This guide covers arts, media and entertainment industries, like film, music (live and recorded), mass media and visual arts, as well as games and gaming. General tabs, like the Articles tab, describe and list generally useful sources which can be used to research various arts and cultural industries. Specific tabs, like Film or Magazine Publishing augment the general sources by including resources which are unique to the named industry. Related guides: Business Planning | Company Research | Industry Research | Nonprofit Management | Vancouver Cultural Events
Contact a librarian for help Vancouver Campus: Librarians at David Lam Library Okanagan Campus: Barbara Sobol, barbara.sobol@ubc.ca / (250) 807-8063
Small Business Accelerator GuidesThe Small Business Accelerator, an initiative of UBC’s Irving K. Barber Learning Centre, has developed business planning guides for members of the public interested in starting a business in the several fields in the arts. Click on the link below to see the recent list of current guides: Small Business Accelerator Business Planning Guides for the Arts.
Article Databases ABI/Inform (Abstracted Business Information) Citations, abstracts and fulltext articles from 1000+ business journals Use for: finding business articles, case studies and company information Access World News Global news content with a focus on North America, including local newspapers from British Columbia and Ontario Business Source Complete Materials relating to business, companies, management, economics, banking, finance and accounting Canadian Newsstand Complete Over 230 Canadian newspapers from leading publishers, including The Globe and Mail, National Post and Vancouver Sun. Can be searched with CBCA Business and ABI/Inform CBCA Complete Canadian journal and magazine article databases, divided into subsets: business, current events and education Emerald Management Plus Articles on management disciplines including strategy, leadership, marketing and human resource management Factiva Global archive of news and information on companies, industries, regional affairs, updated throughout the day LexisNexis Academic Fulltext news, government, legal, finance and business information service. Includes company directories and information sources GoogleScholar A simple way to search selected scholarly literature, with links for UBC users to fulltext International Index to Music Periodicals Indexing and abstracts for 445 international music periodicals from over 20 countries; can be searched with ABI/Inform International index to the Performing Arts Indexing and abstracts for approximately 220 international performing arts periodicals; can be searched with ABI/Inform
Search Tips Single words or short phrases work best Try different words and word combinations Use "AND" and "OR" between search terms Use dropdown boxes to focus your search Use Subject Terms if the database provides them
Search TermsResults of searches in article databases depend on the terms and combinations of terms you use. Here are some examples of terms you may consider: Canadian philanthropy Arts Fund Raising
Search the UBC Library Catalog. Relevant subject headings include:Arts - Management | Mass Media - Marketing | Motion Picture Industry | Music Trade | Performing Arts - Management | Sound Recording Industry
Searching the UBC Library Catalogue Search:within Keyword (relevance ranked)Keyword (use AND, OR, NOT, or "a phrase")Title KeywordTitle (begins with)Journal Title (begins with)Author KeywordSubject KeywordCall Number Browse Filter by Location/Item Type/Language: All ItemsLocation: Asian LibraryLocation: Biomedical Branch LibraryLocation: David Lam LibraryLocation: Education LibraryLocation: Extension LibraryLocation: Hamber LibraryLocation: I.K. Barber Learning CentreLocation: Koerner LibraryLocation: Law LibraryLocation: Music LibraryLocation: Okanagan LibraryLocation: OnlineLocation: Rare Books & Special CollectionsLocation: Robson Square LibraryLocation: St. Paul's Hospital LibraryLocation: Woodward LibraryLocation: Xwi7xwa LibraryFormat: Sound RecordingFormat: VideorecordingLanguage: ChineseLanguage: FrenchLanguage: GermanLanguage: JapaneseLanguage: KoreanLanguage: Spanish Records per page: 10 records per page20 records per page25 records per page50 records per page
For detailed consumer research, see the guide: Consumer behaviour and demographics For consumer research specifically in the arts and cultural industries, also see: Canada Print Measurement Bureau. How many Canadian/BC/Vancouver residents attend concerts, etc? Canada. Statistics Canada. Culture and Leisure. Annual statistical overview from Canada Yearbook Canada. Statistics Canada. Culture and Leisure. Statistics grouped by cultural industry and medium Canada. Statistics Canada. Performing Arts. Attendance, trends and revenue sources Canada. Statistics Canada. Understanding Culture Consumption in Canada, 2005 Canada Council for the Arts. Performing Arts Attendance in Canada and the Provinces, 2003 Canadian Tourism Commission. Activity-Based Tourism Segments in Canada and the USA: An Overview United States US.Census Bureau. Arts, Recreation & travel: Consumer Expenditures. Annual
