Selected Books
Patkau Architects - Material OperationsPublication Date: 2017
Canada: Modern Architectures in HistoryPublication Date: 2016
The West Coast Modern HousePublication Date: 2015
Vancouver VanishesPublication Date: 2015
PlacesPublication Date: 2015
Selwyn Pullan: photographing mid-century West Coast modernismPublication Date: 2014
Architecture and national identity : the Centennial projects 50 years onPublication Date: 2014
Kuwabara Payne Mckenna Blumberg ArchitectsPublication Date: 2013
Pools: aquatic architecturePublication Date: 2013
John C. Parkin, Archives, and PhotographyPublication Date: 2013
Arthur Erickson: an architect's lifePublication Date: 2013
Buildings cities life : an autobiography in architecturePublication Date: 2013
The Allied Arts: architecture and craft in postwar CanadaPublication Date: 2012
Exploring VancouverPublication Date: 2012
Architecture and the Canadian FabricPublication Date: 2011
Bing Thom: WorksPublication Date: 2011
Patkau ArchitectsPublication Date: 2006
Substance over SpectaclePublication Date: 2005
Keywords & Subject Headings
Listed below is a selection of subject headings that can be used for keyword searching in the UBC Library Catalogue. Click on the links to find all UBC Library books on that specific subject.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Surveys & Bibliographies
Surveys
- Building Canada: an architectural history of Canadian life
- Building the West: the early architects of British Columbia
- Canada: modern architectures in history
- Canada builds, 1867-1967
- Constructing careers: profiles of five early women architects in British Columbia
- For the Record: the first women in Canadian architecture
- Historic architecture of Canada
- History of Canadian Architecture
- New spirit: modern architecture in Vancouver, 1938-1963
Bibliographies
- Art and architecture in Canada: a bibliography and guide to the literature to 1981 (online)
- Bibliography of Canadian architecture
- British Columbia architecture: an introductory bibliography
- British Columbia local histories bibliography (online)
- Canada's urban past: a bibliography to 1980 and guide to Canadian urban studies
- Canadian architecture bibliography
- Canadian Architecture: British Columbia, a selected bibliography
- Canadian art and architecture: an annotated bibliography of theses and dissertations
- Heritage restoration in British Columbia: a selected bibliography
- Vancouver Bibliography (online)
Guides & Inventories
- Architecture of the Fraser Valley
- British Columbia designated heritage sites registry
- Deco and moderne in Vancouver
- District of North Vancouver heritage inventory
- Downtown shoreline: city of Vancouver, public art walk
- Exploring Vancouver: the essential architectural guide
- Exploring Victoria's architecture
- Guide to Canadian architectural styles
- Guide to researching historic buildings in Vancouver
- Guidebook to contemporary architecture in Vancouver
- Heritage inventory of downtown buildings, Nanaimo
- Heritage walks around Vancouver
- Island heritage buildings: a selection of heritage buildings in the Islands Trust area
- Listing of potential heritage buildings, prepared for the City of Vancouver
- Modern architecture of North Vancouver, 1930-1965; the heritage inventory of the District of North Vancouver
- New Westminster heritage resource inventory
- Street Names of Vancouver
- This old house: an inventory of residential heritage, City of Victoria
- This old house: Victoria's heritage neighbourhoods
- Vancouver building register
BC Historical Newspapers
The BC Historical Newspapers project features digitized versions of historical papers from around the province. The titles, which range from the Abbotsford Post to the Ymir Miner, date from 1865 to 1994.
Noteworthy publications include:
Archival Material
UBC Library has many archival resources (plans, drawings, correspondence, etc) that may be of interest. To learn more, visit Rare Books & Special Collections Archival Materials guide.
Sample fonds from UBC Archives include:
Additional resources can be found in:
- Guide to pre-1940 architectural records of Vancouver
- A union list of architectural records in Canadian public collections
Additional Canadian archives:
- Canadian Centre for Architecture (CCA)Founded in Montreal in 1979 by Phyllis Lambert the CCA Holds one of the world’s foremost international research collections of publications, conceptual studies, drawings, plans, models, prints, photographs, related artefacts and ephemera, archives and oral histories of individual architects. To search the collection visit: http://www.cca.qc.ca/en/search
- Canadian Architectural Archives (University of Calgary)Established in 1974 as a joint venture between the Library and the Faculty of Environmental Design, the Archives collects the works of twentieth century Canadian architects and consist of drawings, project files, correspondence, slides, photographs, aperture cards, oral history tapes and transcripts, and architectural models.
