This research guide was created for Law 334 and Law 336 students, and lists a few of the resources available. If you are researching a paper discussing legal issues, the Law Library homepage has several useful links. The Law Library's Research Guides: Beginning Your Legal Research and Indexes to Legal Periodicals can help you get started on your research. UBC Law Library homepage includes Chinese Law and links to Japanese Law webpages. In addition, the Law Library's Research Resources includes a list of interdisciplinary indexes. To connect from outside the library, see Connect from Home (EZproxy & myVPN) and follow the instructions for a secure connection via VPN.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________ CONTACT A LIBRARIAN FOR HELP: UBC Law Library Reference Staff
The best place to start your research is often a textbook which will give you an overview of the topic. Please see the course materials listed in your syllabus - available for purchase from the Law Distribution Centre. Ambler & Witzel, Doing Business in China, 2nd ed. LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2) & DAVID LAM LIBRARY stacks: HC427.95 .A65 2004 or Online A practical guide to business practices, market conditions, negotiations, organizations, networks and the business environment in China. It offers a general framework for understanding Chinese business culture along with a guide for acquiring further knowledge on China. Luo, Chinese Law and Legal Research LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KNQ47 .L86 2005 (LC) Includes Chinese Legal Resources on the Internet (chapter 6) outlining resources in English, Chinese or both which provide access to: laws and regulations; legal news; cases; gazettes; and legal forum. Materials in Western languages about Asian social sciences and humanities are found in the Walter C. Koerner Library. Western language materials on other Asian topics, such as law and commerce, are found in the Law Library and David Lam Library respectively. The Asian Library has materials in Asian languages only.
LLRX.com's Comparative Law/Foreign Law include several guides on law in the People's Republic of China, law in Japan and law in the Asia Pacific Region
CCH's China Laws for Foreign Business is the best Chinese law and regulation compilation. It consists of 3 parts: China Laws for Foreign Business: Business Regulation LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KNQ3405 .A28 1993 (LC) China Laws for Foreign Business: Taxation and Customs LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KNQ3405 .A28 1993a (LC) China Laws for Foreign Business: Special Zones and Cities LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KNQ3405 .A28 1993b (LC) Consult its main subject index, then look for texts in the main volumes. Note: Chinese laws and regulations are not codified. You will need to find all the laws and regulations relevant to your research topic by researching all relevant index terms. iSinoLaw is a bilingual database of Chinese statutes and regulations, providing access to court judgments, arbitration awards as well as up-to-date legal news and development in China. LexisNexis Quicklaw includes English versions of: Annotated Ordinances of Hong Kong and Laws of Hong Kong. Access this information by using the Source Directory tab --> filter by: China --> Legislation. Click the i beside each file for a description of its contents and currency.
Indexes to Legal Periodicals provide access to a variety of periodical indexes to find relevant legal articles. Searches should include the word China or Chinese plus keywords describing the desired topic. Research Resources includes broader, Interdisciplinary Indexes. Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals is an electronic periodical index which provides access to legal literature worldwide covering all forms of foreign (non-Anglo-American) law. Finally, try Google Scholar, which searches for scholarly literature including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. It is NOT as current or comprehensive as UBC's article indexes, but it can be a useful resource. Most articles available in UBC Library databases will be indicated with UBC eLink.
After using Article Indexes you may still need to access some periodicals via Journals --> Print & Electronic Journals search on the menu bar of library webpages to locate journal holdings. The journal China Law & Practice is indexed in ABI/Inform which includes full-text coverage from July 2002 - current, delayed 28 days. It is also available in print at LAW LIBRARY level 4: KT4221 .C445 and its latest issues are located in Reserve. Earlier full text access to China Law & Practice is only available on the internet - but you must register for a free two-week trial to use it. Asian Legal Business is an independent magazine covering the latest legal news, events and developments in Hong Kong, Singapore, China, Asia and the international business community. The magazine examines changes in legislation, important areas of practice and overseas jurisdictions and profiles major industry leaders. The online (free) version covers much of this material.
Of particular interest are databases such as: Westlaw China is a bilingual database with comprehensive laws, regulations, cases and model contracts and legal journals, as well as up-to-date legal news and development in China. Academic Search Complete can be very useful. It is a very large, multidisciplinary database, which includes scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines. It covers business, economics, and law as well as many other disciplines. For many journals, full text is included online. Asia-Studies Full-text Online contains full-text reports covering 53 countries on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues. Examples of specific subject coverage include finance, trade, environment, human resources development, best practices in government, fisheries, tourism, education and women's studies. The average study is 100 pages long, and contains statistics, research, analysis, and forecasts. Most contain statistical tables, charts, and/or graphs. Subject Resources for Asian Studies (Non-Asian Languages) provides links to various Asian databases - listed under "Electronic Journals, Newspapers and Books".
World News Connection (WCN) contains an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources. Areas covered include Central Eurasia, China, East Asia, Near East & South Asia. It covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical and environmental issues and events. New information is generally available within two to three days of original publication or broadcast. WCN continues FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service) electronic index. The Law Library's Chinese Law guide includes some news links. Research Resources includes News Indexes. See also UBC Library's Newspapers & News Sources which lists newspaper holdings and their indexes.
Citing Sources and Avoiding Plagiarism explains how and when to cite sources used for term papers and assignments. It also describes techniques to avoid plagiarism.