Industry CodesMany government websites and some of the databases available through the library, organize business information using an industry classification system, with a specific code for each industry. To help you search these resources more effectively, you may find it helpful to look up the industry code for your industry. Many resources use NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) codes.Below are some relevant NAICS industry codes for art, media and entertainment industries. Click on one of the links below to browse more specific industries within these categories. Source: Statistics Canada. North American Industry Classification (NAICS) 2007 3346 Manufacturing and Producing Magnetic and Optical Media (includes audio and video tapes, diskettes, hard disk media and CD-ROMs) 511 Publishing Industries (more specific numbers assigned to newspaper, periodical, book, directory and software publishers) 5121 Motion Picture and Video Industries (more specific numbers assigned to film and video production, post-production and distribution companies) 5151 Radio and Television Broadcasting 711 Performing Arts, Spectator Sports and Performing Industries (more specific numbers assigned to theatre, dance, and music groups) 7131 Amusement Parks and Theme Parks 7132 Gambling Industries (more specific numbers assigned to casinos and lotteries) Note: If you are researching a very specific or very new industry, it may not be included in these industry classification systems. NAICS is updated to include new and emerging industriesl
Market & Industry ResearchMarket and Industry research databases typically provide overviews of industries or markets at broad category and geographic levels. They are good for giving you the big picture for your industry. Below are databases to which the library subscribes which offer you key information about industries, including industries related to music, film, media, gaming and publishing. These databases are relatively simple to search, but you should still try alternative subject terms, if your intial searching is not successful. For example if you get no results for movies, try searching film or films or cinema or motion pictures or motion picture industry or movie theater or movie theatre or movie houses.
Market Research Databases Business Source Complete Includes "telecoms and technology" reports for a variety of countries, including Canada (note: full text available only for reports older than 6 months) eMarketer Market research and trend analysis on digital media, marketing and commerce. Topics covered include B2B and B2C eBusiness, online marketing, consumer behaviour online, social media, mobile devices Forrester Research Information geared towards IT and technology industry professionals. Emerging trends and issues in e-Business, IT products and services. Freedonia Focus Majority of reports on U.S. industries, with an expanding selection of reports for other countries, including Canada, China, Brazil, India, Mexico and Russia, as well as global reports. IBISWorld Industry Reports Reports on over 700 US industries as well as some global industries. MarketResearch.com Academic Reports on the US market and specific consumer groups. Passport GMID (formerly Global Market Information Database) Global and country specific reports on consumer goods and services. Print Measurement Bureau Survey data on Canadians' usage of over 3500 products and services. Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage US Industry Surveys and Stock Reports. Thomson ONE Includes analyst reports on industries and companies. For analyst reports on industries, click on "Screening & Analysis" in the menu bar on the left, then click on "Research" and "Research Search." Search for reports by keyword or NAICs industry code, and limit by geography
Industry AssociationsIndustry association websites can offer rich information about the industries they cover, often providing free access to industry news, links to relevant legislation and regulations, industry profiles, trends, statistics, member directories, funding sources, and lists of events or tradeshows. However, industry associations may also have a members-only space in which they do not provide free access to this kind of nformation. The industry-specific tabs in this guide identify selected industry-specific associations. You can also use google to identify your industry association. For example search for the Canadian Museum Association.
When industries are dominated by privately held companies, or nonprofits, it can be challenging to determine industry profitability and expenses. The sources below are good places to start researching.
Business Performance and Ownership: Financial Statements and Performance Statistics Canada releases on financial performances of a variety of industries, including service industries. Canadian Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (INKBR) Business ratios, measured as relationships between companies' balance sheet and income statement categories, across industries classified as per Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes Financial and taxation statistics for enterprises ratios for Canadian industries from Statistics Canada Financial Performance Indicators for Canadian Business data on Canadian businesses, derived from Statistics Canada databases of financial statements. To access the data, click on "UBC Member" under "Login to abacus" at the top right, then enter your CWL. Next, type "Financial performance indicators" in the search box on the left Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios Dun & Bradstreet. 1984-2003 Quarterly financial statistics for enterprises ratio for Canadian industries, from Statistics Canada Robert Morris Associates - Annual Statement Studies available in print only, in the David Lam Library (HF5681.B2 R6) SME Benchmarking Tool income statement and balance sheet data for a variety of industries in Canada. Good source for estimating costs for small to medium sized businesses Standard and Poor's. Analysts Handbook Use to find: debt to equity ratio, shareholders' equity, liabilities, inventory turnover Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage Standard & Poor's investment research, including industry surveys and stock reports (U.S. focus) Thomson ONE Financial data and analyst research on public companies and industries Value Line Investment Survey 1980-2009 (available in print only).