- Canadian Architecture Collection (McGill University)CAC's mandate is to document the work of past and present architects who have studied and/or taught at the McGill University School of Architecture and Urban planning. Through photographs, drawings, and corollary documentation, the CAC also seeks to represent the evolution of the McGill campus, the city of Montreal, and the architectural heritage of Quebec and Canada.
- City of Vancouver ArchivesThe City of Vancouver Archives acquires a variety of records that document the city's history - including photographs, architectural drawings and plans. Their online database provides some scanned materials.
- City of West Vancouver ArchivesCollects, preserves, and provides meaningful access to the records that tell the story of West Vancouver.
- BC ArchivesLocated in Victoria, the BC Archives is the archives of the Government of British Columbia, and provides research access to records of enduring value to the province for both the provincial government and public researchers.
- Archives CanadaGateway to archival resources found in over 800 repositories across Canada. Use the interactive map to locate provincial archival networks.
Vertical Files
The Music, Art and Architecture Library has a number of files on architects, buildings and even places. The files, begun in the 1950s, include pamphlets, exhibition announcements and reviews, newspaper clippings, planning reports, unpublished manuscripts, biographical information, correspondence, memorabilia, etc. To access a vertical file please ask at the Information Desk. All vertical files are Library Use Only, but there are photocopiers and scanners nearby.
Sample files include:
- Architects, such as:
- Firms, such as:
- Places, such as:
For a list of similar files throughout Canada, check Artists in Canada.
Canadian Websites
- Biographical Dictionary of Architects in Canada (1800-1950)Contains biographies of over 2,200 architects who lived and worked in Canada as well as those architects who resided in the United States, Britain and elsewhere, and for whom it is now possible to link their names with buildings constructed in Canada.
- Canada's Historic PlacesProvides a single source of information about all historic places recognized for their heritage value at the local, provincial, territorial and national levels throughout Canada.
- Canadian ArchitectA periodical for architects and professionals in related fields. The Industry Links section lists architectural sites, associations, schools, historical and environmental sites, journals, and more. UBC Library subscribes to both the print and electronic versions.
- Canadian Architectural Archives (University of Calgary)Established in 1974 as a joint venture between the Library and the Faculty of Environmental Design, the Archives collects the works of twentieth century Canadian architects and consist of drawings, project files, correspondence, slides, photographs, aperture cards, oral history tapes and transcripts, and architectural models.
- Canadian Centre for Architecture (CCA)Founded in Montreal in 1979 by Phyllis Lambert the CCA Holds one of the world’s foremost international research collections of publications, conceptual studies, drawings, plans, models, prints, photographs, related artefacts and ephemera, archives and oral histories of individual architects. To search the collection visit: http://www.cca.qc.ca/en/search
- Canadian Competitions Cataloguethe digital and bilingual library for architecture, urban design, and landscape architecture projects designed in the context of competitions in Canada.
- Canadian Women Artists History InitiativeBased in the Department of Art History at Concordia University in Montreal, CWAHI is a collaborative endeavour that fosters and circulates scholarly research into women’s contributions to the cultural and material history of Canada. Women architects born before 1965 are included.
- Light HouseNon-profit society dedicated to advancing and catalyzing sustainability in British Columbia's built environment.
- Pacific coast ArchitectureA database of images and information about architecture in Washington, Oregon, California and British Columbia.
- Site MagazineBoth a magazine and a blog, Site is an Independent journal of contemporary architecture, landscape, urbanism, and design in Canada.
- Small Housing BCa Vancouver-based registered non-profit society focused on the promotion and development of small housing forms in BC.
- Spacing.caBoth a magazine and a blog, Spacing was launched in the fall of 2003 by a group of young journalists and public space advocates in Toronto, and has grown to cover cities across Canada.
- Urban Buildings DatabaseAn open-content collaborative effort to accurately document development and real-estate activity. The resources have been dedicated to buildings 5 storeys or over in height within the Greater Toronto Area but are slowly branching out (also include Vancouver & Calgary).
- Vancouver Heritage FoundationVancouver Heritage Foundation is a registered charity supporting the conservation of heritage buildings and structures in recognition of their contribution to the city’s economy, sustainability and culture. The website includes a Discover Vancouver's Heritage section with a number of online tools including a guide to Vancouver House Styles.
- Vancouver's Teardown CycleCreated by UBC Faculty member Joseph Dahman and mathematician Jens von Bergmann, this website provides an interactive look at the demolition cycle of single family homes in Vancouver.
- West Beyond the WestA centralized database to search the digitized holdings of libraries, archives, museums and historical societies across British Columbia.