Z1 scieng.library.ubc.ca
Atmospheric Sciences Articles/Databases GeoRef GeoRef is the American Geological Institute's database covering the world's literature in geology and the geosciences. A comprehensive resource with over 2 million citations, many with abstracts, GeoRef covers the geology of North America since 1785 and the geology of the rest of the world since 1933. Over 3,000 journals in 40 languages are scanned, as well as books, maps, reports, most U.S. Geological Survey publications, and U.S. and Canadian master's theses and doctoral dissertations. Geobase GEOBASE is a unique multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics, and development studies. The database provides current coverage of over 1,800 journals and archival coverage of 2,000 additional titles from 1980 onwards. GEOBASE contains more than 1.3 million records, spanning over twenty years to present, with 76,000 records added annually. Each GEOBASE record contains a full bibliographic citation and indexing terms and codes. 99.5% of the GEOBASE records contain abstracts. Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) contains records drawn from the World's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. Summaries from over 600 journal titles, as well as conference proceedings, books, technical reports and other monographs, are included Compendex Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. Web of Science Web of Science - the online version of Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences and applied sciences. It fully indexes over 6,650 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. Geoscan - Geological Survey of Canada GEOSCAN is the bibliographic database for scientific publications of the Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) of Natural Resources Canada. This database features over 60,000 records for ESS publications, including: Publications of the Geological Survey of Canada and the Canada Centre for Remote Sensing; Canada Topographic Maps; External publications authored by ESS scientists and specialists. Scifinder Scholar Scifinder Scholar - the online version of Chemical Abstracts is one of the most comprehensive databases for chemistry and chemical engineering, geochemistry, electrochemistry, metallurgy and materials science. Environmental Science and Pollution Management
Atmospheric Science eBooks/Handbooks Springer Ebook Collection Knovel Engineering Books Online CRCnetBase Books Online Books 24X7 Information Technology and Computer Science Collection Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science Summon Summon is a search tool that provides fast, relevance ranked results on any topic from the UBC Library collections in a single search.
Theses - Scieng cIRcle: UBC's Institutional Repository UBC theses and dissertations submitted after Fall 2007 are available in full text in cIRcle: UBC's Institutional Repository. A project is underway to digitize older UBC theses, starting with 1992. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text Searchable index of dissertations, some theses. The full text of dissertations and theses added to the database since 1997 are available to UBC users. UBC Library FAQ: Dissertations and Theses More information about locating theses and dissertations - OAI, WorldCat, Theses Canada, Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD), Electronic Theses Online Service (EThOS) Project, On-line Database of Dissertations of China (DOC)(Abstracts) and more... OAIster OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster includes more than 25 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors.
Atmospheric Science Websites Atlas of Canada: Climate Change United States Environmental Protection Agency Climate Change NOAA Climate Program Office World Meteorological Organization World Climate Programme Google Directory / Climate Change AtmosPeer - News and Colloboration for Atmospheric Scientists
Refworks With RefWorks, users can create their own personal citation databases by importing references from online databases and catalogues. Use these references in writing papers, and automatically format in-text citations/footnotes and bibliographies in seconds. RefWorks is web-based, and is available for various platforms including Windows, and Mac. EndNote Web on Web of Science platform EndNote Web is available to UBC faculty and students from the Web of Snowledge platform.
JCR Journal Citation Reports JCR Journal Citation Reports "Journal Citation ReportsĀ® is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 80 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences." Journal Citation Reports will show you the most frequently cited journals in a field, the highest impact journals in a field, and the largest journals in a field.