Government AgenciesGovernment agencies gather statistics, produce reports, provide regulations, and offer support to the arts and cultural industries. Individually named tabs identify specific agencies to review. If your arts-related industry is not specifically identified in a tab, you can still search the same resources to see if there are any relevant statistics, regulations, overviews, directories or sources of financial support. BC Ministry of Community, Sport and Cultural Development. Develops and administers government policies and programs tto support the arts and cultural sector Canadian Heritage. Responsible for national policies and programs that promote Canadian content and foster cultural participation. City of Vancouver Cultural Services. Provides support to Vancouver arts and culture at the municipal level. Industry Canada. Provides access to Canadian on statistics, company directories, and financial benchmarking data for Canadian information and cultural industries. Statistics Canada. Canada's national statistical agency. Explore the data collected for the culture and leisure industries. E-Stat, an easy-to-use interface to Statistics Canada data.
Sources of FundingSome arts-related organizations can apply to specific funding agencies to secure grants or other sources of funding. Below are some resources which can be further explored to identify and determine appropriate agencies.
Sources of FundingVancouver Vancouver City. Office of Cultural Affairs. Grant and Support Programs Vancouver City. Parks Board. Neighbourhood Matching Fund Vancouver Foundation. Grantmaking British Columbia Assembly of BC Arts Councils. Grants and Funders British Columbia. Ministry of Housing & Social Development. Gaming Information and Services: Grants British Columbia. Ministry of Community, Sport and Cultural Development BC Arts Council. Independent agency that supports arts and cultural activity in communities across BC Music BC Canada Artists in Canada. Funding for the Visual Arts Canada. CRTC. Canadian Content Guide. Certification for television productions that make use of Canadian talent Canada. CRTC. Examples of choirs that have received Canadian Content funding Canada. Department of Canadian Heritage. Funding opportunities Canada Council for the Arts. Explore the website for information on funding programmes Ontario Arts Council. Grant Recipients: Choirs and Vocal Groups Corporate Funding Sources and Trends CharityVillage. Canada's portal for the nonprofit sector Hill Strategies Research Inc. Finances of Performing Arts Organizations Canada, 2006-07 Imagine Canada. Research in the charity and nonprofit sectors in Canada, including Caring Canadians, Involved Canadians: Highlights from the 2004 Canada Survey of Giving, Volunteering and Participating Canadian Centre for Philanthropy. Understanding Canadian Donors: Using the National Survey of Giving, Voluneering and Participating to Build your Fundraising Programme Canadian Centre for Philanthropy. Where Canadians Donate: Donating by Type of Organization Canadian directory to foundations & grants. KOERNER LIBRARY reference staff area (Floor 2)
Film IndustryThis tab lists unique sources associated with the BC and Canadian film industries which are not identified under other tabs. Search for newspaper and journal articles in the databases identified in the Articles tab. Search for market research reports in the databases identified in the Market & Industry Research tab. AssociationsIndustry associations often provide free access to industry news, links to relevant legislation and regulations, industry profiles, trends, statistics, company listings, funding sources, and lists of events or tradeshows. Some of the information, however, may be for members only. British Columbia Film Not for profit society which supports the BC film industry. Includes industry information and links. British Columbia Film Commission A provincial government branch working to support the film industry in the province. Canadian Film & Television Production Association Represents Canadian film & television producers. Includes recent news, and industry information on industrial and government relations. Telefilm Canada Federal government agency supporting the Canadian film, television and new media industries. International Federation of Film Producers Associations. Members. Links to industry associations in other countries Industry Overviews B.C. Ministry of Small Business, Technology & Economic Development. Opportunities for Growth and Competitive Advantage for BC's Film and New Media Industries: A Report to the BC Competition Council Film & Television Industry Review. British Columbia Film Service Plan 2008/09 - 2010/11 BC Film Commission gateway to film production in B.C. Canadian Film & Television Production Association. Profile: An Economic Report on the Canadian Film and Television Production Industry Industry Statistics BC Stats. Other Industries: Film and Television. Industry Canada. Canadian Industry Statistics: Motion Picture and Sound Recording Industries (NAICS 512) Industry Canada. Canadian Industry Statistics. Information and Cultural Industries (NAICS 51) Statistics Canada. E-Stat. Easy-to use interface to Canadian economic, population and industry statistics. Search motion picture to find data on employment, investment and selected financial statistics for motion picture theatre, production, distribution and post-production industries. Search film to find data on film and video industries. Companies Reel West Digest 1400+ listings of companies, individuals and organizations Lions Gate Entertainment | Film & Industry Contacts | Producers List | Horizon Motion Pictures
Funding, Tax CreditsHeritage Canada. Film and Video. Includes links to tax credits, the Canada Media Fund, and other sources of federal government support.
Related GuidesUBC Library has developed the following guides on academic research for film: Film Studies Film - Finding and Using Book, Theatre & Film Reviews
BooksSearch in the library catalogue to find books: Motion picture industry -- Canada Motion picture industry -- British Columbia
Lottery and GamingThis tab lists unique sources on the lottery and gambling industries which are not identified under other tabs. Search for newspaper and journal articles in the databases identified in the Articles tab. Search for market research reports in the databases identified in the Market & Industry Research tab. Keywords for this industry include lotteries, gambling, gaming, casinos, racinos, internet gambling and online gambling. AssociationsIndustry associations often provide free access to industry news, links to relevant legislation and regulations, industry profiles, trends, statistics, company listings, funding sources, and lists of events or tradeshows. Some information may be for members only. Canadian Gaming Association Alberta Gaming Research Institute British Columbia Association for Charitable Gaming University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Center for Gaming Research Industry Codes (NAICS) Establishments that organize and sell lottery tickets: 713291 Gambling casinos operated outside hotels: 713210 Casino hotels: 721120 Industry Overviews Canada Canada. Statistics Canada. Perspectives on Labour and Income. Gambling: September 2008 | July 2009 | August 2010 Canada. Travel Activities and Motivation Survey. Casino Gambling Interest Index Canadian Gaming Industry: Key Facts & Figures Print Measurement Bureau. What kinds of casinos do Canadians/British Columbians visit? How much do they spend on lottery tickets? What kind of tickets? United States Business Source Complete. Search for Casinos & Gaming Industry Profile Freedonia Focus. Search for Slot Machines Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage. Detailed survey of the U.S. Lodging and Casino industry United States. Census. Industry Statistics Sampler: NAICS 7132 Gambling industries
Regulations British Columbia Ministry of Public Safety & Solicitor General. Gaming Policy and Enforcement Branch Alberta Gaming Research Institute. Government & Gambling - Canada. Lists government organizations that conduct and regulate gambling in Canada
Magazine PublishingThis tab lists unique sources associated with the magazine publishing industry which are not identified under other tabs. Search for newspaper and journal articles in the databases identified in the Articles tab. Search for market research reports in the databases identified in the Market & Industry Research tab: Associations Magazine Association of B.C. Magazines Canada. Links to industry news, and lists of Canadian magazines. Newspapers Canada, a joint initiative of the Canadian Newspaper Association and the Canadian Community Newspapers Association. Circulation & Readership Audit Bureau of Circulations. Some free topline data on circulation and readership for US publications. Canadian Advertising Rates & Data: advertising rates and related data on every significant medium in Canada and on selected international media. Print Measurement Bureau: Canada's leading syndicated study for single-source data on print readership, non-print media exposure, product usage and lifestyles. Industry Statistics Industry Canada. Canadian Industry Statistics: Publishing Industries. Provides number of establishments, revenue, and company directories. Statistics Canda. E-Stat easy to use interface to Canadian economic, population, and industry data. Search for periodical to find employment and selective revenue information. Statistics Canada. Periodical publishing : data tables. The tabulations focus on circulation and sales of periodicals published in Canada during each publisher's fiscal year. Data are broken down by regions, provinces, types of periodicals, origins of editorial content and artwork, size of circulation per issue and size of annual revenue. U.S. Census Bureau. Industry Statistics Sampler: NAICS 51112. Lists of Journals Canadian Advertising Rates & Data. Lists Canadian magazines by topic and region, with advertising rates, circulation and some demographic data. Also available in print Magazines Canada Directory of Canadian magazines plus market data, how to start a magazine, etc. Ulrich's Periodicals Directory Bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world
Sources of FundingHeritage Canada. Canada Periodical Fund. Provides financial assistance to Canadian print magazines, non-daily newspapers and digital periodicals to enable them to overcome market disadvantages
Music IndustriesThis tab lists unique sources associated with the music industries which are not identified under other tabs. Search for newspaper and journal articles in the databases identified in the Articles tab. Search for market research reports in the databases identified in the Market & Industry Research tab. Terms for the industry include: music industries, sound recording, music publishing, performing arts, and choirs. Associations American Choral Directors Association. Choralnet.org (includes lists of choirs) Music Industries Association of Canada. Represents retailers, manufacturers, and the distributors of music products. Includes links to other relevant associations. Music Canada. Represents Canada's major labels. Industry Codes (NAICS) Sporting Goods, Hobbies, and Musical Instruments Stores (4511) Music publishers (512230) Performing Arts Companies (7111) Industry Overviews Canadian Heritage. The Canadian Music Industry. Industry Canada. Canadian Industry Statistics. Motion Picture and Sound Recording Industries (NAICS 511) | Performing Arts, Spectator Sports & Related Industries (NAICS 711) | Sporting Goods, Hobby, Book and Music Stores (NAICS 451) Statistics Canada. Sound Recording & Music Publishing | Performing Arts US Bureau of the Census. Industry Statistics Sampler. NAICS 512230 Music Publishers | NAICS 4511 Sporting Goods, Hobby & Musical Instruments Stores Industry Statistics E-Stat. Search music or sound recording (as a phrase) Statistics Canada. Sound Recording | Performing Arts
Funding Canadian Heritage. Music Entrepreneur Component (MEC) Aid to Canadian National Service Organizations Foundation Assisting Canadian Talent on Recordings (FACTOR)
Related Guides for MusicUBC's Music Library has developed several guides on music as an area of academic research: Music History of Popular Music Songs and Vocal Resources
Radio and TelevisionThis tab lists unique sources associated with the radio and television industries which are not identified under other tabs. Search for newspaper and journal articles in the databases identified in the Articles tab. Search for market research reports in the databases identified in the Market & Industry Research tab. Associations Canadian Association of Broadcasters National Campus and Community Radio Association Viewers and Listeners Bureau of Broadcast Measurement. BBM Canada. radio & television market data by Canadian city and province, rankings, top programs Canadian Advertising Rates & Data. advertising rates and data on significant media in Canada and selected international media Print Measurement Bureau. Surveys Canadian consumer purchase and lifestyle. Contains a data on television viewing and radio listening habits. Radio Marketing Bureau Statistics Canada. E-Stat. Search television, television viewing, or radio listening. Television Bureau of Advertising. TVB Online. trade association of America's broadcast television industry Industry Statistics Canada Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC). Financial Summaries for Broadcasting Sector. Statistics Canada. E-Stat. Easy-to use interface to Canadian economic, population and industry statistics. Search radio broadcasting or television. Statistics Canada. Television Broadcasting Industries. Provides national and regional financial and operating statistics for the conventional and pay and specialty television broadcasting industries, including air time sales, programming expenses and employment statistics. Companies Radio Station World
Regulations & Standards Canadian Radio-television & Telecommunications Council Canadian Broadcast Standards Council Industry Canada. Digital Television
Video and Electronic GamesThis tab lists unique sources associated with the video and electronic games industry which are not identified under other tabs. Search for newspaper and journal articles in the databases identified in the Articles tab. Search for market research reports in the databases identified in the Market & Industry Research tab particularly Emarketer and Forrester Research, both of which are specifically focused on emerging technologies. Terms for the industry include digital media, entertainment software, new media and multimedia. Associations DigiBC: the voice of BC's digital media and wireless industry. Digital Alberta Digital Media Professional Association Entertainment Software Association of Canada includes access to recent industry overviews, economic impact studies, and other important research. Interactive Ontario Canadian Game Studies Association Industry Overviews Secor Consulting. Canada's Entertainment Software Industryin 2011 (pdf) Vancouver Economic Commission. Digital Media Sector. Industry Statistics E-Stat. Easy-to-use interface to Canadian economic, population and industry data. Search for video games or electronic games as a phrase. Search software. Statistics Canada. Commercial Software Price Index (2011) | Software Development and Computer Services Industry Canada. Canadian Industry Statistics. Computer and Software Stores (NAICS 44312) | Doll, Toy and Game Manufacturing (NAICS 33993) | Manufacturing and Reproducing Magnetic and Optical Media (NAICS 3346) Companies Electronic Arts | Mainframe Entertainment | Radical Entertainment | Rainmaker Entertainment Canada. Industry Canada. Entertainment / Games Company Directory CanDevs - Canadian Video Game Companies